We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beach Bum Motel

203 9th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Bum Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Beach Bum Motel
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    4
    4
    10
See reviews for
15
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

This is the most disgusting place I have every stayed. Not safe the lock was broken and we told there is no maintaince worker there to help. It was so dirty and smelled terrible. I felt very unsafe and have never been treated so poorly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

1st, they gave me a quote of $100, then charged me $158.30. I should have backed off right then, but I was so afraid to go to OC without reservations. The location is good. The pool looked nice, but the hours were so limited, we never got to go in it.. The first room, the key didn'y work, the guy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Two years in a row at the Beach Bum. If you're not expecting a 5 star resort, then you'll be just fine. For the price it's as good as you can get in OC. Family of five and we need the convenience of stove and fridge in the room. Saves $ when you can do breakfast and lunch on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

I arrived to the hotel yesterday 8/28/14. When I went in the office to check in a very strong smell of mildew hit me. I paid with cash and my credit card. I was not given a receipt for my transaction. When I asked the front desk guy about getting a receipt I was told that guest do not usually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horntown, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Last week was my first time visiting Ocean City. There was many things that I did not like about Ocean City like some of the rude visitors and bad drivers. But what I did like was the Beach Bum Motel. When I walked into the room all I could smell was the bathroom cleaner that the housekkepers use(which smell great).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Rooms are gross, staff is rude and couldn't answer simple questions like directions and additional parking. Rooms are small, beds are uncomfortable, and I would suggest you wear shoes at all times because the floor was nasty. Do NOT stay here!!!! Over priced for a horrible stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed down there for senior week. No damage to the rooms, still waiting on my $200 deposit back. I called 4 times and each time they lied and said they mailed it out, and then I would speak to someone else and they would claim it takes 14 business days to process...well it's been 6 weeks since i left! frauds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachBummet, Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

What date did you check out? Please email me directly at reservations@beachbummotel.com Attn: Manager, so I can look into the details of your refund check. All high school senior security deposit refunds are processed within the 30 days after the check out date as posted on the website and in the rental agreement! Will be looking forward to hearing from... More 

Frostburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

From check in to check out, this was a very disappointing vacation. Waited fifteen minutes to check in while front desk person answered the phone twice. Checked out room and found bottle caps on floor and no trash bags in trash cans. The furnishings were rough and the tab curtains would not provide adequate privacy from outdoor neighbors. Only lock... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachBummet, Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your remarks that will be taken into consideration. Housekeeping supervisor has addressed the staff, and is working on clearer channels of communication with our seasonal staff. During the summer, there are many students arriving to fill the seasonal positions and since the English is not their first language, there are some "lost in translation" issues that we... More 

Enola, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

this is the worst stay i have ever had my friend had to sleep on the floor and i on the couch wile his parents slept on the bed so yea it is the worst place we have ever stayed at. you might as well stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachBummet, Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear such a disappointment from you, but I would like to be able to identify what room where you staying in? Our rooms that accommodate up to 4 would have either 2 double beds, or a king bed plus a full size pull out bed. Please feel free to share your stay information with me directly... More 

Elkton, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My son and his wife came home from the Army and wanted to go to Ocean City MD. We booked this the day of going down(quick). We were very surprised that such great accomidations could be had in Ocean City at such crazy, insane prices(cheap). So close to the boardwalk and fishing dock(fun). We stayed for just one night, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachBummet, Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Beach Bum Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bum Motel

Address: 203 9th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Bum Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay