We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charlie's Motel

Hotel website
220 West Main Street, Frostburg, MD 21532
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Charlie\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely lovely rustic old fashion hotel !! Owner is such a joy to know. Has everything you need at a great price ! Located just down from downtown where there's cute stores and a wonderful book store

Helpful?
Thank Tammy P
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review. We work hard to try and make sure everyone enjoys their stay. Glad we were able to make you stay so enjoyable. Tanks again John More 

Kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Located more or less in the middle of Frostburg, this motel is a little unusual. It's basically an old motel with a new front put on, about 6 or 8 feet in front of the old motel. Creates a corridor, which you enter, then walk a few feet down the corridor, to your door. The newer front quiets the sounds... More 

Helpful?
Thank keith_in_ks
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Sorry that your stay with us wan"t better. Yes we are an older motel and are convined in certain areas. We are always working and trying to find ways to update and make our motel more modern. We will take your concerns and see which ones we can work on to make other peoples stay better. Thanks for noticing that... More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

I was in the market for a cheap place to stay when I drove up to take my fiancee' on the train ride and tour the C&O Canal museum. It was your normal budget motel, situated behind a bar and smelling only slightly of weed. We weren't particularly impressed, and we had a sneaking suspicion the room hadn't been seriously... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

We are very sorry if the room was not cleaned or could have been cleaned better. I wish you had brought this to our attention so that we could have taken care of it right away or moved you to another room. We try to make sure every body enjoys their stay here and that includes a clean smelling and... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

cheap clean with bar how can you beat lt. you can eat cheap or go big at steak house just steps away. stayed there 5 different times was never disappointed. it was a nice suprise to be able to watch the buccos this summer on their cable tv. plan on returning real soon. i

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you keep returning here during your travels. Hopefully we do not disappoint and keep making your stay here enjoyable. Next time will have to treat you to a cold beer on the house. Thanks again and let us know if there is anything we can do to get better. John More 

Macon, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

For $45.00 there were no surprises. Room had 2 double beds, we ended up using both beds as we normally sleep in a queen bed. bathroom small but that is what we expected. All in all a great value. It was a short walk to Sand Springs restaurant where we had a great meal. Did have to wait about 30... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janetkay94
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good meal at Sand Springs. If you stop this way again we hope you stay again. All ways open to any improvements we can make to make your next stay better. Thanks again John More 

Gap, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

My husband I stayed here with our dog Oct 1st & 2nd with our dog. Place was just what we hoped for. It was clean, quiet and close enough to walk to town. John at the front desk was friendly and present. We had a great breakfast at the Princess Restaurant and a nice dinner at the Steakhouse up the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Goneforgood2013
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a nice review of our motel, local restaurants and town. We try to make each person enjoys themselves while here. Wish you best of luck with your new dog and his training. Thanks again and we hope to see you again next year. John More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

I have stayed at Charlie's Motel several nights for work out of town. We have more days out of town over the next several months that we will be booking at Charlie's Motel. The owner is very friendly and accommodating. He went out of his way several times to work with our ever-changing schedule and even upgraded our rooms. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank kmz80
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review. We try to work with everyone and understand that plans change. We are glad that our motel fits your needs for your job up here. Thanks again. John More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

visited Frostburg to get my son set up in college, didn't spend much time in room was small but quaint no issues when i was there. the motel was easy to find and manager very nice as far as my late check in and nice gentleman to chat with..

Helpful?
Thank Becky S
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We try to make people feel comfortable and relaxed when staying here.When you visit your son we hope you book and stay with us again. Let us know if there is anything we can do to improve. Thanks again John More 

Lancaster, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

Sure, the rooms may look dated... call it retro. If you're simply looking for a decent bed, clean room and bathroom, a nice hot shower without having to pay for a bunch of other items you will not use... Charlie' Motel fits the bill. Was perfect for a motorcyclist looking for a clean, simple and low cost place to bunk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike V
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We try our best to make everyone comfortable and relaxed. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope if you pass this way again we can accommodate you. If there is something we can do to make your stay better , please let us know. Thanks again John More 

Danville, Kentucky
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

Read a lot of good reviews about this place and decided to try it out on my way to Dover, Delaware. I wasn't disappointed!! The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable!! Thanks John for a great place to stay and so reasonably priced!!

Helpful?
Thank skcollin2015
FloraBecker, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Glad you decided to try our motel and enjoyed your stay. Hope the rest of your trip went with out further challenges. When you get home at least you will have a lot clean clothes. Thanks again...John More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frostburg
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Failinger's Hotel Gunter
Failinger's Hotel Gunter
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Frostburg
Days Inn Frostburg
#3 of 6 in Frostburg
3.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Motor Inn
5.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 5 in LaVale
3.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay