We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beach Plaza Hotel

1301 Atlantic Avenue, 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Beach Plaza Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

My husband and I loved the place. We loved the excellent service by the hotel staff (clean sheets every other day and free coffee everyday in the lobby and your room)but best of all we loved the "quaintness of the hotel". Our room had a great view of the ocean and the location is the best. We both enjoyed sitting... More 

Helpful?
Thank beachl0ver922
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

beachl0ver922- Thank you so much for your kind review of your recent stay at the Beach Plaza . Your comments are being shared with the housekeeping department and we deeply appreciate your kind words. The rocking chairs are almost hypnotic and are a great way to relax. We are looking forward to your return next season and being able to... More 

York, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

We arrived at the hotel too early to get our room so we stayed on the beach until check in time. Inside, the hotel has a very vintage look, but I loved it. When check-in time arrived, we went to check in and our room was not yet ready. The staff was extremely friendly about it and felt bad about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany L
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

TiffanyL- Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Beach Plaza. The saying that "good things come to those who wait" certainly applied in your instance. So glad the staff was able to overcome a potential "downer" and make your stay a pleasant experience. We certainly look forward to your return visit... More 

Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

Smelly, peeling paint, moldy ceiling tiles, filthy dirty carpet that should have been replaced 20 years ago. Needs a complete interior remodel. I was afraid to attempt the elevator. GREAT location, staff was very friendly, but come on, this place was nasty.

Helpful?
1 Thank Private142
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Private 142- I apologize that the beach Plaza did not provide you with an enjoyable experience when you were here in August. The carpet photo is from the hallways and they get the most traffic in the hotel. They are cleaned at the beginning of each season, but we are so busy during the season that we can't clean them... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

Every year my family returns to Ocean City and we stay at the Beach Plaza where we have for years. The staff has been there for years and we appreciate being recognized and acknowledged by the front desk at check-in. Admittedly the Beach Plaza has it quirks, but the friendly staff overcomes those shortcomings. Can't tell you how many new... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Skeetlax
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Skeetlax- It is always a pleasure to welcome your family and you back to the Beach Plaza. The staff has seen your children grow up so quickly and hopefully one day they will bring their families to the Beach Plaza. We have already confirmed your reservations for 2016 and wish you a healthy winter. More 

Bahamas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

I spent a weekend at the above hotel just recently. Upon waiting at the csr desk it took a few seconds for both csr agents to acknowledge there were two persons standing at their desk to be checked in. One lady was so deep into the cell phone and the other was doodling. We were checked in and was told... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dee B
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dee B- Sorry to hear about your recent stay at the Beach Plaza, but it appears you had unrealistic expectations about our property. No where do we tout a 5 Star rating , but rather describe ourselves as a beach front hotel. If you had reserved an ocean front room you would have had a fridge in your room. Moisture... More 

Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

I just came home from another enjoyable stay at the Beach Plaza Hotel in beautiful Ocean City,Maryland. I travel to Ocean City several times a year and have been staying at the Beach Plaza for the last 15 years. The staff,from the managers to the housekeepers are all friendly and professional.They go above and beyond to ensure your comfort and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melody_L776
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Melody_776- Many thanks for your glowing review of your most recent stay at the Beach Plaza. The staff is always delighted to see you and to care for your needs. As always you took advantage of our rocking chairs on the front porch to make news friends during your week long stay. Have a good winter and we will see... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Beach Plaza Hotel from Aug 17 -10th 2015. We like the price of the room, the location can't be beat, and the rocking porch is always nice. The ac worked just fine and the beds were comfortable also. We have stayed here the last five or so years. We miss having a pool but that is... More 

Helpful?
Thank beachgal314
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Beachgal314 Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Beach Plaza hotel. The entire staff is delighted to know you had a great stay and we are looking forward to your return stay next year. More 

New Bern, NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

The 3 bedroom apartment that our family had for the last week of Aug was not only dated, which we expected and don't mind in the least, but was dirty, dingy, unkempt, and depressing. The grounds around the apartments are littered with trash and landscaped with dead plants. On arrival our apartment porch was cluttered with pieces of trash. Inside... More 

Helpful?
Thank pegharold
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Pegharold- Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the 3 bedroom apartments at the Beach Plaza. Your comments are not only being shared with our housekeeping department, but also with ownership so they know that renovations are needed. I hope our failures did not take away from your vacation time and that you enjoyed the beach... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

The apartments are very out dated and old. The apartment smelled musty and of urine. We had light bulbs that were burnt out and just unplugged as if the housekeepers were to lazy to replace them so they just unplugged them. The vents to the A/C where so dirty and rusty i was scared to turn it on because of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie M
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

KatieM- I apologize that you did not have a good experience during your recent stay. I am unaware that any of your encounters were reported so we could remedy any shortcomings .Our winter 2015-16 projects list includes attention to the 3 bedroom apartments. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

We had a great experience at Beach Plaza. For our family, it was great value and exceeded our expectations. Staff was friendly and rooms were well appointed and clean. We stayed in the apartment on the second floor over looking the beach adjacent to the main hotel. Within the hotel was a great restaurant called Adolfo's which allowed a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank aden k
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

adenk- Many thanks for your review regarding your recent stay at the Beach Plaza. So glad your BoCon accommodations were enjoyable and that you had a good experience at Adolfo's. We pride ourselves with having a very hospitable staff and it is always rewarding when our guests acknowledge our efforts. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

212 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (155)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#13 of 109 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel
Dunes Manor Hotel
#2 of 109 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#36 of 109 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 109 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.8 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#80 of 109 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay