We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Cambridge hotels

Americas Best Value Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2831 Ocean Gateway, Cambridge, MD 21613
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
11%
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Cambridge
  • Reviews (27)
  • Photos (7)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    4
    7
    13
See reviews for
3
7
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for the night on our way to ocean city. It's Not that bad here. The wifi is fast. The room wasn't horrible. Ok for the night. Nice size refrigerator and microwave. Liquor/wine/beer store attached to the hotel as well as a pizza place. Wal mart and other fast food places within walking distance. Overall not bad for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is adequate, but not in great condition. Had a problem with the shower control; a tiny distance between "warm" and "blistering hot," and it was tricky getting the water shut all the way off. My room looked clean and smelled clean - maybe a bit of a disinfectant smell. I didn't use the television or the WiFi. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is disgusting. Filthy. Smells foul. Do not stay here...keep driving. Truly one of the nastiest places I have ever seen. We bought pillows and blankets from the nearby Walmart to avoid touching the filth. Because my friend had booked on-line they refused to refund her money so we could leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvicambridge, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kelly W, On behalf of the staff of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to personally apologize for the negative experience you had while staying with us. Please know that we have recently hired and trained new housekeepers. We hope that these changes will improve the overall guest experience. Regards, Anup-Manager Americas Best Value Inn-Cambridge MD More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

By far NOT the worst motel!! To all the primadonna critics on this motel.....DUH ITS NOT THE HILTON!! The hilton is not reasonably priced!! When you dont have much money or your company is not paying for your room this place is a blessing. Our room was clean, the bed comfy enough, free wifi, shampoo and soap, tv with loads... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvicambridge, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear princessjada1, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our clean rooms and reasonable prices. We hope that you stay with us again or at another one of our Americas Best Value Inns located across the Country. Regards, Anup-Manager Americas Best Value Inn-Cambridge MD More

Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ac was broke, mold in all the rooms and mildew smell in all rooms. Dog piss everywhere. Not one person was staying there. Left right away. Would rather sleep in my car. Called the health department and they said there is nothing they can do because there is no pool or food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvicambridge, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dave, Thank you for sharing a review with us. Sorry for taking so long to respond. I am concerned about the issues you experienced during your stay in 2013. We try our best to provide each of our guests with an enjoyable stay. Unfortunately, we were not able to accommodate you. We are taking steps to prevent these issues... More

Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Because the Hyatt was sold out and I arrived too late to do anything about it, I was forced to stay at this awful place. There is no redeeming quality to this place and I think the board of health should visit and shut it down. Drunks and what appeared to be drug users where running all over the property... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
abvicambridge, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Brian F, I appreciate the fact that you took time to share your experience with us. Sorry for taking so long to respond. Please know that we have made some improvements to our facilities in the past few years. We have added new bedding, painting, carpeting, bathroom floors and mirrors, along with furniture in some rooms. We hope that... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Smelled horrible, loud vacuuming in hallway at 6am, bathroom a mess. Terrible overall

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I got the room online for $75. and when i got there he charged me $82. They have a HORRIBLE policy so that you have 10 minutes to check out your room and if you dont like it you will get refunded. i was 20 minutes late. Complained that the sheets had food on them, light was flickering all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

They only had smoking rooms availible. The bathroom light kept flickering the two days i was there. There was a fight the second night at 3:30am. Called front desk.and.they acted like i was disturbing them. Called at like 7am that same morning requesting a little later checkout since i was woke in the.middle of.the.night. i was told by front desk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We booked this hotel when staying for a long weekend in Cambridge, Maryland the weekend of April 14th. We have stayed in hotels in cambridge a dozen times and had never stayed here. We booked it because of great rate and the 24 hour pool. WELL... the pool was under major construction and was empty and from the postings of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 2831 Ocean Gateway, Cambridge, MD 21613
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Cambridge, conveniently located off of US-50. Cambridge is one of the oldest towns in Maryland and has a rich history dating back to 1684 when the town was first settled. Area attractions include Shoal Creek Mall, Dorchester County Historical Society, Harriet Tubman Museum, Blackwater National Wildlife Refuge, and the University of Maryland. After a fun day in Cambridge, guests can enjoy a meal at one of the local restaurants such as Arby's, Peking House, and Canvasback Restaurant and Pub. Our 24-hour front desk staff is here to help make our hotel your home away from home while visiting the Cambridge area. Guests are treated to free coffee available in the lobby daily from 6am-8pm. We also offer the convenience of an on-site guest laundromat. Guest rooms feature free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, and cable TV with HBO. At Americas Best Value Inn Cambridge, we've got you covered from the time you hit the road until the time your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer