We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Oxford B&Bs / inns

Robert Morris Inn

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   314 North Morris Street, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654
Hotel amenities
Robert Morris Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Robert Morris Inn to your Saves list
84%
Ranked #4 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
OldDukeDoc Jacksonville, Florida
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    44
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
82
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Inn dates to the 18th Century, and it's easy to imagine how happy you would be to arrive while traveling. Staff was very helpful. The rooms are surprisingly large, though the baths are small. The beds were period frames with mattresses a little firm for our taste. A/C is window units. Restaurant was top notch, both steaks and crab... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear OldDukeDoc Many thanks for your kind words and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our Inn. Oxford is such a peaceful and unspoilt town, rare these days and it is the perfect back drop to our 300 yr old iconic Inn. We are constantly restoring and enhancing and hope you discover something different with each... More

Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were excited to visit this historic town on the Eastern Shore..The Robert Morris Inn is in need of some renovations and updating. Our stay was pleasant but we were aware of some of the shortcomings of this Inn. Tea Time was adequate,even though it was over 30 minutes overdue. Be forewarned, if you are staying on the 3rd floor,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear Gaia0948 Thank for visting our historic Inn and pleased that it and our charming and peacefull town won you over. At over 300 years old and the oldest in the country this building is very unique, I'm sure you can appreaciate tearing out its sole to add an elevator, whilst making it more accesable, would ruin it. We do... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For $150 a night, no TV, no WIFI in the room and dark, dirty and the gardens need weeding and the exterior paint job was awful. Quite a shame when you consider the history and location which is prime waterfront in Oxford MD. A/C is tired window units which also takes away from the views and charm. This Inn needs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting our historic Inn. We are disapointed you did not enjoy your stay and more so, you said nothing during it nor at check out. We always appreciate the opportunity to satisfy our guests. You were aware did not have TV's or telephones in our rooms and that WIFI is only available on the first floor, before... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great historic place, with lots to do if planed correctly. Owners were very friendly. However the waiters at the restaurant do not seem to live up to the owners expectations.. overall we had a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rosselyn M Many thanks for choosing our historic Inn and for your kind and supportive comments. We are merely guardians of this 300+ year old historic gem, which has played such an important part throughout American history. We continue to refurbish and maintain it with sensitivity and care. We do love our vintage Inn! Regards Mark & Ian More

Leawood, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Poorly maintained is the perfect description for the Robert Morris Inn. It is dark and stale smelling, dirty with visible dust on the floors in the public areas, with peeling wallpaper and drawer liners in the rooms. The furniture looks like leftovers from someone's attic. Tea and pastries set out in the afternoon attracted flies from other locations in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear susan c Thank you for returning to our historic Inn and disappointed you did not enjoy your experience. Ours is a 300 year old icon and its refurbishment is an ongoing and sensitive task. We do not wish to loose the vintage and historic character and appreciate that that is not for everyone. Closing something like this and expending... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Inn is quaint and quiet and nicely located directly in front of the ferry. They do a nice job of stocking water and coffee in the hall outside of the rooms. The rooms are clean. The downside was that the mattress appears to as old as the inn. We didn't sleep the first night and slept only a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ellie W Thank you for visiting our Inn and we are pleased you enjoyed your experience, overall. An additional charge for a fold down bed is not unusual in hotels and Inn and please do not forget that at The Robert Morris Inn this also includes a fully cooked breakfast and afternoon tea with fresh baked scones and cookies,... More

Washington, District of Columbia, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

One word: perfect. The staff, surrounding grounds, food...not to mention the scones and tea were out of this world. We plan on going back. Nothing like it. I wish we had more time to stay but one night felt like a true getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jessica R Kind words and generous comments, thank you for those and for visiting our historic Inn. We look forward to your return. Regards Mark More

Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My wife took me to the charming little town of Oxford for a relaxing birthday present. I made the arrangements and the choice of the Robert Morris Inn proved to be the right one.This historic inn oozes the charm one expects from the B&B experience. The pleasant staff and great food were the ideal pairing with wandering the quiet neighborhoods,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear ITOMBA Thank you for visiting our Inn and delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Oxford is a charming and unique town which given its unique geography, will never change. It does make it a special place to base yourself whilst exploring the Eastern Shore. Soft Shell Crabs are the Eastern Shore delicacy. Most establishment simply flours... More

Hammonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
8 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was; however, taken aback by the rather abrupt greeting and initial service we received upon checking in. Fortunately, Jamie, the bartender on duty, was extremely warm, friendly, and engaged in great conversation and the additional wait staff were equally pleasant as we dined at the bar. We knew ahead of time to expect a small room, so we weren't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear Caroline C Thank you for visiting our Historic Inn. Friendliness is one of the qualities our staff are complimented upon. As we could identify the person who checked you in we have been able to carry out some corrective coaching, customer care restored. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Delighted the rest of our great team won... More

Freeland, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the inn. It was absolutely charming and the innkeepers and staff were wonderful. In fact, all of the personnel was exceptional, including the wait staff and bartender. The food there is excellent. A wonderful breakfast was included with the price of our room. My husband had the eggs benedict and raved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear NancyHeavrin Thank you for your kind comments and delighted you enjoyed your visit to our historic Inn and the charming town of Oxford. In an old historic building dust is our enemy and our housekeepers are usually on top of it. We hope a return visit will show that corrected. Again our thanks and best wishes. Mark & Iasn More

Do you own or manage Robert Morris Inn?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Morris Inn

Address: 314 North Morris Street, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Robert Morris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Robert Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Morris Hotel Oxford

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Robert Morris Inn