We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Hotel website
290 Marsh Hill Road, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015
Brenda A Oil City, Pennsylvania
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    64
    67
    27
    22
See reviews for
102
47
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (85)
All months
There are newer reviews for Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Oil City, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

We just returned from a weekend skiing at Wisp. I loved skiing the mountain. The trails were designed to maximize the length of the slopes but there are flat areas which are hard to navigate. A "magic carpet" at the top of the mountain would help people get from one area to another. The lifts are outdated, slow and need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I have rented ski equipment for my wife and snowboard gear for my daughter and have found the rental department employees to be very accommodating and friendly. Management on several occasions have gone out of their way to assist me with my all of my rental requests. Furthermore, an example of exceeding my expectation of service, management assisted me with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We were able to check in with little fanfare. The hotel lobby staff said nothing other than "Name, drivers license, and credit card." Staff should be reminded that this is a service industry. The food available in the food court style eating area was edible but nothing great and the price was of course ridiculous. The real problems started at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hollywood, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015 via mobile

Hotel rooms are outdated and weirdly arranged. Our queen suite had a fridge in the hall (no microwave) and a pull out bed in the sitting area. 4 people in the room makes the suite feel crowded. The pool was warm and my children enjoyed it. The convenience of ski in-out was great. The lockers they provide are small, tight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

This was my first trip to Wisp since last winter and the hotel has made some changes/improvements. First, the arcade was moved away from the lobby which makes the lobby area more quiet and enjoyable (no kids having meltdowns for 'one more quarter' or noisy arcade machines). They're currently doing construction to make an entrance around the back by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AmyClinton, Manager at Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

I am thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We have made several changes and upgrades to try and improve our guest's experience, and I am pleased you noticed! We look forward to seeing you again on the mountain! More 

Fairmont, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Overpriced, I had to change rooms because of no tv, no breakfast (what kind of resort is this) very outdated. View of parking lot from room. Value for dollar spent is very poor. Low ceilings and poorly lit. Id be happier if I got half my money back. Was unable to drink any water while I was there because water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmyClinton, Manager at Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

I am so sorry you did not feel you received a value to your stay. We are constantly planning and upgrading to make our guests feel they received a clean, comfortable stay that was worth the price they paid. I truly hope you give us another shot. My hope is when you return you will see a different side of... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

My husband and I took an overnight trip to Wisp. We got the mid-week madness package through the resort which included our room and lift/rentals. Sunday night we opted to go to Uno's a restaurant about 10 min. down the to road. Uno's was excellent, great service, food and drinks. We skied on a Monday which was great because there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmyClinton, Manager at Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Midweek Madness Package is definitely the way to go. It's the best value and you typically miss all the long lift lines! We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I did not stay on property, so I cannot comment on that, but I found the attractions available at Wisp to be very enjoyable. For skiing and snowboarding, the amount of trails was wonderful, with plenty of options for every skill level. The only downside was the length of lines for the ski lifts. During the day, they could get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmyClinton, Manager at Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Tana, We are so glad you enjoyed your trip to Wisp. We hope to see you back on the slopes soon! More 

Cambridge, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

My mother reserved two suites for the week and then invited the family to join in wherever possible. There is a fold down bed (very interesting and a little scary), a nice bathroom, another bedroom, and two TVs. While the suites weren't next to each other, one of the floors (2nd) is pet friendly! She and my cousin brought three... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmyClinton, Manager at Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your trip. I remember your family quite well. The poodles greeted me outside each morning on my way into work. I hope you and your entire family have a wonderful 2015! More 

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

My husband and I were so excited to celebrate our 2 year Wedding Anniversary our excitement turned into complete disgust and disappointment! They LIED to us and MISLED us!!!!!! LIE 1. When we called to make the Reservation we asked to have a room with a nice view and on a somewhat high level, they said that would not be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
AmyClinton, Manager at Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry your visit to Wisp Resort Hotel did not live up to your expectations. While I don’t feel we lied or mislead you in any way, it does seem as though there was some miscommunication regarding your stay. I wish I would have had the opportunity to meet with you and discuss while you were on property.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question