We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Enbourne Road, Hamstead Marshall, Newbury RG20 0HW, England
Hotel amenities
The White Hart Inn
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
AnnieHEngland Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    40
    13
    14
    7
See reviews for
27
53
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night at this pretty Inn. The room was lovely, very well equipped with good quality toiletries. Tea and coffee making facilities. The room was in a little courtyard, very pretty. Had a lovely meal in the pub, fairly pricey but worth it as good quality. Breakfast was of a high standard too. Recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights while on a training course in Newbury. Room was nice and clean and the evening meals and breakfast was delicious. The only negative was the lack of mobile coverage and the wifi signal in the room was very poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. The variable mobile coverage is frustrating; we are located in the home of mobile telcons and ten minutes from Big HQ but... We hope our lovely location makes up for it, at least a little. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The bar area and restaurant are comfortable and well decorated, but a bit of ambient music in the restaurant would be nice . The food at both evening meal and breakfast was lovely although main meal portions were small. Room 9 is superbly decorated with ample space. It has the benefit of a velux window which floods the room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that we don't have real coffee in the rooms but it is not practical (it's real coffee at breakfast and throughout the day in the inn). Obviously an oversight on loo roll. Apologies for that. Do come again - we would love to see you. More 

Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely village, never seen so many Oak Trees - very relaxing The White Hart is a nice old building excellent parking excellent restaurant and food Wifi not brilliant NO PHONE COVERAGE so if you need to be in contact with other people this is not the place for you. Accommodation - single room very very very small, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear your comments. Our single rooms are exactly as advertised and, generally speaking, are viewed as excellent value for money. With regret, none of my staff can recall a guest leaving part way through their stay and I have no record of a guest with your name, so we are unable to comment on the suggestion... More 

UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having read the reviews I was really looking forward to my stay at the White Hart but what a disappointment. Travelling alone on business I had opted for the (only?) single room but, with hindsight, this was probably a mistake. 1) First Impression:- I was greeted on arrival by the bar manager who took me across to my room which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Our two Single Rooms are as advertised on our website and are generally praised for being comfortable and good value. It is a disappointment to us that you did not find them so. More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

These guys have prioritised their food offer - the restaurant is staffed by serious chefs working in view of the restaurant through neatly designed arches. It's great to see the kitchen working so well and lovely food emerging! What a treat. The fish is bang on lovely. The breakfast hollandaise on poached haddock light and lemony perfection. Foodie fabulousness. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Great praise - we love it! Thank you for a super review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights, Friday and Saturday with 2 dogs as was competing in a dog agility show in Newbury. Arrived late on the Friday however the staff were very helpful. Room was large and spacious, shower excellent. We ate there on the Saturday evening and the food was excellent. One of our party had a slight issue but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you, and the dogs, again soon. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We stayed overnight after a long and tiring drive. The double bedroom was really clean with everything you could wish for. Pristine white linen and a really comfy bed. Bathroom great and loads of huge towels. An outside area per room was a nice touch.Our dog was made welcome also and lots of water bowls outside for her.There is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

We came for my girlfriend grandad birthday everything started a bit strange since since we called in advance to book a table with a dog and when we arrive one of the employees didn't want to let him in, so after we finally manage to get the dog in and our drinks we seat down and this very nice Greek... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

We receive many reviews, and take criticism when it is due, but this is utterly unbalanced. No member of my staff would ever make the comment you have attributed to my chef - and the kitchen cannot be overheard from the restaurant. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your burger and, as you brought this to our attention... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

I had to undergo an Open University examination in Newbury and decided not to risk problems on the M4 motorway and go down the night before, and do a bit of late revision at the same time. The White Hart Inn seemed perfect. It's small, just eight rooms, and in the countryside about 5 miles outside Newbury itself. It's located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

We do hope the exam went well! Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you generally liked our traditional country inn but take on board you comments, particularly about properly draining the poached eggs. We do hope to see you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamstead Marshall
2.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Vineyard At Stockcross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.1 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN West Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay