We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Monte Carlo

216 North Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
Share an Experience

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    80
    50
    36
    66
See reviews for
114
89
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (335)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (191)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Ocean City, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We love going to Hotel Monte Carlo. The location is perfect. The pool is an elevator ride away, the ocean is just a hop jump and a skip and the board walk is just steps away. The kids love that we can walk to everything (no seatbelts). We look forward to going every year because the staff there treat us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel charges 8.00 a night for a hospitality fee. When I considered making reservations, I called and asked what that included. I was told "hospitality" in a sarcastic tone. I will never stay somewhere and if I'm treated that rudely while trying to make reservations. This fee can be seen on 3rd party and direct reservations websites for reference. Believe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelmontecarlo, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

At our hotel like many hotels in this city and across the travel and tourism industry charge a resort fee. This fee is clearly stated during reservation process and is in writing on all web sites. Nothing "shady" about your taxes and fees being clearly stated. As the reviewer states it says it in writing. This is very common in... More 

pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we were hit with a $200 deposit at check in with no warning. Hotel wasn't clean and we had to pay for a radio that they said we broke even though it wasnt even in our room. would not go back and could find better hotels in Ocean city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelmontecarlo, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

Hotel Charges a Cash Security Deposit at Check In for Guests that are under 23. This is to make sure no damages done to unit. As you can imagine , with out a security deposit it would be open day for guest that are young and want to party. In this case the guest is being dishonest. The hotel has... More 

New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

I give this such a poor rating because the rates are not at all accurate. We booked through Expedia for what seemed to be a great rate, only to get hit with $30 A NIGHT in "taxes and fees." I booked anyway thinking MD just had expensive taxes, but should have investigated. When the confirmation email came, it listed among... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelmontecarlo, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

I apologize that Expedia may not have clearly stated our hotel policy, however we are proud to offer 1 free parking spot to all of our guest. If you wish to purchase preferred parking or additional parking there is a fee. Outside of that each and every guest receives one free parking spot per room reserved. Most hotels charge for... More 

Piscataway, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Ok this is definetley late but here we go. Have to say this hotel has some bad reviews but i dont trust highschoolers who want to break the rules. With that being said i was here prior2 MMD weekend of 2013, (Again didnt review then, just forgot). The room we got was at a great rate because it was before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

The hotel was robbed during our stay, and we were later informed this is due to there is no phyiscal security, despite having a card reader on the front door, and they rely on the front desk to act as security - however at this time the person on the front desk was on a security walk, as we later... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
hotelmontecarlo, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

The facts in this review are just plain untrue. This hotel has never been robbed and we are unable to comment on a situation that did not happen. We are uncertain as to the motives of such a false and slanderous review. We have taken appropriate steps to have review moderated and removed. More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

The hotel tried to charge $10 per hour for early check in. They also do not have ice. You have to buy it by the bag at the front desk. Additionally, they advertise small breakfast items in the lobby. It is only from 8-9. If you want coffee or are up and want something earlier you have to go elsewhere.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

After Labor Day weekend prices dropped, booked online to save more. Perfect location and right on the boardwalk. Plenty of parking across the street with covered area out front to unpack/pack during Inclement weather. Will stay here again, friendly staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

The hotel was ok, I asked for a View and saw a parking lot, the fridge and microwave didn't work the whole time all my food & drinks were done for. The Jacuzzi wasn't as strong as I would have liked either.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Monte Carlo on 11th street in August. The clerk at the 3rd Street location, where you check in and out at, couldn't care less that we were there. He was busy watching tv and ignoring me. The only time they were helpful was with the free wifi password, but the wifi might... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question