We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Cheverly hotels

Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway

3.0 of 5 Motel   |   5811 Annapolis Road/I-295, Cheverly, MD 20784
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
58%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cheverly
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Jleahy11 Columbus, Ohio
  • Overview
  • Reviews (350)
  • Photos (11)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (36)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    106
    79
    42
    33
See reviews for
151
52
24
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway
See the most recent reviews
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

HoJo was a cheap way to see DC due to the distance. It would take about 40 minutes from the time we left the hotel until we were in the city. The free shuttle to the Metro was great. The hotel conditions were ok. We were really disappointed that the pool was drained when it was the last week of... More

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Guest - Thank you for selecting the Howard Johnson as your place to stay while visiting Washington DC. We are pleased to see you had a pleasant experience and found the location a good fit for you. We are sorry to disappoint our guests about the pool, it did close early July and will not be reopening due to... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed again in the Howard Johnson Cheverley. Overall, pleasant stay and I want to acknowledge that there is progress there (have been here a number of times). Every time they have attended to something new. This time it was a new microwave in the room. Outstanding is the poor gym maintenance and now the leaking swimming pool (I hope I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Hi Chris; Very nice to see you again. I cannot thank you enough for your continued honest and candid review of the hotel. You have let us know over the years where we excel with service and value and where we were a bit flawed. We are pleased to see you acknowledge the efforts are being made to improve where... More

Lancaster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Worst experience ever! The lobby was nice and clean, but once you start walking into the hotel rooms there was a funky smell. The carpets were visibly dirty and disgusting. I had no phone in my room so I had to walked into the lobby to ask for extra bed sheets and towels, and when I did, the rude guy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Guest; I appreciate you reaching out and expressing your dissatisfaction with your recent stay. I am sorry that we failed to provide you the attention you deserved when inquiring about extra amenities and services. We know we cannot take back your first impressions of the hotel and please know that your comments have been shared with the General Manager.... More

Wilson, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

After searching for a hotel that would meet our needs and price range, we settled on this hotel. Upon arrival, they attempted to charge us again for the room, although it was already paid for. We had requested a top floor, but were informed they were all taken. After a brief discussion, we got our keys and were off to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Mark; I appreciate you taking the time to share what took place and hope you will accept my sincere apologies for the many inconvenience you faced. We pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional guest experience and we dropped the ball on your stay and let you and ourselves down. We will take immediate steps to correct the communication breakdown... More

Capitol Heights, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a nice, clean hotel and it's easily accessible to the Baltimore-Washington Parkway which leads either to Washington, D.C. or north to the Baltimore, Maryland Area. The staff is very courteous and we had a pleasant stay for two nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Jackie; Thank you for the very kind review and positive feedback for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and a good location for your travel needs. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to the DC area. Sincerely, Sarah Howard Johnson... More

North Tonawanda, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Howard Johnson saved our vacation! We were driven out of our campground by ticks and they graciously allowed us to park our very large camper in their lot for 3 days while we finished our vacation there. The staff was very courteous, Russhawn at the front desk was wonderful!! Every staff there was very responsive. The room (512) was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl; Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review, we are humbled by the kind remarks for the hotel, staff and services. We are so glad the Howard Johnson Washington DC/Cheverly was able to save your vacation and you had an enjoyable time with us. I'm glad you found the hotel had every amenity you needed. Thank you again... More

Hollister, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is definitely one of the better Howard Johnson's. First, the location is great. It is surrounded by greenery and pretty well sheltered from the surrounding roads. Just down the street are several restaurants and there is a metro stop to go to DC nearby. The pool is HUGE (for a hotel). It's 7 feet deep in the deep end... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Amy; Thank you so much for the wonderful, detailed review of the Howard Johnson Washington DC North/Cheverly. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your trip with us. Sounds like you had a delightful time at the hotel and the accommodations were a good fit for you and your family. I am sorry to see that housekeeping... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My wife, mother-in-law, my wife's aunt and my 5 children booked 3 separate rooms at this hotel weeks in advance. Upon arriving and getting our rooms, we found out that my room (which I would share with my two sons) had no air conditioning. I called down to the front desk for someone to come check on the air conditioner.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Jesse; Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. Our guests expect a clean, comfortable room at a good value, and should a issue arise, for the hotel to handle it quickly, fairly and courteously. We did not manage your situation very well and I would like to personally apologize for the issues you faced as our guests.... More

Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Front desk very professional and accommodating...he fit my family and I in the room of our choice on a early Friday morning. Everything was great until we got to the room and noticed multiple open condom wrappers around the bed. Looks like the room was never thoroughly vacuumed or cleaned. My sons took their shoes off and their socks were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear vedaveda; Thank you for taking the time to share you trip with us. We'll take 4 stars! We appreciate the compliments for staff and services. We know that there is room for improvement and work hard to maintain the highest of brand standards and keep our guests happy. We do apologize for the condition of the guest room and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway

Address: 5811 Annapolis Road/I-295, Cheverly, MD 20784
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cheverly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Washington Dc North/Bw Parkway Hotel Cheverly
Howard Johnson Cheverly
Cheverly Howard Johnson

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC North / BW Parkway hotel, located just off the Baltimore-Washington Parkway near Interstate 95. Our Cheverly hotel near University of Maryland College Park offers the comforts and conveniences you expect at a reliable value. Start your morning with a smile and help yourself to free Rise & Dine continental breakfast with hot items. Take advantage of our free Wi-Fi Internet access, on-site fitness center, business facilities, in-room refrigerators, 24-hour front desk, shuttle service and free large-vehicle parking. Join us at Fratelli's Italian Restaurant on-site at our Cheverly hotel for a tasty meal at your convenience. Let our free shuttle service escort you to and from the D.C. Metro Cheverly Station and Prince George's Hospital Center. Our hotel in Cheverly features a lobby business center with copy and fax service. We also offer meeting and banquet facilities for your next event. Our Cheverly hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown Washington, DC. Make sure to see iconic landmarks like Jefferson Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument and the White House. Pay respects to those who served the country at Vietnam Memorial and World War II Memorial. Take the family to Six Flags America, or learn something exciting at Smithsonian Institute. Sports fan will appreciate our close proximity to the local venues including, FedEx Field to watch a Washington Redskins football game, RFK Stadium to watch D.C. United play soccer, or Verizon Center for a Wizards basketball game. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
155

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer