We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 107 Ocean City hotels

Beach Plaza Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Atlantic Avenue, 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Beach Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Beach Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
52%
Ranked #60 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Heather L Reva, Virginia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (180)
  • Photos (96)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (46)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    45
    28
    25
    35
See reviews for
64
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reva, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I must say that I was a little worried that after I booked a weekend trip to stay at the Beach Plaza it got a handful of negative reviews, but I reminded myself that they are opinions and I really must decide for myself. We had a great stay at Beach Plaza, it is the kind of hotel my husband... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Heather- So glad your husband and you enjoyed your recent stay at the Beach Plaza. You highlighted our location, décor, and staff. I am sharing your review with the entire staff as it is wonderful to hear from guests such as yourself who take the time to share their comments. On your next visit, management would very much like to... More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel for 1 night only because our condo wouldn't be ready until July 4th and we didn't want to endure the holiday traffic so came down the day before. We booked a 1 bedroom, which had 2 sleepers in the living room which worked well for the 2 kids. Our room had a dining area and kitchen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Steph- Thank you so much for your comments about your recent stay at the Beach Plaza. So glad your family was able to enjoy our recently renovated large corner apartment and that Cheri and other staff members delivered great service. Now that you have experienced the Beach Plaza, we look forward to your return. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I are a young couple and we were looking for an affordable hotel to spend some nights in Ocean City, MD. Growing up, my family and I always went to OCMD for vacation and going to a new hotel made me nervous that the experience would be different and somehow not as memorable. I couldn't have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Brian- Your very kind comments captured what the Beach Plaza tries to deliver to every guest, all the time. So glad you appreciate our non cooking cutter lobby, décor, and rooms. Besides our beach front location, our front porch is one of our strengths as it is always enjoyable to kick back in one of our rocking chairs and watch... More

New Oxford, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been here two nights so far, beds r nice, staff is nice, location is perfect, no problems with parking. Only complaint... I booked a third night the day before my trip becauee I really wanted to see fireworks on the beach, however the fireworks have now been cancelled due to the storm, I mentioned I was upset and that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Brenda S- The mayor of Ocean City made a last minute decision to change the date of the fireworks and it is unfortunate that your stay did not coincide with the later date. Glad to read your comments about our beds and staff and hope you will be able to return later this season. More

Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed in this hotel over night and it was ok. The beds were very nice. The room could have been better if it would have had a little fridge. The bathroom was tiny and there was really no where to put shampoo or soap while showering. Location was great and it had a large parking lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Katie- Thank you for taking the time to submit your review about your recent stay. I am sharing your comments with our staff to make sure we deliver outstanding service. Hope you had an opportunity to enjoy the rocking chairs on our front porch and watch the people on the boardwalk. More

Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Made a last minute reservation at the Beach Plaza so the family could get some beach time before the kids head off to sports camps. Amazed at how the front desk personnel remember us from our last visit in 2013. We don't know the Dew Tour was in Ocean City, but we experienced the pro skate boarders and the BMX... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Always great to hear from our regulars. Can't believe how much your oldest child has grown. The Dew Tour was another success and will be back next year. Please let me know when you want to return so I can put you in an efficiency unit which have been newly renovated. More

Southern New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No housekeeping during entire stay, even after being requested. No clean linens, had to use our own beach towels as bath towels the last two days. When brought to manager's attention, response was :"housekeeping said they cleaned". Well, they may of said that, but the fact is the room was never cleaned, the beds were never made (except when I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Why if you had honestly experienced what you say did you not speak with management and share your concerns? The reason for not doing so is because of your exaggerated claims. It appears you may be part of the wedding party that behaved poorly during the wedding weekend. If we fall short in delivering hospitable service, we will admit to... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were there for a 3 day weekend and did not see one maid or receive any housekeeping at all. We finally requested maid service on day 2 and no one ever showed up. After tidying up the room and making the beds myself, I asked if we could please have some clean towels. Those never showed up either. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I believe you and I had a conversation regarding your concerns about your claim of not receiving service. I relayed our conversations to the executive housekeeper who inspected your room during your stay and confirmed to me that you did receive service. Our bathrooms were updated during this past winter with new fixtures and the tile floor was completely redone... More

Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Last minute trip w/another couple-didn't realize it was "Cruise In" weekend until looking for a hotel-last summer we had dinner there(Adolpho's) and checked out the hotel-thought of it because we wanted to park the car on Fri. until we left Sun.-everyone from reservations to check out were GREAT!Helpful info about everything -What a surprise to get up Sat.have coffee and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doug H, Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

So glad to hear of your enjoyable stay at the Beach Plaza and of your great dining experience at Adolfo's. Watching the Cruisin' parade on the boardwalk from our front porch is the ideal setting. The entire Beach Plaza staff looks forward to your next visit. More

Burtonsville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed there just for a night to celebrate wife's birthday. We arrived around 2:30pm where front desk agent told us that room is not ready; however, they gave us parking pass right away and asked us to sit back and relax in the lobby or outside porch and enjoy complimentary lemonade. We booked a standard room, it was big enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Doug H, Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Beach Plaza hotel. Our location is ideal as we are located in the middle of the boardwalk and the beach is located directly in front of the hotel. Hope you had a chance to enjoy our rocking chairs on our porch and just kick back and people watch. We... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Beach Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1301 Atlantic Avenue, 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phillips Beach Plaza
Phillips Beach Plaza Ocean City
Phillips Beach Plaza Hotel

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beach Plaza oceanfront hotel is located at 13th Street on the famous Ocean City, MD Boardwalk. The hotel’s beachfront location is ideal for family beach vacations, weekend getaways or your next golf vacation. Beach Plaza guests are just a short stroll down the boardwalk to numerous restaurants, nightclubs, amusement rides and shopping.The Beach Plaza Hotel offers a variety of accommodations to meet your needs, from oceanfront guest rooms, efficiencies and 1-bedroom apartments to spacious 3-bedroom apartments that can accommodate up to eight guests. Hotel amenities include free parking, on-site bike rental, comfortable rocking chairs on the spacious porch overlooking the boardwalk and convenient beach rentals for your chair, umbrella and boogie board desires.Enjoy our warm Eastern Shore hospitality, spectacular ocean views and spacious accommodations - all just steps from spectacular Atlantic beaches and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
96

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer