We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driftwood Inn

609 Washington Avenue, Chestertown, MD 21620
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Driftwood Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    1
    2
    5
    17
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Bohemia, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was not that great a few years ago but this year hit rock bottom. Bed bugs, 2 rooms from the group didn't have tvs. Filthy carpeting and mold. Not good stay away. It's sad because it's convenient and very reasonable maybe too reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well. There was mold in the shower. You need to hold the handle down for 20 seconds to flush the toilet. The carpet is pulled up and just laying there in spots. My husbands back is in pain from the beds. We booked a one queen bed room and got something else. I called ahead to ask if they had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Chestertown hotels

Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

To be blunt this Inn needs help! Although the room was serviced every day, the floor was never vacuumed. Towels washed(I hoped) were still dirty. As if someone had used them to clean there car. Prior to my arrival, somewhere in time the room was broken into. The chain had been screwed back in place but, the door frame had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We booked a room through Trip Advisor, received a confirmation and thought all was well. We arrived at the hotel after driving for 4 hours only to find out that yes they did receive and see our booking, however they did not have any rooms available. Not sure why in this day and age that this would happen, or why... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Williamson, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

It is right on the beach. With pets and sand, the tile floors make sense. There is some noise from the highway, so bring a white noise machine. Everything was very clean. The bathroom we had was tiny but adequate & staff was liberal with fresh towels. The sounds from fountains & birds made for a nice escape.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I'm still traumatized by this place. If there were any other places to stay, we would have left, but we were there for work and since everything else was booked up we had no choice. Looking back, sleeping in the car would have been better if the immediate area wasn't so questionable (Chestertown Historic District is nice, however). The lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate that you’ve taken the time to point out the possibility of a pest problem. We take all reports of lacking service and issues with amenities and accommodations seriously, particularly those that you have raised. Further, any issue related to insects is promptly addressed through professional treatments right away. Your comments help us to see where we need to... More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Warning: this review will be 100% true, from the point of view of a world traveler (and not a 1st class world traveler, let me assure you of that. More like cheap motel check in at the middle of the night world traveler). This hotel is a nightmare. When we first pulled into the parking lot towards the back, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations of quality service, accommodations and hospitality. Thank you so much for your thorough review of our hotel's policies, layout, and accommodations. We value your opinion and suggestions for improvement as these comments help us to improve upon the guest experience at our... More 

Edgewater, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

After avoiding the bed on the first night of a business trip due to the curly hairs I found hidden within it, I also discovered the need to share the restroom with insects. I didn't find the time to cancel the remainder of my stay until after their standard check-out times. They refused to refund me for the second night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away. Thank you for sharing your experience so that we can benefit from your perspective of our hospitality and services. Thank you for sharing your honest... More 

Collierville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My mother and I took a trip to chestertown for a music festival that I'm attending, and we arrived at the driftwood inn to stay for a night (we reserved a room about a month ago). As soon as we got there, we drove around the back to check the area out, and the back side is extremely run down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away. Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review regarding your most recent stay. It is our ultimate goal to... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was absurd. Desk clerk was rude, there were two women out front at 11PM who explained we needed to check the sheets prior to sleeping because of the "action". The room was horrible. Our reservation was not held by the office, and we had to "take what's left" as it was explained to us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jay D, Guest Relations Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

I regret to read that you found this experience to be so unsatisfactory due to issues which should have been promptly attended to. I hope you will accept our sincerest apologies for the service that you did not receive regarding the necessity of correcting such issues as quickly as possible. I assure you that each issue mentioned is being investigated... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
19.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 5 in Grasonville
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
1.6 mi away
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
John Stam House
John Stam House
#5 of 12 in Chestertown
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay