We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colony South

7401 Surratts Road, Clinton, MD 20735
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colony South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colony South
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    16
    13
    5
See reviews for
18
10
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you are coming by the metro take advantage of the free shuttle pickup as it will save you a $25 cab ride. The driver is a very nice and friendly gentlemen. The rooms are modern and large. They have especially nice bathrooms. The hotel has two restaurants and a night club for entertainment in the evening. The food that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dahlonega, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good solid 'B+" hotel. Room and property clean, staff friendly. Breakfast nice. Convenient to Walmart (next exit), Metro (5.5 miles), mall (10 miles). Hotel is beginning to show a little bit of age, especially the microwaves and refrigerators, and the door locks on the patio could be more secure. Also, a 'quiet please' sign would be nice on the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Mikey865, Thanks for your nice comments about your stay at the Colony South Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and see the value in our property. Please come back soon and I look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Fernando Mayol General Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I always keep a "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door when I stay at hotels. Well somebody swiped mine from the door, so the housekeepers came in and cleaned the room when I was away. I come back to find that an entire bag of dental floss was missing from the bathroom sink. Completely unacceptable that they can't hire... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Scott W, Thank you for noting your comments about your recent visit to The Colony South Hotel. Your claimed loss is something we take very seriously and have researched the issue you raise. We pride ourselves on offering our guests a safe home away from home. If you were not made to feel that way, we have fallen short... More 

Upper Marlboro, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed overnight in the executive suite after my birthday party that was held at their Decoy Lounge. The Party was outstanding with live entertainment and DJ. My overnight stay was excellent with very friendly staff and a nice ambiance. The next day my party and I enjoyed their Sunday Brunch at the Wayfarer Restaurant which included live Jazz and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Hi Sabrina W. Thank you for staying with us and hosting your party here. I'm delighted that you had a great time and hope you come back often. We appreciate your positive comments. Sincerely, Fernando Mayol General Manager More 

Manchester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We made arrangements to stay at the Colony South based upon its proximity to the Show Place Arena in Upper Marlboro MD. Each time the weather was bad and the parking lot and outdoor walking surfaces were treacherous. The staff was friendly each time, the rooms are adequate for an overnight stay, one of our stays included a breakfast which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear John M, Thanks for staying with us recently and noting your comments about your experience. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you and your family back soon. We are always working hard to improve our services and facility and know that you will see marked improvements with each successive visit. Sincerely, Fernando Mayol... More 

Bowie, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at the locations many times, but it's getting worst each stay. They increased the incidental fee, its now $100. The check in was friendly and efficient, but everything turned bad there after. The hall way carpet smells, hotel is outdated and tired. I had to changed rooms at midnight with 6 bags of luggage, because of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear heavenlycreation2, Thank you for taking time to write your recent comments about your stay at the Colony South Hotel. I am sorry that we didn't meet you expectations and regret that you had a negative experience. The issues you mention of rudeness are never acceptable and they have been dealt with severely. In the meantime, I do hope that... More 

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We had to book an overnight stay at the last minute. The room was clean - and comfy. The staff were friendly and very helpful... but that is where the positives end. I was a little upset that they tried to charge me an extra $12 for my son to eat at the (mediocre) breakfast buffet. I originally booked for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Seigmanfamily, Thank you for noting your comments about your stay at the Colony South Hotel. However, your comments are completely inaccurate and misleading. You booked your reservations contrary to the sporting group's requirement to book through their housing bureau, through Orbitz.com and for ONLY THREE adults with breakfast. Had you booked through your housing bureau, breakfast for 4 would... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Although the itself property is (just) ok, it looks much nicer in the photo. Took at least 5 minutes of running the water in the bathtub before I got hot water to come through for a shower, and never had hot water in the sink despite. Be advised that they charge your credit card the full amount of your stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Mary A, Thanks for taking time to note your comments about the Colony South. Prince Georges County, in Maryland prohibits smoking in any public building and most hotels companies also prohibit smoking on their premises in consideration of most of their guests. The credit requirements for registration are clearly posted on all of the Internet Reservation Channels and at... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015 via mobile

There is not enough space to write an accurate review of this horrible place. Brown water coming out of our shower in the evening, and lukewarm, almost cold water in the morning. The desk responded by saying that we were the only one complaining about water at that time, but was the talk of the hotel in the hallways and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear "Travel Agent" Monica D, Thank you for you comments. Please feel free to contact me directly anytime about your recent experience at The Colony South Hotel, as I would like the opportunity to make things right and change your perception of our property. What you describe is not an experience we would intend for any guest. And I apologize... More 

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015 via mobile

Rooms are very clean. Check in smooth, polite and professional. Needed a roll away and on an extremely busy night received it quickly. Room booked for 4 but only 3 towels. Beds not comfortable. Pillows fine. There is a night club in the hotel which made parking rough have no idea why this cheerleading venue thought it was a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Hi Robyn P, Thanks for your nice comments about your visit to The Colony South Hotel. We enjoyed having your group with us. Some of the folks in your group did break away and seemed to enjoy our Hotel Bar where we have live music and great bands on weekends. Please come back another time and I would see that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question