We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites

Hotel website
409 Atlantic Avenue, 5th Street on the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Special Price
10% off room rate
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

I was going to put in a comment card for our stay but the link the hotel sent me was broken and takes me to a website that is not available. I emailed them in September but have yet to hear back. I wasn't very happy with our stay. We had a lot of issues. 1. I had requested a... More 

Helpful?
Thank CassandraHoye
carouselresort, Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to hear that your visit in 2015 was not satisfactory due to the lack of service. Any traveling with a toddler can be stressful and we couldn't be more upset that we weren't able to accommodate you. With that said, we are proud to announce that effective January 1st, 2016, the Tidelands Carribean Hotel and Suites... More 

Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

The only good thing they have going for them is the location. We arrived around 11am. I thought i would try to check in early since it was off season. I was told the room is not ready come back at 2. I can handle that. Came back at 2. Same thing room not ready come back at 3. Really!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mary313
carouselresort, Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

We would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel for your less than stellar stay, however, we do want you to know that effective January 1st, 2016, the Tidelands Carribean Hotel and Suites became the newest member of the Carousel Group. Like you mentioned, the Tidelands Carribean Hotel and Suites is located in a great location on the south... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Voorhees, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

My family and I have visited the Tidelands about 10 times in the last 7 years for a total of about 18 days. We have also had others stay there at our recommendation. We basically go there for the location. Just got back from there Saturday. Four of us checked-in on 10/7 and checked out on 10/10. We’ve always been... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Don D
carouselresort, Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to hear that your visit in 2015 was not satisfactory, however, we do want you to know that effective January 1st,2016, the Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites became the newest member of the Carousel Group. We apologize that your WiFi was not working during your stay and we want to visit this issue in the off-season.... More 

Union Bridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

I had booked this hotel through Hotel.com(which I will NEVER use again as well). I just found out my daughter will be receiving an award this weekend causing us to change our plans. They are still charging me $125 penalty fee for this cancellation even though I am canceling well in advance. I understand policy I live in the corporate... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney R
carouselresort, Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

The Carousel Group wants you to know that as of January 1st, 2016, the Tidelands Carribean Hotel and Suites became our newest member. We are a company that wants our guests to know that we care and that we really do appreciate their business. We apologize that you do not agree with the former guidelines, but we will be offering... More 

Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

We've stayed at this hotel for 4 years for the Winefest weekend. We liked the location so thought dealing with the rude staff was secondary. This year we had all we could take. The rooms are sub par but when you're at the beach you aren't in your room much so we didn't care. The customer service is awful. They... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank dbuchlong
carouselresort, Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

On behalf of the hotel, we want to apologize that our customer service was less than par. With that said we do want to announce that the Tidelands will be the newest addition to the Carousel Group. The Carousel Group's mission is to provide excellent customer service and to make sure our guests know that we care. We take pride... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015 via mobile

We called to see what our options were because of the pending weather for this weekend. Shouldn't have bothered as they hung up on us very quickly- probably the worst customer service I've ever experienced! When we finally got through to someone who didn't hang up, we were told there would be no refunds even if the city declares a... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Meghan V
carouselresort, Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to hear that your experience was less than stellar with the hotel, however, we do want you to know that effective January 1st, 2016, the Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites became the newest member of the Carousel Group. Our Carousel Group team is very excited about this beautiful hotel with it's extra large suites, two pools,... More 

West chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

Booked on behalf of my mom for winefest because my hotel was booked....big mistake. WineFest was cancelled today because of the pending HURRICANE. She called and they refused to give a full refund, keeping her $160 deposit. Ridiculous. Now that I see recent reviews I'm glad they didn't stay there. This hotel has zero concern or consideration for the safety... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Schew623
carouselresort, Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry that your experience with the hotel was less than par, but we would like to announce that the Tidelands is now a part of the Carousel Group as of January 1st, 2016. We are excited to accomodate our new guests and we feel that we are the perfect fit for this great hotel. While we understand your... More 

Bridgeport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

We arrived before the actual check in time and were checked in quickly and in our room. Several times we asked for something (extra wash cloths, more coffee supplies, bedding for the sofa bed, toilet paper, ) and each time the item was delivered within minutes. The service was very prompt! It was so nice to be just steps away... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn R
carouselresort, Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites. The hotel will be joining the Carousel Group team and we can assure you to expect nothing less than the great service you received while staying at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

We were given suite 524 that was satisfactory except: 1. Toilet fixture was unstable and loose. 2. Balcony has bird droppings and needs cleaning. 3. Handle of door to balcony is cracked and in verge of breaking.

Helpful?
Thank farhadm731
carouselresort, Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

The off-season is a great time of year to come to Ocean City because the weather is absolutely beautiful and the town itself is less crowded. The hotel is now managed by the Carousel Group as of January 1st, 2016. We are now in the process of doing many repairs to the building and we can assure you that these... More 

York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

This hotel is very run down. Both the rooms and pool badly need to be remodeled. My daughter had allergies and the room air vents were filthy. Hate to say but the Econolodge was cheaper and cleaner. Only positive this hotel has is location. Restaurant at pool had slow to no service. It is run by an outside company. Staff... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Betty F
carouselresort, Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to hear that your visit in 2015 was not satisfactory, however, we do want you to know that effective January 1st 2016, The Tidelands Caribbean Hotel & Suites became the Newest Member of The Carousel Group. Our Carousel Group Team is very excited about this beautiful Hotel with extra large suites, two pools and its great... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#13 of 109 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#43 of 109 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#36 of 109 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel
Dunes Manor Hotel
#2 of 109 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay