We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

American Inn of Bethesda

Hotel website
8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
American Inn of Bethesda
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
American Inn of Bethesda
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    82
    38
    14
    23
See reviews for
44
22
36
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (227)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel has gone downhill since the last time I was there. Its dingier, greasy Cobb webs on the ceiling. We were above a Mexican restaurant and by the 3rd night I had had it with the mariachi music. Breakfast ok, basic. I have to say however that the staff is very nice and the location was great for our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I were in town for an even in DC and chose to stay out of the city for cost reasons. This hotel was great, and about 30 minutes total to get into the city. Very clean, staff were friendly, and the breakfast was good- your standard waffles, hardboiled eggs, muffins, sausage and potatoes. We picked a single... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jarrettsville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

To enter my room, I had to go outside the front lobby doors, through a metal gate that looks like I am going into an employee-only housekeeping storage area, and up the exterior stairs. The room was accessed from the outside. Room very dated and showing its age. Mold in the bathroom and rust on bathroom fixtures. I immediately called... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Renovation is annoying, shuttle service pick from the train station was very disappointing service was so late. No fridge in the room. Bathroom door does not have a lock, we check in as a group. Two male and a female.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I'm sorry to hear that you found our accommodations less than satisfying. All of our rooms offer an Energy Star Compliant refrigerators that were installed in 2014. I'm not sure why you experienced problems with our Shuttle Van. However, the scheduled hours for the van are 7am to 3pm Monday through Friday and advance reservations are... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was assigned this hotel by an agency, so I didn't choose it. When I checked in the room I was immediately taken aback and felt disgusted. This place is way below standard and not fitting for humans. Of course I had to immediately leave and check in at a different place that had my requirement of a decent hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I"m sorry to hear that you were not happy with our accommodations. It is our goal to provide a quality stay experience for our guests, with numerous included amenities at a good value. I regret that we were not able to create that experience for you. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feeback. I will share... More 

Brookfield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The American Inn in Bethesda MD, I have to go to the NIH monthly. I stay at the American Inn which is the closet to the Center. However that is why I originally picked them now I stay because the staff is great they always accommodate my early arrivals. I had an issue with a reservation early on and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We sincerely appreciate your continued support. I'm happy that Adeline provides you with a high level of service. We look forward to your next visit to Bethesda. More 

Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel, staff at the front desk was super friendly. Not too far from the subway, although we ended up using our car. Not giving 5 starts for the lack of parking. Had to park at a public parking lot and feed the meter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We understand that the parking on-site at the hotel can be limited and this can be unsettling for some guests. We make every effort to ease the concerns of our guests by ensuring that our on-site parking is reserved for hotel guests only and also by subsidizing the cost of metered parking in the public lot... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice staff, but some weird people stay here. free breakfast is a plus, but not great. They try to please all guests, but its really a motel. Clean rooms. do not spend more then $75 per night. Any more than that and it would be a rip-off. Easy walk to the redline metro.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I regret your less than favorable reflection of our property. We accommodate a diverse clientele from varied backgrounds and nationalities. I'm sorry that you were put off by our eclectic mix of guests. Our hotel is a special and unique place where we do, in fact, attempt to create a pleasant and value-filled experience for all... More 

Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bethesda is one of the most expensive places in the US, and your money does not go a long way here. This hotel is not even that close to the Metro, or to downtown Bethesda, so it's not clear why you would stay here. If you do, make sure to get a room in the new wing. The old one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I'm sorry to hear that you were not completely happy with your last stay with us. For clarification, our hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Bethesda Metro station, a 15 minute walk to the NIH campus and the Bethesda Row Shopping district. We are also within a 2 block radius of a vast number... More 

East Village, New York City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

It's a banal business hotel, with one of the most depressing breakfast spreads I've seen and barely-functional wifi. What was really shocking was the following: I checked in for a 2-night stay. During the day after my first night they called me to say that they had overbooked the hotel and that they needed to move me to another hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you were so unhappy with your stay. We make all efforts to accommodate the desire of our guests to stay beyond their established checkout date. I apologize that we were not able to accommodate your expectation during this visit as our hotel was sold out over the extra night for which you wished to stay. I hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay