We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

3.5 of 5 8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $99!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    159
    121
    66
    45
See reviews for
176
62
23
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (498)
  • Mar-May only
    (118)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (159)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (138)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
See the most recent reviews
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Walking distance from Silver Spring Metro which is ideal. The Hotel is located directly in the center of Downtown Silver Spring, so there is a ton of restaurants, shopping, movies and a whole foods and CVS within blocks. The only negative is that the bathrooms are tiny. Windows in rooms don't open, which is typical, but unfortunate.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you return soon. More 

MD, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The breakfast was not good at all, the quality of the food, not good, it took 20 min to cook two eggs and they came out wrong, the orange juice was so thick in pulp, the biscuit were hard and cold, the valet parking is a joke

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and do apologize for not meeting or exceeding your expectations in the restaurant for breakfast or our valet parking services. I have shared your review with members of my management team so thay can follow up accordingly. We do appreciate your business and hope the other elements of your stay... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights. Chose this hotel because it was near friends. Being from a city where everyone drives their own car everywhere, being 3-4 long blocks from the Metro doesn't really equal 'close to the Metro' but apparently in DC, it is. Anyhow, the hotel looks and feels older with a few positives and negatives. Positives - rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and will certainly review them with the staff. I am happy to hear you found your room comfortable and the front desk staff accomodating. I do apologize for the dealy with the towels as we have had many large groups staying with us that has put some extra workload in... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Hotel is economical and rooms are spacious. Bed very comfortable but bathroom a little small and could use updating. Confusing parking and check in requires patience...and may be in due to renovations?? Would stay again due to location and nice price point.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice post and glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry if the entrance / parking facility caused any confusion during your arrival. It is however located directly under the hotel with the main entrance on Coleville Road. Hope to see you return. More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We moved to a two-room suite at this hotel after leaving a different hotel in the area. Their weekend rates were amazing, but you do get what you pay for - including worn furnishings, water pressure issues, children running laps in the room above and people across the hall throwing a full-blown party in their room until 4:00 in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for your post and do apologize if the noise that other guests created hindered your experience. I do hope you allow us another chance to service your travel needs should you come back our way. More 

Williamsburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Was super closed to shops and metro/bus station. easy access to interstate and close to everything. Mall, Marshall, panera bread, red lobster and many more. Valet parking very helpful and reception area was nice and modern. I will definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic comments and hope to see you return again soon. More 

Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Was in DC for work and stayed at the DoubleTree. Everyone there is great from the check in at the front desk to the restaurant staff. Only thing I would recommend, is not going to DC in the Summer. There are a lot of school kids there either on vacation or field trips and the hotel even puts themon the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for your post and I appreciate your great comments about the hotel and staff. Please understand that during this busy time of year with so many schools visiting the DC area, we do our best to contain these groups on the same floor and away from our business travelers. At times it is a bit challenging to accomodate all... More 

Wallterboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I got an early check in and went straight to bed. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows were the best. My suite was beautifully decorated and very clean. The breakfast service was good and the food hot and had many choices to choose from. The staff was pleasant and the shuttle service was always they to take and... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and look forward to seeing you return. Safe travels. More 

Baton Rouge, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The rooms are not very sound proof, and there was a youth conference there at the time I stayed - so sleep was hard to come by for the first night. The staff handled the noise complaints well, and they did not recur on night 2.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sorry for the additional noise created by other guests. Happy to hear you had no issue the latter part of your stay. Hope to see you return soon. More 

Glendive, Montana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed last week of April 2014. Interior and exterior construction taking place which was annoying, smelly and inconvenient. Was on 4th floor where there was an ice machine but no vending machine(s). Had to go to 9th floor, as advised by hotel staff, to use vending machines. Pop machine wouldn't take dollar bills. Had to attend meetings while construction work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for the post and I am happy to report that the multi million dollar renovation has been completed. I appreciate your patience and understanding as we completed the enhancements. Hope to see you return again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Address: 8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (34)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay