We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Ocean City accommodations

Beach Bum Motel

203 9th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Beach Bum Motel to your Saves list
Beach Bum Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
55%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Tracy J Horntown, Virginia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (34)
  • Photos (13)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    4
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horntown, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Last week was my first time visiting Ocean City. There was many things that I did not like about Ocean City like some of the rude visitors and bad drivers. But what I did like was the Beach Bum Motel. When I walked into the room all I could smell was the bathroom cleaner that the housekkepers use(which smell great).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms are gross, staff is rude and couldn't answer simple questions like directions and additional parking. Rooms are small, beds are uncomfortable, and I would suggest you wear shoes at all times because the floor was nasty. Do NOT stay here!!!! Over priced for a horrible stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed down there for senior week. No damage to the rooms, still waiting on my $200 deposit back. I called 4 times and each time they lied and said they mailed it out, and then I would speak to someone else and they would claim it takes 14 business days to process...well it's been 6 weeks since i left! frauds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachBummet, Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

What date did you check out? Please email me directly at reservations@beachbummotel.com Attn: Manager, so I can look into the details of your refund check. All high school senior security deposit refunds are processed within the 30 days after the check out date as posted on the website and in the rental agreement! Will be looking forward to hearing from... More

Frostburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

From check in to check out, this was a very disappointing vacation. Waited fifteen minutes to check in while front desk person answered the phone twice. Checked out room and found bottle caps on floor and no trash bags in trash cans. The furnishings were rough and the tab curtains would not provide adequate privacy from outdoor neighbors. Only lock... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachBummet, Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your remarks that will be taken into consideration. Housekeeping supervisor has addressed the staff, and is working on clearer channels of communication with our seasonal staff. During the summer, there are many students arriving to fill the seasonal positions and since the English is not their first language, there are some "lost in translation" issues that we... More

Enola, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

this is the worst stay i have ever had my friend had to sleep on the floor and i on the couch wile his parents slept on the bed so yea it is the worst place we have ever stayed at. you might as well stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachBummet, Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear such a disappointment from you, but I would like to be able to identify what room where you staying in? Our rooms that accommodate up to 4 would have either 2 double beds, or a king bed plus a full size pull out bed. Please feel free to share your stay information with me directly... More

Elkton, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My son and his wife came home from the Army and wanted to go to Ocean City MD. We booked this the day of going down(quick). We were very surprised that such great accomidations could be had in Ocean City at such crazy, insane prices(cheap). So close to the boardwalk and fishing dock(fun). We stayed for just one night, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachBummet, Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back! More

Paxinos, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

While staying at the Beach Bum Motel my friend lost his parking pass that he paid $70.00 for. The motel has his type of car, license plate number, and the dates of the arrival to departure logged Into their computer. When he went to the office for another pass they told him he had to pay another $60 for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachBummet, Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Dear Larry, I had sent you a private message as well. As you know that was the additional parking pass that was purchased by your friend for the overflow lot. We don't have the information logged into the computer, but you put the make and model information on the ticket that you must put on the dashboard, so it cannot... More

Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a king suite, very roomy. Bed comfy, lots of good pillows! Looks as if it was recently painted, although furniture is aged. Clean. Nice pool area, although we didn't use. Easy walk to beach and boardwalk. Staff (especially the young man who checked us in and worked the desk in the evenings) was extremely friendly & helpful. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
BeachBummet, Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you soon again! More

Greensburg
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Sorry this is so late. My husband and I stayed at Beach Bum for from July 1st-July 4th. We were there for our honeymoon. I planned the wedding and husband planned honeymoon. (Tight budget for honeymoon, went cheaper on hotel so we could do things like parasail and jet ski). I will admit I expected much more upon arrival to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gardners, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Motel was very close to the boardwalk. We stayed in the newly renovated first floor of the main building. The room had only the basics. There were no extras such as a hair dryer or extra toiletries. Also, there didn't appear to be any phone and only one hanger in the "closet" area, neither of which really bothered us as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Beach Bum Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Beach Bum Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bum Motel

Address: 203 9th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beach Bum Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ocean City with
any amenities

Amenities

Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beach Bum Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer