We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Hamstead Marshall B&Bs / inns

The White Hart Inn

4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Hamstead Marshall, Newbury RG20 0HW, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The White Hart Inn to your Saves list
The White Hart Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Bethtina birmingham
  • Overview
  • Reviews (102)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    22
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
19
35
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a fabulous stay here, the food the service absolutely superb, the room was lovely but in need of a new bathroom, but it did not spoilt our stay. We had a lovely chat to the chef next morning of whom told us about a restaurant in Bournemouth to try called the Crab, of which we did and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had to break off our journey mid-way to Wales and this turned out to be the perfect place. Lovely setting, comfortable rooms and excellent value, topped up by a delicious full English breakfast. We will definitely be going back when we have the opportubity

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your delightful review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stop-over and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More

Berkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The White Hart is making names for itself with it's food and service, we have been twice since the new manager moved in and it's such a pleasant and friendly Inn that it's my chosen destination for a relaxing spritzer and tasty meal. Superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your super review. We're so pleased we are your top spot! We look forward to seeing you again soon. More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just returned from a short weekend break at this hotel , really pleased with it , excellent food , lovely rooms , very friendly staff ,they couldn't do enough for us, we had a lovely room (8) , couldn't fault it at all , it was clean spacious , cosy , perfect for a peaceful romantic break . Meals were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of the whole team, thank you for your super review of your stay at The White Hart Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More

llanddulas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Good food,although portion sizes were very small especially breakfast...service was also slow...excellent quality bed/towels etc...annexe rooms ground floor..clean...bathroom clean but poor shower..as pet friendly places are difficult to find I would stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank for your review. We do, indeed, welcome well-behaved pets. I am very surprised at your comment about breakfast, which we aim to be generous and we very much encourage guests to have exactly what they want. Thank you for bringing a shortfall to our attention. It is only with feedback, such as yours, that we can pick up issues... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The main pub was very nice and I had a great evening meal on my 1st night. The MAJOR disappointment was the room, which was in an attached building which looked like it used to be an old utility building. Regrettably the standard of the main place has not been followed through to the rooms at all, which were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you didn't like your room. Our Single Rooms are, as advertised and in the photos, en suite rooms for single occupancy, located in an historic converted barn. More

Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The room was minute and dirty. When I walked in I walked into a cobweb. The bathroom had fluff and dust on the floor. When I had a shower the fire alarm went off because of the steam in the bedroom. The receptionist was rude and the breakfast wasn't enough to satisfy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our Single Rooms are, as advertised and seen in the photos, for single occupancy with en suite facilities. We do try to take a self-effacing approach to our work but we cannot reconcile your comment about breakfast as we offer a wide range of breakfast foods and... More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This isn't a place we would ever stay at again. We're do I start - breakfast left you hungry and they were really slow bearing in mind there was only 6 people staying. God help them(and us) if they had got busy. I have allocated 2 stars as when first arrived we received a friendly greeting and initially when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for responding to my request to discuss your concerns with me personally. I enjoyed our conversation. Certainly, we agree that not everything went as it should during your stay but I think you and I also agreed that some were smaller issues - and the willow tree not under our control. It is always helpful for us to... More

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the white hart, and once again everything was very good. The staff make this the place to stay they are polite, attentive and witty and nothing is too much trouble. The food is to die for and I particularly enjoyed the scallops although the Jam Roly Poly came a very close second. Great atmosphere, great staff,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Keep coming! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to the next time. More

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

When travelling through the area I had researched places close by that seemed appealing and this place was one of them. I'm a great fan of good food, good company and welcoming atmosphere. Such a shame this place has none of them. The food is over priced and nothing special. If anything it's slightly pretentious. The cleanliness was poor I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to us. As you note, I reply personally to all reviews and, where there is a criticism, discuss this fully with all staff involved to understand any issues and, indeed, own up to any shortcomings. I do not recognise The White Hart Inn from your comments but, as... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The White Hart Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Inn

Address: Hamstead Marshall, Newbury RG20 0HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury > Hamstead Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Newbury

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
16th-century coaching inn located in the historic village of Hamstead Marshall, The White Hart Inn is a 10-minute drive from both Newbury and Hungerford.Open throughout the day from 11.00am, The White Hart Inn offers you a warm welcome and all the comforts of a traditional country inn, including outstanding pub food “classics”, fantastic beers and wines and eight delightfully comfortable bedrooms. Food and drink features locally sourced and free-range produce, wherever possible, making the best use of seasonal availability.With simple décor and a modern bathroom, each room also has a flat-screen TV and facilities for making tea and coffee. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the building. A classic full English breakfast is provided each morning in the charming and relaxed inn.Heathrow Airport is around 45 minutes’ drive from The White Hart Inn. Both Highclere Castle and Donnington Castle are a few miles away, and The Living Rainforest is about 10 miles ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer