We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Chestertown B&Bs / inns

Driftwood Inn

609 Washington Avenue, Chestertown, MD 21620
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Driftwood Inn to your Saves list
Driftwood Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
13%
Ranked #11 of 12 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    4
    15
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I'm still traumatized by this place. If there were any other places to stay, we would have left, but we were there for work and since everything else was booked up we had no choice. Looking back, sleeping in the car would have been better if the immediate area wasn't so questionable (Chestertown Historic District is nice, however). The lobby... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate that you’ve taken the time to point out the possibility of a pest problem. We take all reports of lacking service and issues with amenities and accommodations seriously, particularly those that you have raised. Further, any issue related to insects is promptly addressed through professional treatments right away. Your comments help us to see where we need to... More

Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Warning: this review will be 100% true, from the point of view of a world traveler (and not a 1st class world traveler, let me assure you of that. More like cheap motel check in at the middle of the night world traveler). This hotel is a nightmare. When we first pulled into the parking lot towards the back, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations of quality service, accommodations and hospitality. Thank you so much for your thorough review of our hotel's policies, layout, and accommodations. We value your opinion and suggestions for improvement as these comments help us to improve upon the guest experience at our... More

Edgewater, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

After avoiding the bed on the first night of a business trip due to the curly hairs I found hidden within it, I also discovered the need to share the restroom with insects. I didn't find the time to cancel the remainder of my stay until after their standard check-out times. They refused to refund me for the second night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away. Thank you for sharing your experience so that we can benefit from your perspective of our hospitality and services. Thank you for sharing your honest... More

Collierville, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

My mother and I took a trip to chestertown for a music festival that I'm attending, and we arrived at the driftwood inn to stay for a night (we reserved a room about a month ago). As soon as we got there, we drove around the back to check the area out, and the back side is extremely run down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away. Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review regarding your most recent stay. It is our ultimate goal to... More

1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was absurd. Desk clerk was rude, there were two women out front at 11PM who explained we needed to check the sheets prior to sleeping because of the "action". The room was horrible. Our reservation was not held by the office, and we had to "take what's left" as it was explained to us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

I regret to read that you found this experience to be so unsatisfactory due to issues which should have been promptly attended to. I hope you will accept our sincerest apologies for the service that you did not receive regarding the necessity of correcting such issues as quickly as possible. I assure you that each issue mentioned is being investigated... More

New Castle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I was in Chestertown for an event this past weekend and had booked this motel a few weeks earlier. My wife drove down (about 45 miles) to join me on Saturday night but when she walked into the room she was put off by the smell of stale cigarette smoke and the condition of the room. We both decided she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for taking time to write a review and to point out the possibility of a pest problem. We take all reports of lacking service and issues with amenities and accommodations seriously, particularly those that you have raised. Of course, we did make a point of ordering an unscheduled visit and a thorough treatment for any insects that... More

Fryeburg, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This motel has a computerized card that you have to slide to get into your room. It was an insecure feeling to never know how many times I would have to slide my card for the door of my motel room to open. At one point I had to go the office to tell the owner I was locked out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riverdale
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I read the really bad reviews here and was kind of nervous about our upcoming trip. But the room was fine--a little shabby, but clean and quiet. The A/C worked well. The pool was empty, but a pool wasn't advertised, so that wasn't a big disappointment. The desk clerk was rather brusque but did what he needed to do. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thankfully, my husband and I did not stay here and we were able to find suitable lodging in a nearby town. We were in town for a triathlon and had booked a room online a few months prior to the race. When we arrived at the motel, the manager hesitated to give me back my credit card and personal identification.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Never again!!! I booked this room for my wife, two kids and myself to stay in for a triathlon the next day in Rock Hall, they really were the last resort. Reception service was very discourteous, it was like I was interrupting them to get checked in. I had e-mailed a few weeks earlier for a late checkout and gotten... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Driftwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn

Address: 609 Washington Avenue, Chestertown, MD 21620
Location: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Chestertown with
any amenities