We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rideau Motor Inn

Boardwalk and N. 1st Street, P.O. Box 220, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rideau Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rideau Motor Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    11
    14
    11
    11
See reviews for
24
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great experience, perfect location, room ocean view,large balcony, nice size room,clean,will be back next year,close to pier, on boardwalk,was quiet, waterpressure was great,new installed elevator made much easier,

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

This hotel has the best location of any in OCMD. The price is reasonable for the location. However the rooms leave a lot to be desired! Every year/every different room there seems to be a problem somehow. All of the money they make they certainly do not use it to clean & update the rooms at all! It is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there fourth if July. Room was very old. Needs an update. Great location. Watched firewirks from our balcony. I heard there were better rooms there. We just got an older one. Guido burritos was below our room n music pounded late every night. Drunks lingered out front also. Loved the location because it was easy access to boardwalk but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brandon T, Public Relations Manager at Rideau Motor Inn, responded to this review

Lisa, We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed our location. When it comes to staying in Ocean City, you can't get much better than being right on the Boardwalk and within walking distance of practically all of the great attractions OC has to offer. We can only apologize for the disruption in your vacation caused by Guido's customers. We... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We checked into the Rideau after originally checking into Econo Lodge Oceanfront which we had a reservation for but checked out an hour after being there (see review I wrote). The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was oceanfront on boardwalk directly in the middle of all the action. We enjoyed sitting on balcony "people watching"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Massillon, OH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have had 4 stays at the Rideau over the past 7 years. Although it is an older motel with many stairs to climb we have enjoyed the large balconies, clear pool, parking and the great location. Overall the rooms have been clean and the bed comfortable. The dated, sandy bathrooms with poor shower pressure have always been an issue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandon T, Public Relations Manager at Rideau Motor Inn, responded to this review

bsg5698, We are very glad to hear that you enjoy our large balconies, clear pool, convenient parking and our great location right on the Ocean City boardwalk. Also, I'd like to thank you for continuing to choose the Rideau. Repeat guests like yourself are the backbone of our business. I am very sorry to hear that you had a couple... More 

Harwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

When we got there, was told our reservation was the week before...shocked!!! I called and changed it to a later week and the person who took the reservation never changed it!!! We had to take whatever we could get for their mistake!!! VERY rude staff ( not housekeeping...they actually felt sorry for us!) An office person named Ricky (female) was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Brandon T, Public Relations Manager at Rideau Motor Inn, responded to this review

pam018, You can see a comprehensive list of our available amenities on our website. Unfortunately, this is our busiest time of the year and as such, ensuring that every single one of our guests is completely happy 100% of the time is an impossibility. With that in mind, please remember that we were filled to capacity during your stay and... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

For the price the room is decent size, two old beds, dated room. Telephone doesn't work even to call office. We stayed with our whole family, I went to the office to request a crib. The woman took a very nasty tone with me so I'm not sure why people claim to get good service here. Lots of stairs, small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandon T, Public Relations Manager at Rideau Motor Inn, responded to this review

Brooke, We're glad that you briefly touched on the value that we offer. The Rideau has some of the lowest rates of any beachfront property in all of Ocean City and we're located right on the boardwalk! Next time, please let us know as soon as possible if anything in your room isn't working. I'm having one of our maintenance... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel was reopened in1972 and I would say they haven't did anything to it since. So dated,beds uncomfortable,no internet,had to pay for ice,no outlets.Hallways smell like urine.Not staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brandon T, Public Relations Manager at Rideau Motor Inn, responded to this review

Tammy, We can assure you we've done a whole lot since 1972! For example, we installed a sparkling swimming pool guests just love to rave about. I'm sorry you were disappointed by your stay. You can find a full list of the amenities we do offer here: http://ocrideau.com/ocean-city-md-hotel-rooms-amenities/ Your comments regarding additional amenities will be considered going forward. As for... More 

Elysburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I travel often with my work so when it comes to hotels/motels I would say I have some experience with how they compare. This being said... Online the photos look great! When I arrived the room was dated; the mattresses were terrible -all I could feel were the springs; the phone did not work - even to call the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandon T, Public Relations Manager at Rideau Motor Inn, responded to this review

Jax17851, I want to personally thank you for staying at the Rideau and also let you know that we do appreciate your comment about our staff being "wonderful." It's certainly the busiest time of the year for us and unfortunately it's extremely difficult to ensure that every single one of our guests is completely happy with their stay. However, I... More 

Beaverdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Rideau was very easy to locate in OC-MD. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and hallways. Nice pool. Easy access to the boardwalk. We were there when it was very hot and humid, the AC was excellent and our bed was comfortable. Large,easily accessible parking lot. We enjoyed our stay at Rideau. Would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brandon T, Public Relations Manager at Rideau Motor Inn, responded to this review

Christine, Guests like yourself are the reason why we're so proud to be in the hospitality industry. Thank you for your comments and I'm very glad that you enjoyed your vacation at the Rideau! Would have you again ;-) The Rideau More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#80 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shoreham Hotel
Shoreham Hotel
#77 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
6.7 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#66 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#68 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#79 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harrison Hall
Harrison Hall
#49 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay