We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fireside Inn & Suites

2.0 of 5 356 Main Street, Waterville, ME 04901
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fireside Inn & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fireside Inn & Suites
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    56
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
49
36
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (147)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Moultonboro
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Boy, does this place need a renovation ! P U !! Intense cinnamon odor in stairway, then a bad odor when we entered the room..Clearly management knows there's an odor by trying to cover it. (Creepy to think what they might be covering.)We thought the room looked clean and weren't prepared after a four hour drive to find another hotel.Made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write. I am sorry for the condition of the sofa-bed in your room. The sofa beds are made with clean sheets, but are rarely used. Sadly, during that down time, someone ate peanuts on the sofa and dropped some inside the couch. I am glad that Nancy attempted to rectify the situation right... More

Guelph, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Inn does everything humanly possible to accommodate their patrons. Our room was spotless and all needs met. Staff were exceptionally friendly and pleasant. We recommend this great 'find' to anyone. Thank you to management and staff in this wonderful Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am fortunate to work with people who really care about a guest's experience here. I'm glad that their dedication shows through. As others have noted, it is not a new hotel, but a dedicated staff of maintenance and housekeeping associates keep it clean and well maintained. We hope to see you again soon.... More

Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Now, I understand that there is limited competition in Waterville, ME for a good hotel, but c'mon, this 2 star motel does not deserve 4.5 stars from TripAdvisor reviewers. The property is old, the rooms need significant updating with smelly walls, carpets and bathrooms along with items falling apart. The walls and ceiling are paper thin, I could hear the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. I can imagine that loud people in the hall would sour anyone's hotel stay. I'm sorry that you didn't have the great experience that so many other tripadvisor members had here. I hope that... More

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

It would seem that they have a humidity problem...portable humidifiers in the hallways which did make the halls smell better than the room which were quite musty. Maid left a stained envelope for a tip for her "efforts". Also an envelope on the bureau for donations to a Cancer Centre w no official type documentation. Then there was a stuffed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay. I’m sorry that you didn’t like your stay. We do have a humidity issue in our hallways during the hot, sticky days of the summer. Rather than ignore the issue, we use dehumidifiers in the hallways to make our guests more comfortable. Since it is a short-lived issue,... More

Weymouth, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Every year we stay at Fireside Inn & Suites in Waterville, ME. We have been staying there for years on our way up to our summer house and coming back home. Every time we stay there Nancy at the front desk remembers our family. She is always so friendly and makes us feel like family there. Whatever we need they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write, and thank you for staying with us on the way to your summer house. I am pleased to read that you and your family have enjoyed your stays with us. Thank you too for your comment about Nancy at the front desk making you feel welcome like family. I am fortunate to... More

Millburn, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

If you're looking to find modestly priced lodging while stopping in Waterville, Maine and often rely on Hampton or Courtyard when traveling, you will do much better at the Fireside Inn. We've stayed there twice dropping off our son at a nearby camp and both times found it to be homey and as good or better than any Hampton or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. If I were writing a commercial for this property, I could not have said it better. I am pleased that your enjoyed your stay so much. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Barry Asalone General Manager More

Picton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at the Fireside Inn on our driving trip to Canada’s East Coast. 1. If you don’t mind the overpowering odour of urine (never sure if it was human or animal) then you won’t have a problem with this hotel. The hallway was the worst, with the room only slightly less unpleasant smelling. 2. To cap off the stay,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your recent visit. I am sorry about the odors you mentioned, but I am especially sorry for our timing in shampooing the carpets. We called the carpet company as soon as we noticed the odor, and asked them to come out as soon as possible. Unfortunately, they chose to do the breakfast area in the... More

Smithfield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel is in need of decor renovation, but the major problem I had was the smell. A building can be clean, but if there is an offense smell it seems unclean. The other issue we had was my husband having to go into the hall to tell teenagers to quiet down. On the pleasant side, we were greeted by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I, too am concerned when I find an odor in a building. We did call the carpet shampoo company as soon as we noticed. Sadly, our timing was less than perfect as you will see in Lorraine's comment. We have a different plan for the future. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Barry Asalone... More

Machias, Maine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

To me those three things are very important to a good stay...the room we had was, on a scale of 1 to 10, a 10 for cleanliness. The same goes for the comfort we experienced, and the staff were exceptionally hospitable. The bathroom sparkled, the linens were soft and comfy...just everything was so very nice. There was a continental breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased that you found our rooms sparkling. I'm very fortunate to have housekeeping professionals who have literally stayed with us for decades. In an industry that has high turnover, I count myself very fortunate to have these great people to work with. Thank you too for the compliments on breakfast and the comfort of... More

Lakes Region, NH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were attending a family gathering for the day so we were a 11pm check in. Traveling away fro the first time with an 19m old who has never slept in a strange place IS NOT easy and the time was so late for him the arrival whoopie pies were DELISH! and the front desk associate was very pleasant! We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and than you for the nice review. I can imagine that traveling with a young child is stressful. I'm glad that our staff made your stay more comfortable. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed our early breakfast at 05:30. We find that it helps many early risers. Again, thank you for... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites

Address: 356 Main Street, Waterville, ME 04901
Location: United States > Maine > Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn And Suites
Fireside Hotel Waterville
Waterville Best Western
Best Western Waterville Hotel
Fireside Inn & Suites Waterville, Maine

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay