We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colony South

7401 Surratts Road, Clinton, MD 20735
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Colony South
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    24
    21
    18
    12
See reviews for
29
12
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place looks ok at first glance,but is really in need of work. The bathtub faucet was seriously loose, the buttons on the phone for various services did not work, the coffee (from those little one serving pre-measured packets) tasted like slightly flavored water. Internet was very slow, no high-def TV on a high def TV. The hook on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I will let you know everything and then plan accordingly. I decided to plan my 2015 family reunion at Colony South Hotel, Clinton Md because in the 1990's I use to be a fitness center member and in 2009 I my mom's birthday party and had family stay here and then when my mom passed in 2010, I had family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Already TakenMD, Thank you for your comments about your recent stay here. But in reviewing your complaint, the basis for your dissatisfaction is that you did not honor the terms of the contract you signed and that we sold to you in good faith. We always adhere to the terms outlined in the group agreements we offer and that... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I just wanted to stay somewhere where we could visit Chesapeake beach the next day and happened to come across this hotel. It was very clean, and we had a nice peaceful stay. Only thing I didn't like was that they put a $100 hold on your card with out even letting me know until after we're... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Ashley W, Thanks for your nice comments about your stay at the Colony South. We do try to offer a great value here and glad that you enjoyed your visit. Please come back soon. Sincerely, Fernando Mayol General Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well, it was my fear that booking a hotel for such a low price would indicate low standards, and it was. The hotel lobby, hallways and rooms were dark, either management is conserving energy or hiding something. I felt like I was stepping back into time with all the old furniture and green curtains in the room. The only thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Sheryl O, Thanks for noting your comments about your stay with us. Our hotel facility is a more traditional property and we have invested a sizable amount of capital in the last three years, which reflects our commitment to our continues success. We are a AAA 3 Diamond property and have been since the recent renovations and I welcome... More 

Travelers are raving about these Clinton hotels

Brooksville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed two nights, 3 days, arrived on a Thursday afternoon not quite sure what to expect. (after reading several poor and mediocre reviews). We checked in, the front desk was welcoming and advised us of the $100 misc. fee hold on our card to be refunded within 4-5 business days after check out (which I was aware of via reading... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear CEOpissandmoan, I appreciate the time you took to note your comments about your stay at the Colony South Hotel and delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I hope you come back and visit us again soon. Feel free to contact me anytime, in the meantime, if I may be of service. Thanks. Sincerely, Fernando Mayol General Manager More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A company I was working for booked this hotel for several people to work on a highly important project. I checked in first with dozens of people for 6 major family reunions. I requested a 'quiet' room and was given one on the third floor in the back which I thought would be great. The hallway carpets hadn't been vacuumed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Travel_Hints, Thank you for taking time to note your comments about your experience here at the Colony South Hotel. I regret and apologize that your visit was certainly not as we would intend and note representative of the typical guest experience. If some of our staff was rude, that is inexcusable and I have addressed your comments with all... More 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel from 7/23/2015 to 7/26/2015 and my overall experience was not good. they overbooked and had people waiting on rooms. When my group arrived our room was not ready and we had to wait 3 hours. They did not accommodate my handicap friend. They put her room on the second floor far away from the elevator.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Dana L, Thank you for taking time to note your comments about your recent stay at the Colony South Hotel. I apologize for the poor experience you had here, but can assure you that it is certainly not representative of our typical guest visit. Our intention is to offer great value to all of our guests and as a... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I attended a family reunion at this establishment on July 17-19. The hotel staff is quite pleasant. I did not stay overnight at this facility but attended two events. The parking lot is crowded and dark; the pool was overcrowded; the food was average (except for the grits); the public restroom is dilapidated; the banquet room was not conducive for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear USCGamecocks, Thanks for the nice comments you noted about your recent visit to the Colony South. Though you didn't stay with us, your experience as a guest and customer is very important to us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the Decoy Lounge and the live music we offered. The Hotel is busy on weekends and sometimes we cater... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

My fiance family use this hotel for their reunion. We were all scattered through the hotel instead of all together. The hotel itself was nice and cozy, Zane the young man at the front desk was very polite and helpful however, we had problems with room key, no hot water one night, closet door the couldn't open and the elevator... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Tonya S, Thanks for your nice comments about your recent stay at the Colony South Hotel. As you mentioned, there are weekends, particularly in July, when we host Family Reunions as our main base of business. We also cater to competing interests where we have our local clientele and visiting guests on weekends, when we are usually very busy.... More 

Washington, District of Columbia, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

I was feeling low and wanted to do something special for myself. I decided travelling far would not be a good ride and did a local hotel. I have passed by on many occasions and always think let's try it out. Well I did and I was very happy with the results. Tyrone the front desk person was very helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Leanorah T, Thank you for your nice comments about the Colony South Hotel and your recent visit here. I am glad that you found us to be a quiet respite from your daily routines and were able to enjoy your stay here. Please come back soon. Best regards, Fernando Mayol General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at Andrews AFB
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Clinton at Joint Base Andrews
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Camp Springs/Andrews AFB
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC East - Andrews AFB
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Upper Marlboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay