We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Enbourne Road, Hamstead Marshall, Newbury RG20 0HW, England
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The White Hart Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    86
    40
    14
    14
    7
See reviews for
28
54
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We regularly travel to Southampton from Warrington ( 3 or 4 times per year ) and have found this Inn to be the ideal stop over en route, being approx 1 hour from Southampton. The White Hart always provides excellent accommodation and with good choice of well cooked meals for both breakfast and evening meal, if taken. Bedrooms are situated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted with your visits - and your very kind comments. A real pleasure to have you as our guests. More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited the White Hart for my mother in laws birthday. We had heard good things about it so thought we would give it a try. We had a lovely sharing platter which had meats, picallili and scotch eggs. It was very good. We also had selection of breads with a nice cheesy dip. We then all had a special... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your kind comments about our food. I am sorry we were quiet on the day of your visit; there are occasional days when our rural location means we are not as busy as we would wish. More 

Plymouth
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sometimes you are very lucky booking a hotel, this is such a case. From the minute of arriving to that of leaving the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was memorable. The care taken on making sure our 19 month old granddaughter needs were catered for was exceptional, " Just let us know...". Room 9... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

We just love that praise! Thank you so much for your super review. The team were so pleased you enjoyed your stay. More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night at this pretty Inn. The room was lovely, very well equipped with good quality toiletries. Tea and coffee making facilities. The room was in a little courtyard, very pretty. Had a lovely meal in the pub, fairly pricey but worth it as good quality. Breakfast was of a high standard too. Recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. More 

Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights while on a training course in Newbury. Room was nice and clean and the evening meals and breakfast was delicious. The only negative was the lack of mobile coverage and the wifi signal in the room was very poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. The variable mobile coverage is frustrating; we are located in the home of mobile telcons and ten minutes from Big HQ but... We hope our lovely location makes up for it, at least a little. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The bar area and restaurant are comfortable and well decorated, but a bit of ambient music in the restaurant would be nice . The food at both evening meal and breakfast was lovely although main meal portions were small. Room 9 is superbly decorated with ample space. It has the benefit of a velux window which floods the room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that we don't have real coffee in the rooms but it is not practical (it's real coffee at breakfast and throughout the day in the inn). Obviously an oversight on loo roll. Apologies for that. Do come again - we would love to see you. More 

Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

What a lovely village, never seen so many Oak Trees - very relaxing The White Hart is a nice old building excellent parking excellent restaurant and food Wifi not brilliant NO PHONE COVERAGE so if you need to be in contact with other people this is not the place for you. Accommodation - single room very very very small, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear your comments. Our single rooms are exactly as advertised and, generally speaking, are viewed as excellent value for money. With regret, none of my staff can recall a guest leaving part way through their stay and I have no record of a guest with your name, so we are unable to comment on the suggestion... More 

UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Having read the reviews I was really looking forward to my stay at the White Hart but what a disappointment. Travelling alone on business I had opted for the (only?) single room but, with hindsight, this was probably a mistake. 1) First Impression:- I was greeted on arrival by the bar manager who took me across to my room which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Our two Single Rooms are as advertised on our website and are generally praised for being comfortable and good value. It is a disappointment to us that you did not find them so. More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

These guys have prioritised their food offer - the restaurant is staffed by serious chefs working in view of the restaurant through neatly designed arches. It's great to see the kitchen working so well and lovely food emerging! What a treat. The fish is bang on lovely. The breakfast hollandaise on poached haddock light and lemony perfection. Foodie fabulousness. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Great praise - we love it! Thank you for a super review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights, Friday and Saturday with 2 dogs as was competing in a dog agility show in Newbury. Arrived late on the Friday however the staff were very helpful. Room was large and spacious, shower excellent. We ate there on the Saturday evening and the food was excellent. One of our party had a slight issue but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you, and the dogs, again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamstead Marshall
2.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Vineyard At Stockcross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
6.1 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#8 of 18 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
4.5 mi away
Donnington Valley
Donnington Valley
#5 of 18 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay