We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa

Certificate of Excellence
4165 Mears Ave, Chesapeake Beach, MD 20732
Hotel amenities
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Kim A
Add Photo

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    151
    132
    66
    21
    20
See reviews for
90
158
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (390)
  • Mar-May only
    (90)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (163)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Blowing Rock, NC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here while attending a wedding in the area. Had I come with the intent to "be" at a "resort" I would have been even more annoyed. The property is overpriced and approaching run down. The website makes it look much bigger than it is. The fake beach is about the size of my living room and there's only a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two nights midweek. The hotel was quiet and since we were on the 3rd floor we slept with the sliding door open so we could hear the surf. Very relaxing. We were on the back side of the building opposite the deck. There were only a few minuses. The mattresses were flat and hard. The linens were great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I attended a Phil Vasser concert here in late May, 2015. The concert was on a Thursday night and even though we live locally, we decided to take off the following Friday and we checked in to the hotel and stayed overnight. So, let me review things in order. 1. We had dinner at the "Rod &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a really nice stay. Everything was perfect. Even the weather on Memorial Day. Also won some money at the slot machines while waiting for dinner. Took my grandson to the beach. He had a great time. Coming back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mitchellville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I live in Maryland and travel a lot. We are always arranging travel for others and don't take time to make plans for ourselves. We have been to "Rod and Reel" several times with our family and wondered what it would be like to stay at the hotel. Our anniversary was on May 29th, so I called... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Relaxing time. Wish I could have stayed longer but cost prohibitive. Hotel was a little pricey. Should include admission to the evening entertainment and discounts to the water park. With the multitude of restaurants in the area discounts should be offered to them as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On May 31, 2015 I went to the front desk of the hotel to book a room for June 19, 2015. I was told that the hotel was booked solid. I then told the clerk that I was just here on Friday, May 29, 2015 and King Suites were available. The clerk replied - well yes we have two of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacey S, General Manager at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Hello Kim B. I am truly sorry you had a negative experience when trying to make a reservation. I can assure you that the employee was following policy as we do not guarantee a specific room. We do guarantee a room type which she had done and noted in the reservation including your request to be on the marina side.... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was in a large room with hot tub and a sitting room, I found the accommodations comfortable. After first night I begged housekeeping to remove the plastic mattress protector from my bed, as it crunched and crinkled and sweated all night. They took care of it right away. Room would have been much more comfortable with ceiling fan, as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacey S, General Manager at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Hello, We truly appreciate your time in providing us with a review of your recent stay! I am pleased to see the staff was able to take care of your needs immediately to ensure a comfortable stay for you. We hope you will come back to see us again soon! Thank you, Stacey Schuhardt More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Barely an hour away from the Beltway, this pretty property gave us a very relaxing stay. The restaurant staff was conducting a lot of training on Memorial Day weekend 2015 but everyone was attentive and friendly. The hotel room was large and comfortable. In the lobby there is free coffee all day and doughnuts in the AM and cookies in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacey S, General Manager at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for visiting us and sharing your experience! Yes, we are just a short drive away from DC and yet, on the bay. We are continually looking for ways to improve our product and our service and appreciate our guests' feedback. We hope you will visit us again! Our concert series has started and we have an exciting... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Best to get water view. We got partial view and it was a view of the roof with the air conditioning units. You could see a sliver of the water between the units. Also, free wifi, but it wasn't working at all when we were there. Service at the front desk was courteous and professional. The restaurants also had great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stacey S, General Manager at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us! We truly appreciate the feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience of the wifi not working well during your stay. We were in the process of having it upgraded during your visit and we did experience periods where it was not working. We hope you will be back to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay