We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway

Hotel website
Hotel deals
5811 Annapolis Road/I-295, Cheverly, MD 20784
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Arnita S Washington DC, District of Columbia
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    125
    96
    48
    35
See reviews for
171
64
29
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (406)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (114)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Burlington, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The advert claimed the room rate was $140 but offered to me for $89.99 but it was a basement room. Regular priced room (2 queen beds) was $99, so how come a basement room with 2 full beds costs $140. It was a fraudulent advertisement and I will never trust Howard johnson. Up till now, I am yet to receive... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Oludare; Thank you for taking the time to write a review and express your concerns regarding your stay. I am sorry your were disappointed with your stay. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention, I've asked the hotel to research this a bit further to better determine what may have happened with your rate. Because our rates vary... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love this hotel and everything about it i love it so much i can never find myself to get up out of the comfortable bed to get breakfast

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Arnita; Thank you for the kind words and positive review for us. We really appreciate seeing that the Howard Johnson Cheverly had everything you needed for a comfortable and pleasant stay. I am delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to the area. Thank... More 

Culpepper
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only problem housekeepers do not speak english. Can not answer questions send you to front deskl

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Robin; Thank you for taking the time to share your trip with us. While we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay an appreciate the feedback, your comments regarding our staff caught my attention. Sorry for any inconvenience, we do ask the staff to let us know any time our guests need assistance that they cannot immediately... More 

Capitol Heights, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I checked in my room cause my furnace broke. Even though i checked into the hotel to get out the cold it seems i just wasted my money to stay in the child. We changed rooms and they both were cold. we had the heat on high and the room never warmed. The breakfast in the morning wasn't really great.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Marcellus; Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your recent stay. The comfort of our guests is our top priority and we sincerely apologize to you for the unpleasant experience you had. Due to the severe cold temperatures we were having issues with the heat and cable, and while we are working on this to... More 

Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

It's not easy to find a good value hotel in Washington DC, so I explored some more budget-friendly options around and discovered this Howard Johnson Inn. I wasn't expecting too much - and I got almost what I expected. No more, no less. Not too comfortable, not too clean (but not dirty either), not too much of a service, some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Thomasbg; Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with me. We always strive to provide 100% guest satisfaction and guest comfort is very important to us. I see we did not exceed your expectations as we had hoped, but met them. I am pleased to read that overall you had a pleasant experience. The outdoor... More 

Lanham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

I had a wonderful time after the snafu with my reservations not being able to be filled. The Manager called the GM and took good care of me.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Tiffany; I appreciate you taking the time to share your review with me. Thank you for the kind words for our staff and manager, I am very pleased to see that we quickly turned the situation around for you and you had a great stay. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Sarah... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

This hotel will keep you coming back! rooms are spacious and tidy and staff are extremely friendly. Most importantly, pricing is just right. I had planned to stay there for a week, I ended up spending 3 weeks. The Hotel Manager Here, Mr Todd, is such a great guy who added triple value to my memorable stay. I will surely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Tripdemsy; Thank you for the very kind remarks and positive feedback for us. I appreciate your review and pleased to see that you had an enjoyable time with us. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and I am delighted to see that Todd stood out to you as delivering on our promise for an exceptional customer experience. I'll... More 

Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

It was dark and not very modern looking. I was also very dissapointed with the state of the bathroom. It appeared to be "clean" but there was rust on the shower fixtures, the bathtub slip pad was tattered, and and there was a heavy layer of dust on the air return. Room was clean and comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Jill; I'd like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with me. We take great pride in our hotel and our guest comfort is very important to us. While I am pleased to see you found the room clean and comfortable, I am disappointed to read the condition of the bathroom was not up... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question