We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wades Point Inn on the Bay

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
10090 Wades Point Rd, McDaniel, St. Michaels, MD 21663
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    122
    38
    16
    12
    1
See reviews for
21
114
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (189)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Extremely disappointed in this place. Stayed in the Kemp Guest House. These rooms are entered through the OUTSIDE of the complex much like a motel. The outside of the building is in much need of paint. There were bugs on the ceiling of our room, as well as a whole host of bugs swarming around the outside night lights. (Good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
betsy f, Owner at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review

I'd rather ignore this but you write so well that even i am almost persuaded to have doubts about this wonderful place! This is called a spank back and i'll explain for anyone interested. We do have a clearly outlined cancelation policy but we always try to put our customers first. We agreed to allow the reviewer a same day... More 

Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

BEAUTIFUL views!! We stayed in the Brick Room. The rooms are small...not exactly unexpected. We also read previous reviews and there were a few disappointments. No cookies on Saturday. Bottled water is only provided in the Kemp House. There is a pitcher of filtered water in the Breakfast Room but this B&B has well water...so the glasses do smell. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a find! We loved our stay here. Our room was gorgeous, with beautiful views from all sides, a great outside balcony for sitting with an end-of-day glass of vino. We used the bikes one day and rode to a nearby restaurant for lunch. Went kayaking. Took advantage of all that St. Mike's has to offer, a 10 minute drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
betsy f, Owner at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your stay, we love it when guests can enjoy the property! If you have any recipes or breakfast ideas for us please share and next time let us know and we'll try to make something more suitable. We have some good healthy choices but we try to change it up so guests here for longer stays don't... More 

Lido Beach, NY
Level Contributor
236 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let me start by saying that the only thing we wished that was different at this B&B/farm is that there was a sandy beach, or, maybe no threat of jellyfish to hinder our time in water. We three sisters are water babies, so to speak, and love sitting, swimming or just lazing in the water and we could not do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
betsy f, Owner at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review

Wish we could have helped with the jellies and the sandy beach, i agree that would make it absolutely perfect here. We keep tossing around the idea of a pool but wouldn't want it to change the atmosphere here so we wait. This winter we hope to add an outdoor shower ( the Kemp family always had one). Its all... More 

New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Wades Point Inn was exactly what we needed. The property is beautiful and the staff is very friendly. The views are beautiful and the sounds of the bay are totally relaxing. I have heard that many complain that there are no televisions, no phones, and no internet. Please don't change a thing. If you are not looking to truly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
betsy f, Owner at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review

So glad you appreciate the value of 'unplugging'. We do try to balance the peace and quiet guests are looking for with families wanting to enjoy a peaceful break together but sometimes things slip thru with less than ideal arrangements. So for all families and groups reading this, here is why we are particular as to which rooms we would... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I spent Independence Day at Wades Point Inn and very much enjoyed ourselves. I would, however, like to detail some pros and cons of the experience. For pros, the property is secluded and gorgeous, and its location with three sides bordered by water is very peaceful. You can swim, lounge or roam around the inn and its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
betsy f, Owner at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review

I'm glad that overall you had a good stay and we do appreciate all the feedback so we can improve. Happy you enjoyed breakfast! I hope you knew that you were free to refill your plate as many times as your stomach allowed. We do make smaller portions because we found guests want to have tastes of everything, without getting... More 

Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

I stayed for only one night at Wades Point Inn, on a too-soon-ended get-away with my sister. I loved every minute of our time there, from our first view of the expansive lawns spreading down to the bay around the elegant old main house to our final glimpse of white-tailed deer disappearing in the corn fields as we left to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
betsy f, Owner at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review

If i could figure out how to put smilely faces on here then that would be all the response needed . Thank you so much ! More 

Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We recently returned from a week at Wade's Point on the Eastern Shore and we had a really good time. While the postal address in McDaniel, MD. The nearest (very,very touristy) town is St. Michaels. Likes: The peaceful atmosphere, surrounded by water on 3 sides, beautiful Kemp building with balcony, extremely pleasant and courteous staff, Nice nature walking paths with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
betsy f, Owner at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! i did finally get to the website and change It to Limited Wi-Fi. The router over at the Kemp guesthouse broke and we decided not to replace it. We did however replace the guest fridge in the pantry and got it in as soon as they could deliver it, which wasn't as fast as we would... More 

Red Bank, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

First, I'll start with the positives- and there are many. The location is very beautiful, and we appreciated how there were many different types of seating options all over the property, and that they are all spaced out for privacy. This is the perfect place if you're looking for alone time and romance. Secondly, the breakfast is so delicious! I'm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
betsy f, Owner at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank- you for all your positive comments! We were so close to being the right place for you. I wonder if you were driving into town during the July 4th parade. St. Michaels has the best small town parades but it does make driving difficult on parade days. I probably shouldn't admit online that i sometimes drive a bit over... More 

Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Wades Point Inn is a beautiful historic home with spectacular views of the bay! The caretakers, Betsey, Beth, and their staff are extremely accommodating, pleasant, and most gracious. We did not miss the TV as our goal was to spend our time playing board games out on the lawn...relaxed by the beautiful sights and sounds of the bay. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
betsy f, Owner at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review

Awesome review , thank-you! Was just in the game store the other day seeing whats new out there. Bought a few new additions :) Lucy is such a gem, She models what it looks like to relaaaax. What would we do without her! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McDaniel
4.8 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
3.5 mi away
Harbourtowne Golf Resort and Conference Center
6.3 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
5.1 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
4.3 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#9 of 14 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay