We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
5811 Annapolis Road/I-295, Cheverly, MD 20784
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
tkm908 Capitol Heights, Maryland
Add Photo Write a Review

439 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    108
    129
    109
    56
    37
See reviews for
192
66
31
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (439)
  • Mar-May only
    (105)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (151)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (114)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Belle Mead, New Jersey
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I did not like the hotel at all. I paid almost 125 dollar for king room and It was really bad. Room was smelly and not good. Bathrooms are not clean. It is not worth 125. I will give max 40 dollar for that.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Benny; Thank you for reaching out to us and leaving your review. Guest comfort and satisfaction is very important to us and truly apologize that you were dissatisfied with your stay. We will share your comments with appropriate managers to ensure these items are addressed and corrected moving forward. We cannot take back this experience, we can only ask... More 

Saugerties, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the second 1/2 of our vacation after the first 1/2 at Virginia Beach. Picked the hotel for its proximity to D.C. and six flags . The staff was pleasant and helpful , though the place is run down , the air conditioner didn't work even after being " repaired " . At some point the building was remodeled... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear JCH; We appreciate you selecting our hotel as your place to stay while visiting the local area. We are sorry to read you were not entirely satisfied with your stay and thank you for taking the time to share this with us. With your valuable feedback we can continue to improve upon our services. I will share your comments... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was horrible because we found out the pool was closed when we arrived. The hotel had a terrible smell and the elevator was filthy. I could not believe this was happening since this was our first time in DC.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Guests; Thank you for your feedback and for being our guests. We sincerely apologize for your disappointing stay and any misinformation you received or read regarding the outdoor pool. It was closed and we no longer advertised it after July 2014. The hotel has finalized our plans and looking for some very exciting changes coming in 2016, one of... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Positives. The motel is cheap and is based in a nice and fairly quiet area (Cheverly). The wifi is complimentary as is the breakfast, there are plenty of parking spaces available and a free shuttle service to Cheverly train station runs between the motel and the station on the hour (you have to book this at reception). The cost of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Michael; Thank you for your business and sharing your review with us. We appreciate you letting us know what you did and did not like about your stay, with this valuable feedback we can continue to improve upon our services. I am sorry for any delay or issues with the shuttle, I have brought that to the attention of... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this HoJo in 1971, and choose it immediately as a place to stay for a family trip to D.C. While I missed the iconic separate HoJo office building with the orange triangle roof, and my wife was not happy that the pool was no longer in use, we liked the continental breakfast (which to our happy surprise... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Actingman; Thank you for being our guests and sharing your review. It is a delight to welcome you back after all these years. While the tell tale orange roof is a thing of the past, the Howard Johnson brand continues to be an iconic and treasured place to stay, thank you for the nostalgic review. There have been and... More 

Cincinnati
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms smell musty. Breakfast wasn't bad with some hot items. However there was limited seating when an entire bus load of people all tried to eat at once. We ended up eating in our room sitting on edge of beds. Front desk was friendly. It is a good 30 minutes via metro to the Smithsonian area. Family of five cost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Carl; Thank you for your review and feedback for us. I appreciate your honest review. Please accept our apologies regarding breakfast, typically we host group breakfast in our meeting rooms to allow our guests ample space to sit and enjoy breakfast, I will share this with sales so we make sure to continue this practice whenever possible to ensure... More 

West Newton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I travel to DC to visit my daughter I stay at the Cheverly Howard Johnson hotel. As always it is a quiet, comfortable short stay. On my prior visit I made comment on the consistency of the scrambled eggs, and on my most recent trip I was happy to find that comment had been addressed. I will continue to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Stephen; Wonderful to see you again, thank you for a long time repeat guest of the Howard Johnson Cheverly. We do read and listen to all feedback we receive and implement the changes and suggestions that we can, even if it takes a little while sometimes. I am very pleased to see that you are back to enjoying our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheverly
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway
3.0 mi away
Metro Points Hotel - Washington North
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
FairBridge Inn & Suites
FairBridge Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Capitol Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express I-95 Beltway-Largo
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Carrollton Landover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay