We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beach Bum Motel

Hotel website
203 9th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Bum Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Beach Bum Motel
Add Photo

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    13
    4
    4
    10
See reviews for
15
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice location, large rooms, 2 double beds. Clean full size bathroom, Priced right. Staff nice and helpful. Parking onsite and cameras for security. Only complaint, maids never made our beds and there was a $5 per night additional fee per night?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Stayed here in September 2014 for a girls weekend. It's not a fancy place but fit our needs perfectly! It was reasonable priced and close to the Boardwalk and bars. We stayed in double bed room with a full kitchen. We were very surprised and happy to find ice already made in the freezer. House keeping came with fresh towels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

This is the most disgusting place I have every stayed. Not safe the lock was broken and we told there is no maintaince worker there to help. It was so dirty and smelled terrible. I felt very unsafe and have never been treated so poorly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

1st, they gave me a quote of $100, then charged me $158.30. I should have backed off right then, but I was so afraid to go to OC without reservations. The location is good. The pool looked nice, but the hours were so limited, we never got to go in it.. The first room, the key didn'y work, the guy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Two years in a row at the Beach Bum. If you're not expecting a 5 star resort, then you'll be just fine. For the price it's as good as you can get in OC. Family of five and we need the convenience of stove and fridge in the room. Saves $ when you can do breakfast and lunch on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I arrived to the hotel yesterday 8/28/14. When I went in the office to check in a very strong smell of mildew hit me. I paid with cash and my credit card. I was not given a receipt for my transaction. When I asked the front desk guy about getting a receipt I was told that guest do not usually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horntown, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Last week was my first time visiting Ocean City. There was many things that I did not like about Ocean City like some of the rude visitors and bad drivers. But what I did like was the Beach Bum Motel. When I walked into the room all I could smell was the bathroom cleaner that the housekkepers use(which smell great).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are gross, staff is rude and couldn't answer simple questions like directions and additional parking. Rooms are small, beds are uncomfortable, and I would suggest you wear shoes at all times because the floor was nasty. Do NOT stay here!!!! Over priced for a horrible stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed down there for senior week. No damage to the rooms, still waiting on my $200 deposit back. I called 4 times and each time they lied and said they mailed it out, and then I would speak to someone else and they would claim it takes 14 business days to process...well it's been 6 weeks since i left! frauds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachBummet, Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

What date did you check out? Please email me directly at reservations@beachbummotel.com Attn: Manager, so I can look into the details of your refund check. All high school senior security deposit refunds are processed within the 30 days after the check out date as posted on the website and in the rental agreement! Will be looking forward to hearing from... More 

Frostburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

From check in to check out, this was a very disappointing vacation. Waited fifteen minutes to check in while front desk person answered the phone twice. Checked out room and found bottle caps on floor and no trash bags in trash cans. The furnishings were rough and the tab curtains would not provide adequate privacy from outdoor neighbors. Only lock... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachBummet, Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your remarks that will be taken into consideration. Housekeeping supervisor has addressed the staff, and is working on clearer channels of communication with our seasonal staff. During the summer, there are many students arriving to fill the seasonal positions and since the English is not their first language, there are some "lost in translation" issues that we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay