We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
6620 Eli Whitney Drive, Columbia, MD 21046
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015
i812015 Maryland
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    9
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
1
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Pleasant and convenient area. My room had full-sized refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher. Staff is helpful and friendly. Room was clean, as was the bathroom. Countertop between the kitchen was great for placing phones etc. . . and there were lots of outlets for power. Just right for an extended stay. Great for business stay or family. Pet friendly too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

I was turned off from the first moment I entered the front doors of the hotel. The smell of stale cigarette smoke greets you down in the main lobby. However, the front desk agent was very nice and professional. Room number one that was assigned was not cleaned. The bed looked like someone had just slept in it, and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marbury, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel. Clean but lots of trucks in the parking lot from contractors. Grab n go breakfast is a joke. Lots of food nearby. Location is quiet and clean. Staff was friendly and check in was fast and easy. Kitchen table as a bit sticky but otherwise clean. Only stayed one night and a good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Levittown, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

The area was very nice, the hotel was clean and the staff was courteous. Room had a stove, refrigerator, sink. The problem was the a/c did not work, there were no cups, no shampoo, no hair dryer, residual odor from cooking lingered in room and permeated sheets and some lights did not work. The breakfast was continental with only a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I recently booked this hotel when I had 2 visit Ellicott City for a funeral. It was already a somber occasion, but the friendly face of George at the front desk even at 1 in the morning on a Friday night after a long drive was refreshing. He was really kind and even hooked me up with a huge room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive, responded to this review

Thanks you so much for taking the time to write us about your stay with us. We were pleased to see that our staff, especially George, provided you with superior service. We are glad that you had such a positive experience and that you enjoyed your spacious, clean room. Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to see... More 

Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Booked the hotel during a snowstorm that day without issue. Room was clean, spacious kitchen and bathroom. Nonsmoking room; however smoking rooms are right next door and I could smell the smoke, which was very unpleasant. Since it was snowing, the plows were out late at night and early morning (5:00 am). With the noise of the plow and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yuma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My experience at this Extended Stay America was good; excellent value for the price I paid. However, the representatives at the 800 number do not know which rooms have which features, so, if you want a room with a dishwasher and/or pull-out sofa, you must ask for a queen deluxe at minimum. When I made the reservation, I was told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Checked in was told the don't give extra pillows only had one blanket was told to go to the front desk to get another blanket he couldn't bring one to my room no ice bucket vending machines way way over priced and limited tv channels won't stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive, responded to this review

I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. The issues you described are unacceptable and our team should is committed to satisfying our guest and making your stay a home away from home. Unfortunately, amenities do vary from site to site and at this present time we do not have an ice machine on property and I sincerely apologize... More 

Haymarket, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed here on business. The sign said it was now a non smoking hotel, but apparently the 3rd Floor use to be for smokers. However the entire 3rd floor still smells of cigarettes and it is completely overwhelming. The staff was very nice about changing my room to a different floor. The rooms are very big, however the ad states... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ellicott City, Maryland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Nice customer service and good location. It's good for long term staying if you were doing business in this area. They provide free breakfast and gym. The standard guest room is pretty big. Surrounding was quiet and convenient to Wegmans and some shopping centers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay