We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Silver Spring hotels

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $109!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013
Eric R Salisbury, United States
  • Overview
  • Reviews (360)
  • Photos (48)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (51)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    110
    93
    50
    34
See reviews for
129
43
17
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
See the most recent reviews
Salisbury, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We attended a concert at the Silver Spring Fillmore and the hotel is only 1 block away...great location! Super clean rooms and great staff. We will definitely stay at the hotel again when we attend another concert.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Safe travels....... More

Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

WARNING: the garage is very tight fit, you will notice this when you first drive into garage for the valet service the hotel VALET damaged my rental car.....to the tune of $2,400+ ! further , they tried to cover it up by rubbing of the paint ( off white/same color as the parking garage) but left enough so I could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Riverside, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Hotel did not have a room that I reserved, they put me in a smaller room. I have HHonors status that usually allows them to place me in the HHonors floor. Not in this case. The room was claustrophobic with old, used equipment and trimmings. Front desk helpful but helpless, not able to make decisions.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I do apologize that you did not find the accomodations comfortable. Please feel free to reach out to me directly should your travels take you back our way and I will be sure to have you preblocked in a room that may provide more space for you. My email... More

Silver Springs, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I think if you are staying more than one day/night you should receive a free breakfast per person for at less one morning as a Thanks for staying. The workers should be more friendly at the front desk/more helpful or at less have a smile on there face when you come to check in or check out. Also there should... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review and I do apologize for the less than acceptable level of service that you recieved. Please note that the hotel does have a wheelchair lift for those needing assistance to the lobby level from the valet drop off area. I will certainly review this with the valet and front office team.... More

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel was right on the main street and near shopping and a variety of food chains and cultural restaurants. The hotel itself is well maintained and quiet. My kingsize bed was verrrrry comfortable! You do have to pay for parking but otherwise from that, I would stay here again!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words and glad you had an enjoyable stay. Hope to see you return soon. More

Boca Raton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

there were a few problems, but nothing drastic. I had to reset my room key 3 times. I couldn't watch my Free VIP Movie because the movie channel was not working. Food was good and service was great. Location was perfect proximity to my client location.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and I do apologize for the challenge you had with your room key as that is certainly not the norm. I am dissappointed to learn that you were not able to view a movie as we recently went through an upgrade to our sytem, adding the PPV options as well as... More

Houston, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent 2x's at this hotel, due to the closeness of our children. Most of the staff were professional with several exploiting the quest with no services for money rendered, (ie: car-room service, room service and front desk-male), rude and disrespectful. We hope this hotel flourishes, due to the location and needing a new face lift.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Hotel was good, registration process was professional, our best find so far in Silver Spring. Sadly, the valet garage was a disaster: understaffed, so that cars backed up onto the busy street, no attendants around for 10 minutes at a time--registration desk absolutely couldn't have cared less when notified of the problem.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your post and I do apologize for the challenge you encountered with the valet parking service. I will certainly review with the team and do hope you allow us another opportunity to service your travel needs in the future. More

Cincinnati, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The rooms here were nice and comfortable. The staff was very helpful. The workout room was a bit stuffy and many of the machines weren't working. The food at the restaurant was very good and Sergios was delicious!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the restaurant offerings. I will follow up with our engineering staff as to the mechanical failures of the equipment in the fitness center and do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. Hope to see you return. More

Punta Gorda, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Room carpet is dirty elevators didn't work after several days of reporting that the elevators didn't work they still didn't fix them. The couple next door seemed to be in the same room with me as the noise factor was terrible. Would never recommend this to anyone

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

I am disappointed to learn that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us as our goal is to meet or exceed expectations. Based on your comments, we clearly failed. We are in the process of undergoing some extensive physical enhancements to the building to include elevator upgrades which I am sure will eliminate any future failures. I again... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Address: 8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
263

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer