We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colony South

3.0 of 5 7401 Surratts Road, Clinton, MD 20735
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colony South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colony South
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
14
9
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Seattle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

The room and was clean and the bed comfortable. Staff was helpful each time we had a question. It's a bit of a drive if you are wanting to visit DC but at the right time of day not a bad commute. The property is old and could use a major renovation. However the property is well maintained and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hudson Valley NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here while we attended a wedding nearby. Check-in was standard; the woman at the front desk was very friendly. Our room was a bit dated, but clean. The bed was reasonably comfortable... we had a room with two doubles (the price was right! Haha), and they felt the same to me, but my wife... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

(Disclaimer: My business is customer service and I am always on the hunt for it- so please keep in mind that it colors everything I do!) Just completed a business trip where I stayed at the Colony South due to the convenience of location for business purpose. The hotel is spacious and clean and in need of an update in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 via mobile

The management, security, front desk staff, and customer service was horrible. The security put me out of the hotel at 3 am for no reason. I was forced to pack my things with the door open. My money was never refunded and the management never called me back. Millicent is the manager and she is by far the rudest person... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Nocolonysouth, Thank you for taking time to note your comments about your recent stay at the Colony South Hotel. Regrettably, you completely misrepresent and mischaracterize the events surrounding your visit. You neglect to mention your involvement in the illicit party taking place in your room against our hotel policy and how you and your friends disturbed our guests who... More 

Southington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We checked in late in the evening & very extremely tired from the drive. There was no one in the lobby aside from us and the 3 hotel employees at the time. The hubs is a little hard of hearing & I said our room number out loud. The employee, who's name started with a T (I think) reprimanded me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear AnnupL, I appreciate your comments about your recent stay at The Colony South. Please know that we do take them seriously and to heart and will act upon them with urgency. I apologize to you that your stay did not go exactly as we would intend and hope that you could give us another opportunity to be of service.... More 

Clinton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Not sure if it was the sheets or what happened but after the first night of staying there I broke out into a really bad rash all over my chest. The hotel is very outdated and in serious need of an upgrade. I will say when we reported a leak in the bathroom tub someone came immediately to fix it.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Josephine A, Thank you for your recent patronage and for taking time to note your experience. We will research our laundry and linen products to make sure we're in compliance with proper softeners and cleaning agents. Please feel free to contact me, as I would like to have you return as my guest and I can assure a more... More 

Oxon Hill, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Friendly Staff, room was alright. Got there saw the room, lamp shade was torn instead of replacing it they put it toward the back. Thought maybe they cleaned the floor since there were spots all over the floor. Woke up next morning same spots. Rugs needed to be cleaned. Went to bathroom and water was still dripping in the bathtub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear linda b, Thank you for taking the time to note your comments about our hotel. I appreciate your openness in giving us an opportunity to correct the deficiencies you discovered in your guest room. Please know that we do indeed take your comments very seriously and to heart. But I would like to invite you back, as my guest,... More 

Wetumpka, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Traveled to D.C. for vacation. We enjoyed our stay. Kudos to Nicole in the café for making the best breakfast sandwiches East of the Mississippi. We had a slight problem with a noisy youth group for which the management moved and upgraded our room. The staff went out of their way to make us feel important and welcome. Bravo. As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Ben B, Thanks for your nice comments about your recent visit to The Colony South Hotel. I am delighted that we were able to accommodate your needs. In the meantime, I look forward to your return visit. Take care, Fernando Mayol General Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Booked this on Hotwire for a cousin's wedding. Stayed for one night. Hotel was bigger than what hotel pics show. Grand big lobby but the room was old-smelling and the overall look was somewhat dated too. Not sure if this was the look the hotel was going for. We got there at midnight coming from Canada and the check-in took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear JJ4454, Thank you for taking time to note your comments about your recent visit to The Colony South Hotel. I appreciate your perspectives and detail in letting us know how you enjoyed your visit and areas where we may improve. We take your comments to heart and will act on them with urgency. We look forward to a repeat... More 

Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

The hotel was picked because of our tour reservations that were nearby. The hotel really needs to be updated. The room was clean, but the sofa and chairs had seen better times. The staff was friendly and willing to help out with directions etc... The complimentary breakfast did not offer a lot of choices, and needed some yogurt and fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review

Dear Norb K, Thanks for comments about your recent stay here. I am delighted that you found value in our property and our staff courteous and helpful. We do offer a breakfast inclusive option when making reservations, which includes a full American Breakfast or the choice of 7 items from our menu. Please try us again and feel free to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Colony South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony South

Address: 7401 Surratts Road, Clinton, MD 20735
Location: United States > Maryland > Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony South 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Colony South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony South Clinton
Colony South Hotel Clinton

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay