We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 106 Ocean City hotels

Beach Plaza Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Atlantic Avenue, 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Beach Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Beach Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 3 more sites!
51%
Ranked #60 of 106 hotels in Ocean City
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013
cinleecinlee waldorf
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    44
    25
    25
    33
See reviews for
58
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Beach Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Mold infested, sheets dirty, carpets smelled of urine and mold! Kitchen filthy and outdated! Outside water hose valve ran constantly and told maintenance they did nothing. Group of over 20 partied upstairs all night!!!! Had no sleep the entire time. Hotel staff did nothing. Group threw garbage off into yard and our area. Partied so hard knocked heavy mirror off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that you selected to be in Ocean City during Bike Fest which is always a very noisy time. Based on your description of your experience, it appears you were in our newly renovated efficiency units and it is almost impossible for those units to be in the condition you stated. Also there is no record at the... More

waldorf
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Although the building is old the atmosphere is top class. We stayed in one of the efficiency units and were impressed with the layout and cleanliness. The location provided easy access to the beach. The staff was always pleasant and appreciative of your business.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review of your recent stay at the Beach Plaza. We are so delighted your enjoyed your visit and that our staff provided outstanding service. Our recently renovated efficiency units are fantastic and our beachfront location can't be beat. More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have travelled though out the U.S.A. many times over the last 23 years & have stayed in many hotels through out the world, but I have to say this was an experience I never wish to repeat. We stayed in this hotel for 1 night in August. The initial impression was ok, with rocking chairs on the veranda giving... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

D F- From the description of your room it sounds as if you were in a standard/no-view room. We offer two other room types both of which offer a view of the Atlantic Ocean. I am not sure what our occupancy was during your visit, but it is quite conceivable the standard room may have been all that was available. More

Brewerton, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Location is perfect, steps to the beach,front porch with rocking chairs. We stayed next to the hotel in an efficiency. Had 2 similar issues as other posters. There was a large group that basically took over the efficiency balcony, front lawn and small court yard. They constantly blocked the stairways, took all the chairs to one side of the lawn,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced during your recent stay at the Beach Plaza. We will investigate what group you encountered that occupied all the chairs. I was in the BoCon courtyard when you reported your chair missing and to claim it was an employee is wrong. Rather difficult to hide something that large. More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I visited the hotel because I had seen it on an earlier visit to O.C. It looked like it was in a great location and the big porch with rocking chairs right in the boardwalk was great for coffee and people watching in the morning before walking right out and spending the day on the big wide beach. Great restaurants... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Beach Plaza Fan- So glad to hear your recent stay was enjoyable. Debbie is a treasure at the front desk and a real asset. We look forward to return next season. More

Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Beach Plaza in Ocean City is just what you want in a beach hotel. It's right on the boardwalk and the beach. There are rocking chairs on the front porch, a friendly and helpful staff and decent, well-appointed clean accomodations. Big parking lot with attendant, a great vegetarian cafe on the premises and a good restaurant in the hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Beach Plaza. So glad you enjoyed our renovated efficiency apartments. Looking forward to your return next year. More

Watervliet, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

As with most of the other reviews, the main reason I chose the Beach Plaza was price and location. I must say I was pleasantly surprised and very pleased with my stay. I've read reviews where people claim the staff are unfriendly/rude/uncaring, etc. All I can say is those staff must have been on vacation or something when I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Mike C- What a great review you gave us at the Beach Plaza. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that our entire staff provided you with outstanding service. We hope your recent stay will bring you back next year. More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I have stayed at the Beach Plaza the last four years. Pros: price and location. As someone in my mid 20's, I can't afford to pay $300+a night. The location is a 20minute walk to the inlet area. The room was clean upon arrival, plenty of towels, and the beds were comfortable. We like the front porch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin E, Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

So glad to read that your sister and you enjoyed your recent stay at the Beach Plaza. We are even more excited to know you are returning guests. Our beach front location is hard to beat and our staff will its best to make everyone's stay enjoyable. More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely the most filthy and unsanitary hotel I've ever stayed at. The moth ball stench is so brutal I have to hold my breath until I get in my room. Sand is everywhere, bathroom floors are black with dirt and hair all over it. Walls are so thin you can here the music the lobby is playing so don't even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin E, Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not a pleasant experience. I wish you had contacted management during your stay so we could have addressed your concerns. The Beach Plaza prides itself on the friendliness of its staff and our attention to correct any problems. More

new york
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Prior to booking this hotel I had read the very mixed reviews, now I will offer mine. I am a stickler for beautiful, clean and friendly hotels. The Beach Plaza has some very wonderful assets. I will list the pros and cons. Pros- Location! Middle of the busy boardwalk it is located on a quiet stretch not far from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin E, Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your in depth review of the Beach Plaza. Our staff takes seriously your comfort and we try to remedy promptly any shortcomings. While we don't consider ourselves a 5 Star property, we try and treat our guests as if we are one. More

Been to Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Plaza Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Phillips Beach Plaza
Phillips Beach Plaza Ocean City
Phillips Beach Plaza Hotel
Address: 1301 Atlantic Avenue, 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza oceanfront hotel is located at 13th Street on the famous Ocean City, MD Boardwalk. The hotel’s beachfront location is ideal for family beach vacations, weekend getaways or your next golf vacation. Beach Plaza guests are just a short stroll down the boardwalk to numerous restaurants, nightclubs, amusement rides and shopping.The Beach Plaza Hotel offers a variety of accommodations to meet your needs, from oceanfront guest rooms, efficiencies and 1-bedroom apartments to spacious 3-bedroom apartments that can accommodate up to eight guests. Hotel amenities include free parking, on-site bike rental, comfortable rocking chairs on the spacious porch overlooking the boardwalk and convenient beach rentals for your chair, umbrella and boogie board desires.Enjoy our warm Eastern Shore hospitality, spectacular ocean views and spacious accommodations - all just steps from spectacular Atlantic beaches and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.