We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade

8000 Washington Boulevard, Jessup, MD 20794
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    17
    8
    18
See reviews for
13
16
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade
See the most recent reviews
Washington, DC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed here the weekend of May 30th. I arrived late and dealt with a tall African man who was the least accomodating. He is rude and has a "too bad if you don't like it attitude." He made excuses for whatever was wrong with the reservation and will try to cheat you out of your money. They do not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RRI187MGR, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review on your stay at our hotel. I must apologize for not meeting your needs. We have taken note of all issues you described and will ensure that these are resolved. Your comments are taken seriously and we will address each issue with urgency. Thank you very much for staying with us again, i am... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I got a secret deal for four nights for only $188 and was a bit apprehensive. The reviews weren't that great after the motel was revealed but the location was good. Mainly there were complaints of the heavy smoking odors in the entire 100% non-smoking complex. However, to my joy, the room was freshly cleaned and the puffers did their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRI187MGR, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review on your stay. Glad you found our newly renovated rooms to be clean. We have taken note of the other issues you mentioned and will put great effort into eliminating them.We surely enjoyed serving you. We are committed to pleasing our guests. Thank you again and hope to see you on your next trip... More 

Astor, FL
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We like Red Roof Inns because of the pet friendly policy. This night I didn't have an opportunity to check on the reviews for this property before we checked in but we we're pleased with our stay. Our room was very clean. It must have been newly renovated. It was also very quiet. The bathroom was spotless. The only negative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRI187MGR, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review on your stay. Glad you found our newly renovated rooms to be clean. We surely enjoyed serving you. We are committed to pleasing our guests. Thank you again and hope to see you on your next trip to Maryland. More 

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel is very misleading from their web site. The rooms are small, our room looked like someone had slept on the king bed when we arrived. The coffee maker was absolutely filthy with grease, dirt and grime on the water resovoir. The washcloth was black, literally when I tried to scrub the coffee maker oiff. There were only 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRI187MGR, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your review of the hotel is a very important tool that we use to let us know how well we are servicing our guests. I see that that we did not live up to your expectation of what is required of a Red Roof Inn, for that I sincerely apologize.... More 

bridgeville DE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I reserved a room in January 2014 for a weekend getaway in April. The weekend in April came and my husband and I arrived at the Red Roof Inn at 3:15pm. Check in was at 3:00pm. We checked in and was told our room was not clean yet. They would call us when it was ready. They did not give... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRI187MGR, Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I was very unhappy to hear that you had a problem with your reservations and stay our hotel. I was informed of the problems you were having, Saturday morning, and immediately tried to contact you, twice in your room and again, on the cell phone number you left for my Front desk person, but was unsuccessful, however, we... More 

Jessup, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have stayed here many times for long periods of times and have always been treated like family the staff is great and very polite. I would recommend this place to anyone they are the best. and I am still here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRI187MGR, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to let us know how your stay was at the Red Roof Inn- Columbia-Forte Meade. I’m pleased that we were able to meet your expectations and that our staff was able to accommodate you in a professional manner. We always enjoy receiving feedback from our guest and look forward to seeing you in the... More 

Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel, and i must say it i enjoyed my trip. The check in process was very quick. The girl at the front desk was very helpful and friendly, she went out her way to print out direction to help me find my way around the area. There was one smaller issue, the ice machine was down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRI187MGR, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We have been working extremely hard to earn reviews such as yours, and we really do appreciate your feedback. Our staff will be happy to hear that they made your stay a positive experience. I would like to say thank you once again for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you... More 

North Kingstown, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Good- Great Location right off 95, quick drive south to DC and North to BWI. Room was renovated with newer furnishings. THE BAD- This hotel is in a very rough neighborhood. We stayed for 2 days and felt uncomfortable right away. I knew it wasn't going to be good when the gas station down the street had 2 inch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRI187MGR, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your review of the hotel is a very important tool that we use to let us know how well we are servicing our guests. I see that that we did not live up to your expectation of what is required of a Red Roof Inn, for that I sincerely apologize.... More 

Woburn, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I recently spent a very long week in this place on business travel 4/7-4/11/2014. Huge mistake! A short drive from BWI, and convenient to 95, and Fort Meade. The only good things. This hotel is not clean. The rooms are clean, but you will be overcome by the stench of cigarette smoke throughout the facility. The non smoking policy is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
RRI187MGR, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review on your stay at our hotel. I must apologize for not meeting your needs. We have taken note of all issues you described and will ensure that these are resolved. Your comments are taken seriously and we will address each issue with urgency. Thank you very much for staying with us again, i am... More 

new york,usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Upon checking in at 11pm on 2/26/2014,I was overcome by the stench of cigarette smoke.Called front desk who offered to change rooms.Did not want to change rooms because I was exhausted,and there were some "undesirables"hanging around the parking lot.Based on reading other reviews of this hotel,this seems to be an ongoing problem.Hotel general manager refused to issue full refund because"You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RRI187MGR, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your review of the hotel is a very important tool that we use to let us know how well we are servicing our guests. I see that that we did not live up to your expectation of what is required of a Red Roof Inn. I spoke with you by... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question