We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Hamstead Marshall B&Bs / inns

The White Hart Inn

4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Hamstead Marshall, Newbury RG20 0HW, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The White Hart Inn to your Saves list
The White Hart Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
78%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
ClaireH1708 Bournemouth, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (107)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    22
    8
    9
    6
See reviews for
20
38
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the white hart last Friday on our way to Oxford. The feeling you get when you arrive from not only the fantastic welcome from the staff but the setting is wonderful. Our room bedroom one was wonderful with a really friendly ambience. We loved all the little things that made the stay better from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked a one night stay for visit to the racecourse and we couldn't recommend a better place to stay. The people are extremely friendly and helpful, room was clean, comfortable and very nice. Decent size bathroom and shower, modern and clean. Will be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted you had a great stay - just what we aim for! See you again soon. More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a superb little Inn. We booked a mid-week stay and think we have found a little gem in the countryside close to Newbury. Cottage rooms beautifully decorated, with ours looking over the lovely garden. Bar area is contemporary in style and very welcoming. We booked dinner and were very impressed with the quality and presentation. Special mention to General... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Fantastic! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay - just as you should. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had sadly been at another hotel (an hour away) which was disappointing. We needed a room for 2 adults and 1 child. The White Hart was perfect. Super friendly staff, great breakfast (included) and incredible value. Dinner was amazing, as well. Highly recommend this place to stay or eat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review of your stay with us. Now you have found us, come again soon! More

birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had a fabulous stay here, the food the service absolutely superb, the room was lovely but in need of a new bathroom, but it did not spoilt our stay. We had a lovely chat to the chef next morning of whom told us about a restaurant in Bournemouth to try called the Crab, of which we did and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of The White Hart Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More

Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had to break off our journey mid-way to Wales and this turned out to be the perfect place. Lovely setting, comfortable rooms and excellent value, topped up by a delicious full English breakfast. We will definitely be going back when we have the opportubity

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your delightful review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stop-over and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More

Berkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

The White Hart is making names for itself with it's food and service, we have been twice since the new manager moved in and it's such a pleasant and friendly Inn that it's my chosen destination for a relaxing spritzer and tasty meal. Superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your super review. We're so pleased we are your top spot! We look forward to seeing you again soon. More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just returned from a short weekend break at this hotel , really pleased with it , excellent food , lovely rooms , very friendly staff ,they couldn't do enough for us, we had a lovely room (8) , couldn't fault it at all , it was clean spacious , cosy , perfect for a peaceful romantic break . Meals were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of the whole team, thank you for your super review of your stay at The White Hart Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More

llanddulas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Good food,although portion sizes were very small especially breakfast...service was also slow...excellent quality bed/towels etc...annexe rooms ground floor..clean...bathroom clean but poor shower..as pet friendly places are difficult to find I would stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

Thank for your review. We do, indeed, welcome well-behaved pets. I am very surprised at your comment about breakfast, which we aim to be generous and we very much encourage guests to have exactly what they want. Thank you for bringing a shortfall to our attention. It is only with feedback, such as yours, that we can pick up issues... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The main pub was very nice and I had a great evening meal on my 1st night. The MAJOR disappointment was the room, which was in an attached building which looked like it used to be an old utility building. Regrettably the standard of the main place has not been followed through to the rooms at all, which were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you didn't like your room. Our Single Rooms are, as advertised and in the photos, en suite rooms for single occupancy, located in an historic converted barn. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The White Hart Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Inn

Address: Hamstead Marshall, Newbury RG20 0HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury > Hamstead Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Newbury

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
16th-century coaching inn located in the historic village of Hamstead Marshall, The White Hart Inn is a 10-minute drive from both Newbury and Hungerford.Open throughout the day from 11.00am, The White Hart Inn offers you a warm welcome and all the comforts of a traditional country inn, including outstanding pub food “classics”, fantastic beers and wines and eight delightfully comfortable bedrooms. Food and drink features locally sourced and free-range produce, wherever possible, making the best use of seasonal availability.With simple décor and a modern bathroom, each room also has a flat-screen TV and facilities for making tea and coffee. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the building. A classic full English breakfast is provided each morning in the charming and relaxed inn.Heathrow Airport is around 45 minutes’ drive from The White Hart Inn. Both Highclere Castle and Donnington Castle are a few miles away, and The Living Rainforest is about 10 miles ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Hart Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer