We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Bethesda hotels

American Inn of Bethesda

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Save Saved
You added American Inn of Bethesda to your Saves list
American Inn of Bethesda
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
68%
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
kdar52 Denver, PA
  • Reviews (178)
  • Photos (10)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    65
    27
    14
    19
See reviews for
33
15
28
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, PA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here two evenings while attending a business workshop nearby. A warm and welcoming staff greeted me as I entered the lobby and thoroughly explained the Inn and its amenities which included a second to none rating for the complimentary breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hungary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel because the price was pretty good and so was the location. However the pictures on their website paint a different picture then reality. The rooms are run down and in need of restoration. Parking at the hotel was limited so we had to park across the street and pay for it. We probably wouldn't stay at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stay here for a few weeks June-July and my experience has been very positive. I warn you that this is not your super luxury hotel to spend the corporate money or to show off to your girlfriend, however, if you want a convenient location and inexpensive place to stay in DC, I highly recommend this little charm in Washington... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

June 10th to June 12th, 2014. Had to stay near NIH for test and biopsies and made reservations at the American Inn. All hotels in area were full which gives the hotel a captured audience. Very limited parking, but lady at front desk was very helpful in securing a handicap space for us. The elevator is small and dirty. Stacked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for not responding to your note. I'm not sure how you sent it to me. However, I was not aware of your observations of our hotel until reading them here on Trip Advisor. We are in the midst of a refresh of our guest rooms and public space in the hotel, which would... More

Pelham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our grandson was selected from his school in Birmingham, AL to attend the Junior National Young Leaders Conference in Bethesda, MD from June 8-13, 2014. His parents and my wife and I made reservations at the American Inn of Bethesda through AAA while our grandson was attending the Conference with his peers from across the country. We took advantage of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and hotel. We obviously achieved our goal of exceeding guest expectations with your stay. I glad to hear that you were able to take adavantage of our prime location and also our breakfast. Although on-premises parking is limited at the hotel, the public lot is very close to the hotel and... More

Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I would not stay here again. The front desk clerk seemed shady and unprofessional. Yes, I just used the word shady because it is appropriate. Carpet in room was dirty, small stains on bed sheet... I can't say with confidence that everything had been changed. The staff at the front desk forgot about my wake-up call/didn't write it down and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that we failed so miserably to provide you with adequate service and accommodations during your last stay with us. I have provided additonal service training to our staff since your last stay with us to address some of the issues you raised in this review. Obviously, unprofessional is not a characterization we strive for... More

Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The staff is super friendly and the hotel and rooms are usually clean. Never had an issue her in dozen nights or so. The hotel is older but decent.They are cheaper than the newer nicer hotels and a good value. Some of the Queen rooms are small but not bad for one person, the King rooms are definitely larger. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for your response Tom R. We appreciate your continued business and look forward to your next stay at the American Inn. More

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had a great experience at the american inn. The room is small but decorated very nicely, nice bathroom and very hospitable and helpful staff. Definitely a great value for the money!! Close to Metro and all the Bethesda shopping and restaurants. The free parking worked out fine for us even though it is limited. The breakfast was very enjoyable with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks to taking the time to talk about your experience at the American Inn. I'm glad that you found our hotel to be a good balance of quality and value. We are working hard to create memorable experiences like yours for all of our guests. Your comments have helped us to move closer to this goal. I hope that you... More

Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at the American Inn for one night and had to give a talk at the NIH. The staff was extremely helpful (especially Adeline) and I used the courtesy hotel shuttle to the NIH where the driver was very instrumental in helping me going smoothly through the security check point.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations during your visit to Bethesda. We understand how daunting the security process can be when entering NIH. So, we make every effort to prepare our guests in advance and to help them through the process at the gate. I'm happy to hear that our efforts had a positive impact on your... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at the America Inn a few weeks ago while on a business trip. It was not only rightly priced but the hospitality I received from the staff was amazing. Adeline was beyond helpful on my last day in ensuring I received items I had couriered to my room and was also kind to give us a few hours... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thank you for comments. I'm happy to hear that Adeline was so gracious and helpful. She exemplifies the level of service we strive for at the American Inn. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your return! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage American Inn of Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to American Inn of Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn of Bethesda

Address: 8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Inn of Bethesda 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your American Inn of Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
American Hotel Bethesda

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
76

See which rooms travelers prefer