We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colony South

3.0 of 5 7401 Surratts Road, Clinton, MD 20735
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colony South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colony South
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    16
    13
    4
See reviews for
18
10
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Manchester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars NEW

We made arrangements to stay at the Colony South based upon its proximity to the Show Place Arena in Upper Marlboro MD. Each time the weather was bad and the parking lot and outdoor walking surfaces were treacherous. The staff was friendly each time, the rooms are adequate for an overnight stay, one of our stays included a breakfast which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie, Maryland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I have stayed at the locations many times, but it's getting worst each stay. They increased the incidental fee, its now $100. The check in was friendly and efficient, but everything turned bad there after. The hall way carpet smells, hotel is outdated and tired. I had to changed rooms at midnight with 6 bags of luggage, because of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had to book an overnight stay at the last minute. The room was clean - and comfy. The staff were friendly and very helpful... but that is where the positives end. I was a little upset that they tried to charge me an extra $12 for my son to eat at the (mediocre) breakfast buffet. I originally booked for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Seigmanfamily, Thank you for noting your comments about your stay at the Colony South Hotel. However, your comments are completely inaccurate and misleading. You booked your reservations contrary to the sporting group's requirement to book through their housing bureau, through Orbitz.com and for ONLY THREE adults with breakfast. Had you booked through your housing bureau, breakfast for 4 would... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the itself property is (just) ok, it looks much nicer in the photo. Took at least 5 minutes of running the water in the bathtub before I got hot water to come through for a shower, and never had hot water in the sink despite. Be advised that they charge your credit card the full amount of your stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Mary A, Thanks for taking time to note your comments about the Colony South. Prince Georges County, in Maryland prohibits smoking in any public building and most hotels companies also prohibit smoking on their premises in consideration of most of their guests. The credit requirements for registration are clearly posted on all of the Internet Reservation Channels and at... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There is not enough space to write an accurate review of this horrible place. Brown water coming out of our shower in the evening, and lukewarm, almost cold water in the morning. The desk responded by saying that we were the only one complaining about water at that time, but was the talk of the hotel in the hallways and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear "Travel Agent" Monica D, Thank you for you comments. Please feel free to contact me directly anytime about your recent experience at The Colony South Hotel, as I would like the opportunity to make things right and change your perception of our property. What you describe is not an experience we would intend for any guest. And I apologize... More 

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are very clean. Check in smooth, polite and professional. Needed a roll away and on an extremely busy night received it quickly. Room booked for 4 but only 3 towels. Beds not comfortable. Pillows fine. There is a night club in the hotel which made parking rough have no idea why this cheerleading venue thought it was a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Hi Robyn P, Thanks for your nice comments about your visit to The Colony South Hotel. We enjoyed having your group with us. Some of the folks in your group did break away and seemed to enjoy our Hotel Bar where we have live music and great bands on weekends. Please come back another time and I would see that... More 

Westminster, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

I just got home from a one night stay at Colony South with my daughter. She was in a cheer competition and we stayed due to the forecast for snow at our house. We arrived around 8pm Friday. 1. Front desk check in- the highlight of the experience. Friendly employees. Smooth without a lot of fuss. 2. Dinner - the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Cheermom 1986, Thank you for your detailed comments about your experience at The Colony South. To me, they seem appropriate and fair and I want you to know that we do indeed have competing interests at times but have taken strong actions to address this issue. We take your comments to heart and so act on them. We have... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

I should have known as soon as we pulled into the parking lot and there was a sherrif vehicle there. We walked into the lobby to a long line with ONE girl checking people in. The lobby was filled with extremely loud dance club music...and we checked in after 10pm. There is a night club with the hotel...which explains the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear dgeb 1981, Thanks for taking time to note your comments about your recent visit. I certainly give our guests the benefit of the doubt, but must insist that your experience is not representative of our hotel. I apologize to you for the poor time you had here and ask that you give us another chance to be of service.... More 

Clinton, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

I stayed at the Colony South for one night of peace and quiet, Left room to get ice and came back and the keys did not work. I later had company in my room who had been smoking before they came to visit me at the hotel, the next day I checked my bank statement and they had charged $250... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Chris W, Your comments speak for themselves, but regrettably inaccurate. When you registered you signed a registration card acknowledging our No Smoking policy. Security verified that there were indeed smokers in your room and simply enforced our written and established policy. We are a hotel for non-smokers and protect that. Thank you. Fernando Mayol General Manager More 

Plainfield, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Although I was disappointed that the lounge made last call at 11pm and was supposed at 2am. Overall, a nice experience and I would stay again. The customer service was excellent. However, there were times that you could not get an answer when calling the front desk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear EMBJAY, Thanks for your positive comments about your visit to The Colony South. Please come back soon and often. If I can help you with your plans, feel free to contact me, would love the opportunity to meet. Take care, Fernando Mayol General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Colony South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony South

Address: 7401 Surratts Road, Clinton, MD 20735
Location: United States > Maryland > Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony South 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Colony South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony South Clinton
Colony South Hotel Clinton

17 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay