We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Hotel deals
Hotel website
8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Offers & Announcements
Low Rates from $89!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    136
    199
    147
    78
    54
See reviews for
209
74
31
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (614)
  • Mar-May only
    (175)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (210)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (138)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
See the most recent reviews
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

The price for this hotel in downtown Silver Spring was great for the holiday weekend. While the room was small and the hallway noise was high, the overall experience was pretty good. I wish they had self parking because during peak times, the valet service was slow.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thank you for your post and happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I do apologize for the hallway noise, hopefully it did not hinder the enjoyment of your stay. There are a couple nearby public lots that do offer self parking if you wish to utilize in the future. Our desk and / or valet staff would be... More 

Baltimore, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

I can always count on DoubleTree hotels for reasonable prices, decent facilities and a cookie! Silver Spring MD is not really a "destination" per say, we stayed overnight to go to a concert at the Fillmore, so, it was across the street and wonderful for that. We had a great buffet breakfast at a reasonable price in the lobby the... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and glad that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us. The hotel is extremely convenient to the Filmore and do hope to see you return again soon! More 

silver spring, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

They make a huge deal about the cookie they give, but the room was not vacuumed well and the tv did not work as well as 2 of the outlets. The AC was on, and they did come promptly to repair it. the price of the room was very reasonable. The parking attendants were very friendly and efficient.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about the friendliness of our valet staff - will certainly pass it on. I do apologize for the deficiencies you noted as they certainly should have been rectified prior to your arrival. I will also review your notes with our housekeeping team to ensure they understand the importance of double checking everything prior to leaving... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

We stayed here for one night while I went to a concert at the Fillmore nearby. So I'll start with the good. The distance to the Fillmore was great. The breakfast was also really good. Valet parking was nice. Now for the bad. We are Gold Hilton Honors members and they didn't even put us on one of the Hilton... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not enjoyable as we do value your loyalty to the brand. We constantly strive to place all Hhonors members on designated floors, but at times we do run into inventory challenges. The hotel is very safe as we have seccurity on each evening as well as a designated Manager on Duty.... More 

Middletown, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

My family and I came to your hotel for a soccer tournament for our 9 year old son. After looking at your hotel online we were excited and were looking forward to our stay. At arrival we were given our room key and went to our room. My husband went to the bar and I stayed in the room with... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

I certainly apologize for the challenges you experienced at the hotel and fully understand the importance of safety and security while staying away from home. I understand the front desk removed the charges for that evening due to the isues you encountered and do hope that was adequate compensation for the chellenges you encoutnered. I have personally reviewed this situation... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

The hotel said self-parking was available, but it was not in the hotel parking deck. So, we had the pay the valet parking fee even though I parked it myself. I am a Hilton honors member so I'm not sure why the self-check-in showed rooms on the 4th floor. Apparently, Hilton Honors rooms are on floors 8 - 12. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and do apologize for the confusion about the parking. Parking in Silver Spring is complimentary at all public lots on the weekend, but we do still offer valet parking in our hotel lot for a minimal fee. I have also shared your notes about your room with various dept heads so they may follow up... More 

Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

I stayed here over Thanksgiving for a family function so I didn't have a chance to do my normal hotel enjoyment. Between the Thanksgiving quietness on the streets, my own weird hours and demands elsewhere this was get in and get out deal. The two room combination was enjoyable. I loved the couch and the 2nd TV when we first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice review and hope to see you return soon! Safe travels.... More 

Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Friends and I stayed here for the night to enjoy a quick get-away. There was a minor mixup with room size at first, but that was sorted. The biggest downside to the night was a frat party that was booked in the downstairs area. Many members were staying at the hotel that night. The frat members were incredibly rude to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and do apologize for the behavior of some of the guests attending the event in the ballroom. I do hope you visit us again should your travels take you back our way. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

While overall the renovated hotel is fine, our room had problems that shouldn't have been there for a hotel with a 3 1/2 star rating. The tv was unplugged which is a problem because plugging it in was impossible without help. It sits on a long and heavy cabinet that is topped with granite and can't be moved easily. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I do apologize that the TV for some reason was not plugged in upon check in. That certainly should have been caught by the room attendant who serviced the room. I have shared this with our Executive Housekeeper so she may review with her staff. Hope to see you... More 

n/a, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Stayed here for seven days as it was the reserved hotel for a work event I was attending. The pros: friendly front desk personnel; comfortable lobby; convenient to the Metro and the offices and amenities of Silver Spring; decent rate for the area. The cons: 1) the basic rooms are quite small with tiny bathrooms and really poor lighting (the... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thank you for recogniizing the freindliness of the front desk staff, however I do apologize for the defeciencies and challenges you noted during your visit. I know the staff tried diligently to rectify the alarm issue that evening as the system kept triggerring the alarm for no apparant reason. We did contact the vendor who maintians this system and they... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

177 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Spring
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#7 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay