We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driftwood Inn

609 Washington Avenue, Chestertown, MD 21620
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Driftwood Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    1
    2
    4
    16
See reviews for
7
6
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To be blunt this Inn needs help! Although the room was serviced every day, the floor was never vacuumed. Towels washed(I hoped) were still dirty. As if someone had used them to clean there car. Prior to my arrival, somewhere in time the room was broken into. The chain had been screwed back in place but, the door frame had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We booked a room through Trip Advisor, received a confirmation and thought all was well. We arrived at the hotel after driving for 4 hours only to find out that yes they did receive and see our booking, however they did not have any rooms available. Not sure why in this day and age that this would happen, or why... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Williamson, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

It is right on the beach. With pets and sand, the tile floors make sense. There is some noise from the highway, so bring a white noise machine. Everything was very clean. The bathroom we had was tiny but adequate & staff was liberal with fresh towels. The sounds from fountains & birds made for a nice escape.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I'm still traumatized by this place. If there were any other places to stay, we would have left, but we were there for work and since everything else was booked up we had no choice. Looking back, sleeping in the car would have been better if the immediate area wasn't so questionable (Chestertown Historic District is nice, however). The lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate that you’ve taken the time to point out the possibility of a pest problem. We take all reports of lacking service and issues with amenities and accommodations seriously, particularly those that you have raised. Further, any issue related to insects is promptly addressed through professional treatments right away. Your comments help us to see where we need to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chestertown hotels

Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Warning: this review will be 100% true, from the point of view of a world traveler (and not a 1st class world traveler, let me assure you of that. More like cheap motel check in at the middle of the night world traveler). This hotel is a nightmare. When we first pulled into the parking lot towards the back, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations of quality service, accommodations and hospitality. Thank you so much for your thorough review of our hotel's policies, layout, and accommodations. We value your opinion and suggestions for improvement as these comments help us to improve upon the guest experience at our... More 

Edgewater, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

After avoiding the bed on the first night of a business trip due to the curly hairs I found hidden within it, I also discovered the need to share the restroom with insects. I didn't find the time to cancel the remainder of my stay until after their standard check-out times. They refused to refund me for the second night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away. Thank you for sharing your experience so that we can benefit from your perspective of our hospitality and services. Thank you for sharing your honest... More 

Collierville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My mother and I took a trip to chestertown for a music festival that I'm attending, and we arrived at the driftwood inn to stay for a night (we reserved a room about a month ago). As soon as we got there, we drove around the back to check the area out, and the back side is extremely run down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away. Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review regarding your most recent stay. It is our ultimate goal to... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was absurd. Desk clerk was rude, there were two women out front at 11PM who explained we needed to check the sheets prior to sleeping because of the "action". The room was horrible. Our reservation was not held by the office, and we had to "take what's left" as it was explained to us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

I regret to read that you found this experience to be so unsatisfactory due to issues which should have been promptly attended to. I hope you will accept our sincerest apologies for the service that you did not receive regarding the necessity of correcting such issues as quickly as possible. I assure you that each issue mentioned is being investigated... More 

New Castle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I was in Chestertown for an event this past weekend and had booked this motel a few weeks earlier. My wife drove down (about 45 miles) to join me on Saturday night but when she walked into the room she was put off by the smell of stale cigarette smoke and the condition of the room. We both decided she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for taking time to write a review and to point out the possibility of a pest problem. We take all reports of lacking service and issues with amenities and accommodations seriously, particularly those that you have raised. Of course, we did make a point of ordering an unscheduled visit and a thorough treatment for any insects that... More 

Fryeburg, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This motel has a computerized card that you have to slide to get into your room. It was an insecure feeling to never know how many times I would have to slide my card for the door of my motel room to open. At one point I had to go the office to tell the owner I was locked out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay