We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

American Inn of Bethesda

Hotel website
8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
American Inn of Bethesda
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
American Inn of Bethesda
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    71
    84
    39
    14
    23
See reviews for
46
24
36
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (231)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
There are newer reviews for American Inn of Bethesda
See the most recent reviews
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Nice hotel, staff at the front desk was super friendly. Not too far from the subway, although we ended up using our car. Not giving 5 starts for the lack of parking. Had to park at a public parking lot and feed the meter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We understand that the parking on-site at the hotel can be limited and this can be unsettling for some guests. We make every effort to ease the concerns of our guests by ensuring that our on-site parking is reserved for hotel guests only and also by subsidizing the cost of metered parking in the public lot... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Nice staff, but some weird people stay here. free breakfast is a plus, but not great. They try to please all guests, but its really a motel. Clean rooms. do not spend more then $75 per night. Any more than that and it would be a rip-off. Easy walk to the redline metro.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I regret your less than favorable reflection of our property. We accommodate a diverse clientele from varied backgrounds and nationalities. I'm sorry that you were put off by our eclectic mix of guests. Our hotel is a special and unique place where we do, in fact, attempt to create a pleasant and value-filled experience for all... More 

Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Bethesda is one of the most expensive places in the US, and your money does not go a long way here. This hotel is not even that close to the Metro, or to downtown Bethesda, so it's not clear why you would stay here. If you do, make sure to get a room in the new wing. The old one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I'm sorry to hear that you were not completely happy with your last stay with us. For clarification, our hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Bethesda Metro station, a 15 minute walk to the NIH campus and the Bethesda Row Shopping district. We are also within a 2 block radius of a vast number... More 

East Village, New York City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

It's a banal business hotel, with one of the most depressing breakfast spreads I've seen and barely-functional wifi. What was really shocking was the following: I checked in for a 2-night stay. During the day after my first night they called me to say that they had overbooked the hotel and that they needed to move me to another hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you were so unhappy with your stay. We make all efforts to accommodate the desire of our guests to stay beyond their established checkout date. I apologize that we were not able to accommodate your expectation during this visit as our hotel was sold out over the extra night for which you wished to stay. I hope... More 

Grand Junction, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Great place, close to everything, Lots of bang for the buck., clean rooms , All staff well versed on N.I.H. protocol.( Ismael, Donelle ,and Jose are top notch ) As well very informed on other area hospitals and attraction , They will bend over backwards to help there clients , and meet there needs..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Our staff is committed to providing a high level of service to our guests. I'm happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. We appreciate your business and look to your next visit. More 

Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

My family and I wanted to visit Washington, DC, but could not afford staying in downtown DC. After speaking to a sales representative,I reserved a room for three at the American Inn of Bethesda. The price was great, and so was the location. But, it does not end there... the facilities were much better looking than expected, and the service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

We appreciate your business. Thanks your stay and your comments. More 

Barrington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

I have been staying at the American Inn for years while going to NIH. I have always had an excellent experience there. This year I arrived late at night after flight cancellations due to a blizzard back home in Nova Scotia. Jose graciously fielded many calls from my concerned wife when I didn't arrive when expected. I especially enjoy their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm glad that Jose attended to your needs and made you feel at home. I hope that we can continue to be your place to stay in Bethesda. We look forward to your return. More 

Paarl, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Excellent service and close to hotel. Adeline Yosephine and Ismael provided most excellent service. The location of the hotel is also perfect. Close to restaurants and also to the Metro. there is a free bus running from just behind the hotel to the town and the metro that makes it excellent. The bus comes around every 10 to 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I'm glad to hear that our staff hit the mark by providing you with a high level of service. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit. More 

Victorville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I came in for a medical study and they made my trip very nice, they also have a boom Mexican restaurant on site. Roberto at the front desk was so nice, he helped me even with free shuttles. He even kept me company with nice conv while I was waiting for my taxi,I'd definitely come back here if I get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for taking to time to post a review. I'm glad that Robert and the rest of our staff created a memorable experience for you. I hope that we can accommodate you again during your next visit to Bethesda. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

I was staying here to have close access to NIH (within walking distance). The place is very affordable, clean, excellent fast wifi, quiet with comfortable beds. Small room. Very friendly accomodating staff. Pretty much what I needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I'm glad to hear that you found our hotel to be a good quality value. I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay