We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 107 Ocean City hotels

Rideau Motor Inn

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boardwalk and N. 1st Street, P.O. Box 220, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel amenities
Rideau Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rideau Motor Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #86 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014
hopey3871 Wilmington, Delaware
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    13
    11
    11
See reviews for
23
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Baltimore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed there fourth if July. Room was very old. Needs an update. Great location. Watched firewirks from our balcony. I heard there were better rooms there. We just got an older one. Guido burritos was below our room n music pounded late every night. Drunks lingered out front also. Loved the location because it was easy access to boardwalk but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandon T, Public Relations Manager at Rideau Motor Inn, responded to this review

Lisa, We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed our location. When it comes to staying in Ocean City, you can't get much better than being right on the Boardwalk and within walking distance of practically all of the great attractions OC has to offer. We can only apologize for the disruption in your vacation caused by Guido's customers. We... More

Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We checked into the Rideau after originally checking into Econo Lodge Oceanfront which we had a reservation for but checked out an hour after being there (see review I wrote). The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was oceanfront on boardwalk directly in the middle of all the action. We enjoyed sitting on balcony "people watching"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Massillon, OH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have had 4 stays at the Rideau over the past 7 years. Although it is an older motel with many stairs to climb we have enjoyed the large balconies, clear pool, parking and the great location. Overall the rooms have been clean and the bed comfortable. The dated, sandy bathrooms with poor shower pressure have always been an issue... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandon T, Public Relations Manager at Rideau Motor Inn, responded to this review

bsg5698, We are very glad to hear that you enjoy our large balconies, clear pool, convenient parking and our great location right on the Ocean City boardwalk. Also, I'd like to thank you for continuing to choose the Rideau. Repeat guests like yourself are the backbone of our business. I am very sorry to hear that you had a couple... More

Harwood, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

When we got there, was told our reservation was the week before...shocked!!! I called and changed it to a later week and the person who took the reservation never changed it!!! We had to take whatever we could get for their mistake!!! VERY rude staff ( not housekeeping...they actually felt sorry for us!) An office person named Ricky (female) was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brandon T, Public Relations Manager at Rideau Motor Inn, responded to this review

pam018, You can see a comprehensive list of our available amenities on our website. Unfortunately, this is our busiest time of the year and as such, ensuring that every single one of our guests is completely happy 100% of the time is an impossibility. With that in mind, please remember that we were filled to capacity during your stay and... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

For the price the room is decent size, two old beds, dated room. Telephone doesn't work even to call office. We stayed with our whole family, I went to the office to request a crib. The woman took a very nasty tone with me so I'm not sure why people claim to get good service here. Lots of stairs, small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandon T, Public Relations Manager at Rideau Motor Inn, responded to this review

Brooke, We're glad that you briefly touched on the value that we offer. The Rideau has some of the lowest rates of any beachfront property in all of Ocean City and we're located right on the boardwalk! Next time, please let us know as soon as possible if anything in your room isn't working. I'm having one of our maintenance... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel was reopened in1972 and I would say they haven't did anything to it since. So dated,beds uncomfortable,no internet,had to pay for ice,no outlets.Hallways smell like urine.Not staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brandon T, Public Relations Manager at Rideau Motor Inn, responded to this review

Tammy, We can assure you we've done a whole lot since 1972! For example, we installed a sparkling swimming pool guests just love to rave about. I'm sorry you were disappointed by your stay. You can find a full list of the amenities we do offer here: http://ocrideau.com/ocean-city-md-hotel-rooms-amenities/ Your comments regarding additional amenities will be considered going forward. As for... More

Elysburg
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I travel often with my work so when it comes to hotels/motels I would say I have some experience with how they compare. This being said... Online the photos look great! When I arrived the room was dated; the mattresses were terrible -all I could feel were the springs; the phone did not work - even to call the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandon T, Public Relations Manager at Rideau Motor Inn, responded to this review

Jax17851, I want to personally thank you for staying at the Rideau and also let you know that we do appreciate your comment about our staff being "wonderful." It's certainly the busiest time of the year for us and unfortunately it's extremely difficult to ensure that every single one of our guests is completely happy with their stay. However, I... More

Beaverdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Rideau was very easy to locate in OC-MD. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and hallways. Nice pool. Easy access to the boardwalk. We were there when it was very hot and humid, the AC was excellent and our bed was comfortable. Large,easily accessible parking lot. We enjoyed our stay at Rideau. Would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandon T, Public Relations Manager at Rideau Motor Inn, responded to this review

Christine, Guests like yourself are the reason why we're so proud to be in the hospitality industry. Thank you for your comments and I'm very glad that you enjoyed your vacation at the Rideau! Would have you again ;-) The Rideau More

Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

ive been going to oc ever since ive been a little girl. weve stayed at this place ever since I can remember. they are the nicest people to deal with ,they care about there guest . they've always have great prices. I love the location . I always look at the other places and think maybe nexted year. but that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandon T, Public Relations Manager at Rideau Motor Inn, responded to this review

Vera, We're glad to hear that you share the same love for Ocean City as we do. Your compliments and patronage are appreciated more than you know. We're very excited to see you in July. Safe travels! The Rideau More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for two nights which is nice because most oc motels have a three night min. The room was large and clean! I wish we would have got a boardwalk room but we didnt. With that being said we could hear a lot of the cars going by. Also they could use some new bigger tv's.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rideau Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rideau Motor Inn

Address: Boardwalk and N. 1st Street, P.O. Box 220, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rideau Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rideau Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rideau Motor Hotel Ocean City
Rideau Hotel Ocean City

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay