We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Hotel website
Hotel deals
16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wareham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 7 nights at the Shady Grove Comfort Inn while in the area visiting family. Our room was clean and the bed comfortable and well-stocked with a variety of pillows. Every day, two bottles of water were provided, a nice touch when you're heading out sightseeing for the day. Breakfast included scrambled-egg patties, sausage patties, and hot waffles, along... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Becky5692
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

My wife and I stayed here just one night, on a pleasure trip, and had an excellent experience. The staff were professional, friendly and very helpful (answering our questions about restaurants, and even giving us a card listing the restaurants). The room was clean, large and well-equipped. We got a good night's sleep, as the bed and pillows were comfortable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan6745
Level Contributor
8 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

Our nights stay has been reminiscent of scenes from the movie "Boogie Nights". The couple in the room next to us were literally pushing each other's heads through our wall in their rumble of ecstasy. When we called the front desk to complain the man that answered was short and rude. Their noises of bliss left my young children in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam F
ViraSafai, Managing Partner at Comfort Inn Shady Grove, responded to this review

Dear Adam: Thank you for informing me of your recent experience at our property. I am always saddened when I become aware, for whatever reason, that any of our guests have been inconvenienced. Our staff continuously strives to give our guests the best possible service and accommodations. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015 via mobile

I've spent the last two nights at the Shady Grove Comfort Inn while in town on business. I've been happy with my stay and my two different rooms. The hotel is clean with no odd hotel smells. The staff has been extremely helpful and friendly. My room is comfortable as were the beds and pillows. I left too early each... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott W
Selbyville, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

We found ourselves unexpectedly looking for a room while in the area and fortunately stopped here. Rate was very affordable and the room was lovely. The front desk staff at both check-in and check-out were friendly and professionally. They were knowledgeable about the area and helped us with directions to our final destination. I was particularly impressed to find gluten-free... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

I had to drive with my son to Washington from Toronto at the last minute to get a travel visa. I chose this hotel for its location near the metro station, as I wanted to avoid possible traffic jams downtown. The hotel quoted me an excellent rate for two people - under $100 after the AAA/CAA discount. This was within... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DavidinToronto
Istanbul
Level Contributor
196 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015 via mobile

This hotel was arranged for us, and we didn't really zen how nice it would be. The bed is comfortable, the room is warm and the staff very helpful. The even had a live plant in the bathroom. I was glad, too, that the coffee was kept fresh in the lobby area. Kudos to Alan, as he made us feel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NationsMan
Germantown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

Good Morning. My name is Nichole Lewis. Myself and husband have been paying quests @ the Comfort Inn, Shady Grove. For over a month. I just wanted EVERYONE ELSE TO KNOW HOW AMAZING THIS ESTABLISHMENT IS!!!! I HAVE TO APPAULD every single member of the staff here, from housekeeping, to the ladies that keep hot coffee and fresh breakfast flowing.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nichole L
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

Outside looks nice, inside everything is old. Breakfast area, floor, ceiling, elevator, room, bathroom, room furniture and wall, wall decor ect. looks really old. No USB charger outlets in the room. Mattress was the worst. House keeping is doing good job but owner/management is not putting money back. Front desk staff OK, TV and internet worked well. I don't recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank DHARMESH P
ViraSafai, Owner at Comfort Inn Shady Grove, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Dharmesh, Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the cleanliness of our property. I am sorry that you were not happy with your room décor, and apologize if we did not meet your expectations. I just hope your review was not based on the fact that the employee rate was not available during your travels,... More 

Naples
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

We were there 2 weeks and the staff was great. The Breakfast was very well done. It was easy access to the metro and the expressway. We had stay at the hotel 2 years ago and also before that. it was nice to go back and fell very welcome.

Helpful?
3 Thank Richard G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#4 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#5 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
2.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay