We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

3.0 of 5 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    78
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
58
27
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (184)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Highly recommended!! I've stayed here a few times, and will be back!! Always a nice stay, clean rooms, friendly staff - front desk was welcoming, friendly, nice to chat with....Always a great stay - and lots of restaurants, Stabucks...within walking distance - and a place to go for a run around the lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SHSGaithersburg, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued rewards member, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service. Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Gaithersburg... More 

Boston,MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I have been partial to Marriott's for years. That changed with our last two visits to their hotels. At the Courtyard we were disappointed to find there were no in-room safes. There was no closet, just a wardrobe & quite tight at that. They advertise free wi-fi but once we had signed on our phones, we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SHSGaithersburg, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. We provide safes for a selective number of rooms in the... More 

Zionsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

The hotel is far out from DC with a shuttle trip to the end of the red metro line, but since my meeting was in Shady Grove, it was a good location. Shopping and a fairly good restaurant assortment next to hotel. The room was clean and a spacious king. I had a room facing the lake, which was nice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SHSGaithersburg, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center. As a valued guest, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our... More 

St. George, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

My only disappointment was the hours of operation of the pool. It was a not attended pool, indoors so why have days you close it at all....had a season schedule...what I really wanted was the hot tub....CLOSED the days I was there :( Everything else was clean, well appointed very nice property

Was this review helpful? Yes
SHSGaithersburg, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center. We are fortunate that we have a pool on property but due to the county laws we have to abide by, we only manage to open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. We alternatively have complimentary tickets to... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

First of all, the hotel itself is ok on the outside but not in the inside! We checked in at exactly 3:30pm and was greeted by a really nice lady. I called earlier and requested a room on the top floor (9) and we got not only what we wanted, but a room facing the lake which what I've dreamed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SHSGaithersburg, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Markowitz, Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian center. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent visit. Please accept our sincere apology for... More 

Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I am currently staying at The Courtyard for work and tonight when I arrived after two delayed flights they oversold the hotel and gave my room away. They placed me in a double room facing the parking garage that is handicapped accessible which is weird for me because I'm not handicapped at all and don't need all these modifications. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SHSGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to respond and letting us know about your check in experience. We certainly apologize that you were not given the actual room type that you reserved and had a challenge when you arrived. It is never our intention to not give our guests the rooms that they reserve. In this particular case... More 

Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

I stayed at this hotel due to my conference being within the hotel itself. I received a nice welcome from Miriam at reception which is good after a long journey. It is not that great for connection to Dulles Airport - I got on a shuttle bus for $35 but had to wait until there were enough people on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SHSGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Mariam was delighted to hear you found her service particularly memorable. We know transportation can be a little confusing coming in unfamiliar; may we suggest reaching out to the hotel prior to your arrival so we can give you the best options possible! Thank you so much again and... More 

Toledo, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Water views, walking paths, shopping, food and entertainment. Great place for reunions! Metro near for Washington DC tours. Pool, free parking garage, great service. Stayed 3 nights to meet my new niece, LaiLa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SHSGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Congratulation on meeting your neice; how exciting. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and invite you back any time. Have a wonderful day. Warmest Regards, Gaithersburg Management Team More 

New Hyde Park, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed at this property for 3 nights as part of an 18-family group for a local youth soccer tournament. The hotel was very helpful in terms of how it handled us and allowed us to use some of the public spaces to fit our needs. They set up a room for us for Breakfast each morning, and let us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SHSGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Your group is welcome back anytime! We are elated to hear that our staff accommodated your every request; that is what great service is all about. Between weddings, soccer tournaments, family reunions etc. we are prepared for it all! Have a wonderful day. Warmest Regards, Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team More 

cleveland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed here August 8th through 10th of 2014 for a family gathering that took place close by. We enjoyed the hotel and found the location to be very convenient. It is a 40 minute drive to Baltimore and 20 miles from D.C. We took the 10 minute drive to the Shady Grove metro station and headed into Washington D.C.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SHSGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is wonderful you took advantage of our proximity to major cities such as Baltimore and D.C. Our location is a great 'half way' point for guests to meet up and head out to all the close by attractions! We hope you choose to stay with us again. Warmest Regards, Gaithersburg Courtyard Management Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Place, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Gaithersburg Marriott
Gaithersburg Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay