We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colony South

7401 Surratts Road, Clinton, MD 20735
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colony South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colony South
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    22
    18
    15
    9
See reviews for
23
10
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in hotel 4 nights at the end of June. I booked this hotel because it is located within 30 minutes drive to downtown of Washington. We had a two double beds room which was a fair size. Room was clean however carpet definitely require attention. Good size and clean bathroom with nice counter top. Flat screen tv with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Hi Russ R, Thanks for your comments and recommendations following your recent visit to the Colony South Hotel. I am glad that your visit was pleasant and comfortable and I am also grateful to receive your constructive comments to help us improve on your next visit. The carpets are something being addressed currently and with urgency. We are replacing carpets... More 

Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

As so called "Walk in"-Guests, we stayed there for one night which was more than enough. We arrived at 9pm what was obviously too late for the woman at the reception to be still friendly at that time. She was rude and gave us absolutely no sign of being welcomed. The wifi in the room was really slow. When we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Mattia P, Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to note your comments about your recent visit to the Colony South Hotel. You mention that the staff members you encountered were not welcoming and even rude. I apologize for that, as it is completely unacceptable at our hotel and in our industry. I realize you traveled... More 

Travelers are raving about these Clinton hotels

Kingman, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there for 3 nights while on a group trip or I would have definitely moved hotels if I could. Every day the hotel would deactivate our room keys so after a long day we would have to trek back to the front desk and wait in line to get a new key. One day I went and asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear sfmarbury, Thank you for your comments about your recent stay here at The Colony South. I am sorry that your visit certainly didn't go as we would have intended and I apologize to you for the inconveniences you suffered. The issues you raise are indeed taken seriously and acted upon. We do try to continually improve. I ask that... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nothing that great but nothing that bad. This hotel had great food and a great convention center. We loved the heated pool and despite it being small the gym was good as well. This is a great hotel for a convention. However, the hotel was out of date and needed to be updated. Our room key in room 212 did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear J M, I appreciate your favorable review and comments about our Colony South Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the pool and balcony room along with our food. The few recommendations you make are very good and positive and we will address them enthusiastically. In the meantime, I hope to welcome you back soon, Best, Fernando Mayol General... More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been staying at this hotel with my family for every single family reunion for the past decade (and then some). Service has always been great. The people are courteous and very respectful. The rooms are meticulously clean and comfortable enough to fit five people! It's always nice to come back here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear bukopaudan, Thanks for your nice comments about your recent visit with your family. July is now Family Reunion Month in our area and we welcome families to visit our hotel. I am delighted that you are a return guest and hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, Fernando Mayol General Manager More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was not as bad as all the reviews. I do agree that the noise level was high but they cater to weddings and there was one going on while we were there. The only complaint that I would have is that the carpet needed cleaning. There were lots of unknown stains on the floor. Other than that it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear KBS412, Thanks for taking time to write your comments about your recent visit to The Colony South Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back soon. The item you raise about carpeting is well taken and we will ensure that it is addressed with urgency and corrected. Best regards, Fernando Mayol General... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile

Awful, awful, awful hotel. The whole place smells like putrid Chinese food on a hot, muggy day. I called room service just before their scheduled closing time and was told they had been shut down for ten minutes. Ordered a pizza. Hotel would not let delivery driver bring to my room. Explained to ride, arrogant, condescending front desk clerk that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Semifluent, Thank you for taking time to note your comments about your recent visit to the Colony South Hotel. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this visit, which was not what we would intend nor our typical guest experience. However, we DO NOT allow strangers including pizza delivery drivers to walk our guest floors... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Save your money unless you want to stay at an OLD outdated hotel. Door: I had to have maintenance let me in. She said "you have to lift up, pull out, then use your card" Huh! Noise: There was a constant noise that sounded like machinery, yet no one could tell me what it was or cared to. The walls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear JazzFan23, I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on your recent visit to the Colony South Hotel. We do value your comments and review them for areas where we can improve. The points you raise have been addressed and we have undergone some very noticeable renovations in the last 2 years, including all guest rooms and public... More 

China, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

We recently stayed at this establishment on a class trip. The hotel itself is nice and clean but our experience with the staff was totally unprofessional and frustrating. We got the the hotel around 8pm after a 12 hour drive with 65 students and 20 adults. The kids were really looking forward to going down to the pool which many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear kfrizzle3, I am sorry that your daughter misplaced her expensive boots on your recent visit to the Colony South Hotel. I also am sorry that our management did not get back to you on that issue, which is something that I have addressed very seriously with our staff. We cannot assume responsibility for lost items, but we can certainly... More 

Clinton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

My experience at the Colony South was by far the worst experience I have ever had at any type of hotel. The hotel is old, run down and reeks of cigarettes. The staff was unaccommodating and rude. My friend rented a suit for the night and had no hot water, when she asked for assistance from the front desk they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Tierney C, Thank you for taking time to write your comments about your recent stay at The Colony South Hotel. Though I regret and apologize that your stay did not go as we would intend, I maintain that your comments are not accurately portrayed and you neglect to mention many of the issues surrounding your visit, which had more... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay