We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Robert Morris Inn

314 North Morris Street, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654
Hotel amenities
Robert Morris Inn
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Dixie09 Silver Spring, Maryland
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    77
    55
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
21
105
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent the day in St. Michaels and took the ferry to Oxford. This was our first time to Oxford. My husband and I were looking for a get away from the DMV area and not too long of a drive We had reservations to the Robert Morris Inn. I had read about the inn’s history prior to making reservations. Please... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the highlights of our trip was arriving at this inn last week. We were a little late for dinner but they told us they served dinner to 9pm. They served us on the edge of their porch facing the water in all directions. The staff couldn't have been nicer. The food was very good. For me the town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having travelled from Scotland to Washington to visit my family we all took a trip away from the city to Oxford in Maryland and stayed at the Robert Morris Inn. We chose the Inn having visited the excellent sister hotel at Lake of Menteith in Scotland. We were certainly not disappointed with the Inn where they catered in a most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I just returned from the most wonderful inn stay ever. The room was terrific. The hospitality was wonderful from the owner Ian Fleming on down. The afternoon tea was fantastic. We would love to have their scones right now. The breakfast was relaxing sitting on the porch on a cool summer morning and the stay was terrific.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and generous comments. The weather was perfect during your stay and our location right on the water is equally perfect to enjoy such weather. Our historic Inn and the charming town of Oxford make for the perfect backdrop for customers to escape the hussle and bustle of modern living. Regards Mark &... More 

Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Robert Harrison is steeped in history but needs some renovation work. The paint is in need of scraping and painting and The property could use a makeover. Although rooms are beautiful and original with lovely floors the walls need attention The staff is friendly and helpful and the restaurant is excellent I would recommend it for a couple who want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived before check-in time but were accommodated by the friendly office staff member who allowed us to enter our room early. Tea was self-served in the afternoon, and the scones were delicious. We walked around the quaint town, visited the harbor, where the multitude of boats are docked and best of all discovered the homemade ice cream shop on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers and everything that you observed and experienced is what we try so hard to delivery and it is a real pleasure to read your comments. Our staff enjoy reading these reviews and join us in thanking you. We look forward to welcoming you back and will happily assist you in discovering... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There was a good service, that we enjoyed. We were one hour late checking out and it was gracefully forgiven. Restaurant is very good. Our breakfast outside was beautiful and tasty. However, rooms are really small. It is kind of upgraded bed and breakfast. I didn't enjoy bed, it wasn't very new. Also a lot of dust in the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our Inn following your visit. So many of our customers travel from the Western Shore, across the Bridge and down Rt 50. Many arrive late and a bit "frazzled" and we do our very best to ensure you quickly relax and settle into the Eastern Shore pace. Our rooms are either 1700 or 1800 so yes... More 

North Potomac, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Robert Morris Inn is a best possible way to spend the night on the Eastern Shore. It has quaint rooms and a wraparound porch with flowers and sweeping virews of the river, where an incredible breakfast and coffee is served each morning. The inn is also across from the ferry to St. Michaels. The food, by a world-class chef,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our historic Inn and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience. We are so fortunate being located in this charming colonial town on the water an d really love our vintage Inn. Thank you for sharing with fellow travelers and we look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Mark & Ian More 

Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Disappointed from the moment we arrived. The room we booked was not available because the AC was broken. We were given a room on the third floor, which was very difficult for me because of my disability. They must have been fully booked because no other choice was given when asked. Originally our room had a water view and patio... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear cindyslost Thank you for staying at our historic Inn and we are delighted you enjoyed your dining experiences. As we explained at the time the Ac unit had failed in the room you booked and this other room was the only Kink bedded room available. Given the AC failed on the afternoon of your arrival there was no way... More 

Hampstead, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

1st time staying here and we will def be back. The inn is very old....350 years to be exact so keep that in mind when you come....it has been well preserved in my opinion. Afternoon tea is delightful with a multiple assortment of teas with scones. The town is small, quaint, and quiet. There is a small market within walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and generous comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your experience and appreciated all that this iconic historic Inn and town has to offer. We look forward to your return and hope you will enjoy our colonial Inn rooms. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
9.3 mi away
Harbourtowne Golf Resort and Conference Center
5.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging
6.9 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
7.8 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#5 of 8 in Easton
3.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay