We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Empress Motel

20th Street and Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Empress Motel
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
35
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Salisbury, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We are "locals" to some extent. Just live about 30 minutes away. Drove to Ocean City last week to check things out and walk the boardwalk. It was a weekday and we noticed work being done at the Empress! We stopped and chatted with the workers and found out first hand about the improvements and renovations being done! We are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
j w, General Manager at Empress Motel, responded to this review

Hi KC- Thank you so much for the compliment. Yes, we have spent a lot of time, effort and manpower this winter on the Empress. We are very happy that you not only noticed the changes and improvements, but also were impressed by these updates. I know that the winter crew are very proud of the work they've done and... More 

Easton, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

It use to be a great family experience but has since become commercial. No longer does it have the appeal of a family atmosphere but more of a college party. Very disappointed With the front end staff as I felt unimportant and less appreciated. This hotel has lost its appeal such a shame!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
j w, Manager at Empress Motel, responded to this review

Hi Ed C – Sorry to hear that you were not as pleased with your visit as you have been in the past. It does sound like you still had an enjoyable time overall at the Empress, as your complaints are very personal interaction specific. I am however unsure what you are referencing when you say it’s become ‘commercial’, as... More 

Fairfax County, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Stayed a number of times in the past over ten year period. Recently stayed a day and found it is not longer the same place. Room rates use to be a little lower than others, no more. Noticed things needing repair. Just doesn't seem the same anymore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
j w, General Manager at Empress Motel, responded to this review

Hi – Sorry to hear that your one night stay was not the same that it used to be. Yes, there have been some changes, but all have been improvements to the property. I hope you noticed that the pool is cleaned every morning and kept up throughout the day, we have updated all locks to the use of electronic... More 

York, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We have been quest at the Empress for over 15 years and this year after finding out the Empress was sold we were a little worried. Well, our fears were justified. The place is not kept up like it was before, parking lot dirty, pool not cleaned properly, no one cleaned up around the whole place. The rooms are missing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
j w, General Manager at Empress Motel, responded to this review

You wrote this review literally the day you arrived at the Empress for a 5 day stay. Not sure how you can make the above statements merely hours after arriving. Since you wrote your above review, we assume you have noticed that the parking lots are cleaned daily, just as they were previously. In addition, the pool is cleaned EVERY... More 

Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had a great time at the empress motel the room was very clean the pool was also very clean had no problems everyone was friendly enjoyed are stay would definitely stay again . Everything we needed was within walking distance very close to the beach .

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Empress. Usually my husband and I stay at the Sahara but by the time I was able to book a hotel the Sahara had no vacancy. I was told the Sahara bought the Empress, so I thought it would be just as nice. If you have young kids this isn't really the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I don't get too picky at the beach, we don't really spend much time in our room. We didn't have reservations, but they were happy to accommodate us. The room was a little dated, but clean. We prefer a smaller property with personality and The Empress is a cute little gem of Ocean City past. Friendly staff, we loved Wilsie... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
j w, General Manager at Empress Motel, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your kind words above and were so happy we were able to accommodate you on your recent visit to Ocean City. We are hoping to make some great improvements to the rooms this winter, so we look forward to having you again next summer! More 

Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We have always stayed at The Sahara Motel when visiting Ocean City. This past visit we tried The Empress Motel as we had heard it was now a sister property to The Sahara! What a great little motel. We decided to have quick getaway for the weekend and we were curious about The Empress and just had to check it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
j w, General Manager at Empress Motel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you gave the Empress a try for your weekend getaway and are ecstatic that you had such a great experience. We greatly appreciate your excellent review above. Look forward to seeing you again! More 

Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Very brief review: It's not the Hilton or the Marriott, but it was the cheapest place anywhere from 2nd-70th street, and it was actually very nice. Loved it and it saved our vacation. Friendly staff, clean place, no significant complaints. Detailed review: After our initial accommodations fell through, two of our group were going to be left on the streets.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
j w, General Manager at Empress Motel, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Empress Motel. Happy to know we were able to accommodate you and that we could make what could have been a big let-down into such an enjoyable vacation! We hope to see you all again! More 

Reedsville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The ladies in my family get together every year for week at the beach. This is the second time we stayed here . Our 2nd floor efficiencies was clean it was same one we had the year ..Empress is older motel and dated ! Cleaning ladies are super and do a GREAT JOB ! ( Big thank you, Pat for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
j w, General Manager at Empress Motel, responded to this review

Hi - So happy you enjoyed your stay yet again at the Empress. We look forward to seeing you ladies again next year! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities