We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Craignair Inn at Clark Island

Certificate of Excellence
5 Third Street, Spruce Head, ME 04859
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Craignair Inn at Clark Island
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Poland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Our room was very clean and the bed was amazingly comfortable. I have read a few other reviews and frankly, I can't see why anyone would have anything negative to say. Some complained about a shared bath...it is written on the site which rooms have this. Get a room with a private bath or don't complain! You do have a... More 

Helpful?
Thank 934ginih
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for "keeping it real" and saying how much you enjoyed the unique qualities and charm of our Inn...very true, we aren't the Park Plaza, it is an old building off the beaten path, and we do have a few bedrooms with shared bathrooms. Thank you for those reminders to our future guests--they were some of the reasons... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast with shared bathrooms. I can say we won't do that again. Also the sound insulation in this inn is not great and you can pretty much hear everything the other guests are doing and saying. Bed wasn't comfortable. Hosts were very nice. Breakfast was delicious although restaurant was closed for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine D
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm sorry if you had an unpleasant experience with the shared bathrooms--I wasn't aware of an incident or problem, so I'm guessing it was just the that you weren't accustomed to it. While we do have some rooms with shared bathrooms, the majority of them have private bathrooms. They are all well-labeled on our website... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

I think that for some people this B&B might not meet expectations but I think it's important to keep in mind this is Maine and in a fairly remote location... because of those two things I think the owners have done a decent job. The B&B is in a great location and if you're looking for a scenic/ calm/ peaceful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chicagotraveler18
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts on Craignair Inn. We find the inn scenic, calm and peaceful too! :) I don't quite follow what is meant that our guests should keep in mind that this is Maine...people come to Maine because it's..Maine, "the way life should be," We are a little remote--it's part of the charm and the reason many people... More 

Portland, OR
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

We stayed here 2 nights as we explored the coast of Maine. We chose it because it was centrally located to Rockland, Camden, Rockport, etc. The Inn is a little out of the way, but the quiet setting was perfect. The view from the main dining room was a great start to the day. The breakfasts provided were tasty, nicely... More 

Helpful?
Thank RBCS
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for helping to spread the word and we hope to see you again! Joanne and Michael More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

The rooms in the inn were once rooms for the nearby quarry workers that is with in walking distance. BTW, it is a nice short walk. The rooms can be w/w out bathrooms. Rather simple rooms that are clean. Dinning room is good. Great place to eat for both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is included. Isolated, quiet, lovely environment. Peaceful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank nlwl
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Craignair Inn. It is a quiet, lovely and peaceful environment here, as you say! We are less than 15 minutes from Rockland, 40 minutes from Camden and an hour to Boothbay, so we're off the beaten path, but not too much! We are glad you enjoyed both dinner and breakfast here, and we look... More 

Jay, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015 via mobile

The owner Joanne is lovely, and Mimi...their little dog is a doll! I booked through Groupon as a quick overnight stay enroute to The University of Maine, in Orono, and it was fine for the night. Since our booking options did not allow us to choose our room, we were disappointed in the accommodations. Room14 offers a private shower, which... More 

Helpful?
Thank AkitaBear
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of the Craignair Inn. We are glad you were able to stay with us through a Groupon. Booking through a third party is always a little tricky! We have no way of contacting our guests who book this way, as we only receive the name and dates of the stay--no phone or email to... More 

Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Craignair is a bit like going to stay with your aunt at her large house on the coast. The welcome was warm, familiar and sincere. Upstairs we went with our bags to a delightful room with a beautiful view; it was easy for us to settle in. The room, though plain, was fresh, cheerful and had a view of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank outandaboutvt
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the Craignair! We appreciate you mentioning the details like our close proximity to Port Clyde, to catch the ferry to Monhegan Island. We are just 2 hours to Portland or the Bar Harbor area, right in the heart of the Mid-Coast, and minutes from Rockland. Glad to hear you enjoyed your room and... More 

Raymond, Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

The Craignair Inn is situated on a quiet spot overlooking the tidal flats and Clark Island. The Inn is in beautiful condition and clearly the owners, Joanne and Michael, take great care to keep it that way. The rooms are well appointed. Ours had a wonderful view and I expect most rooms are similar. There are large porches perfect for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian W
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sending in a review! Room 2 is a great room--outstanding views of the ocean and Clark Island. We're glad you enjoyed breakfast and hope to have you back again soon! Joanne and Michael More 

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

I'm from the UK so I can only judge this establishment by my experience of UK and European hotels and B&Bs. We paid top dollar for our room compared with anywhere I have stayed ever for the level of comfort and amenities on offer but we did stay over Labour Day so a high season rate. The rooms were comfortable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CarolandRobin D
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave your review of Craignair Inn. I'm sorry there wasn't better communication regarding many of the points you made. I would have been happy to discuss them, given the opportunity. US Cellular and Verizon are the only cell service providers that work in the area so we do have a clearly marked cell phone... More 

Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

Joanne and Michael, thank you for a perfect introduction to Maine hospitality with class and taste! Your house was so quaint and warm, with a great atmosphere. When I walked in to the dining room late in the evening to hear Big Band music, it was so perfect! The restaurant meals as well as the 'breakfast' portion of the B&B... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wesley B
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

It was great to have you here! Thank you for your kind words--I'll definitely share them with our staff. We know there are lots of choices up and down Mid-Coast Maine so we truly appreciate you supporting small businesses and for choosing to stay with us! All the best, Joanne More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spruce Head
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
24.2 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
11.3 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#1 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
10.0 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
11.2 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#4 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay