We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Southwest Harbor B&Bs / inns

The Moorings Inn Waterfront

133 Shore Rd., Route 102-102A, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (79)
  • Photos (42)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
The Moorings Inn Waterfront
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    17
    11
    6
    11
See reviews for
10
51
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Be prepared to lose your deposit if you have to cancel. I had read the refund policy - no refunds unless the accommodation was rented to others - and was bothered by it, but we booked anyway as we loved the location. We had booked an apartment for a week in September 2013 but my wife was diagnosed with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have you ever had a complaint/concern about a hotel and requested a call back from the manager? Did the manager ever bypass returning your call and instead call your boyfriend to tell him that you're banned from coming to the hotel? Sound weird? Keep reading... This place demands payment in full upfront and only gives refunds if they can rebook... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Moorings Inn location is perfect - on the quiet side, right on the water, excellent views. Very picturesque. It is easy to get to Northeast and Bar Harbor and the many park entrances. From the time I called through our visit, the hosts were very accommodating and provided great restaurant and attraction suggestions for our short visit. I agree... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very nice stay at the moorings in June. Great room, watching the boats in the harbor, incredible sunsets , friendly staff. Here's the but...no breakfast except supermarket donuts (individually wrapped, right from the package!)! Or some boxed cereal. And no dining area anyway. We ended up buying fresh scones from the local bakery (How hard would that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

Our continental breakfast is designed for our Inn guests. As half of the accommodations on the property have their own kitchen or kitchenette. In an effort to provide lower rates up until June 15th we do not offer a continental breakfast until that time. For our off season travelers that may not be traveling with any food we provide donuts,... More

Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Yes, some of the decor is dated/like what you'd see at your Grandma's, but that's not why you'd come here. You come for the view: right on the water, with a bunch of boats moored nearby. Very picturesque Maine. We stayed in Lookout Front which had water views from several windows, as well as a screened in porch. This room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

Our preferred payment by check supports sustaining a small family business, while maintaining an affordable rate for our guests. The pre-payment by check is a reflection of our locally generational family owned business. The Moorings Inn has been owned by the King family for over 50 years. Unfortunately in today's structure credit cards can really affect the bottom line of... More

Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our visit to The Moorings Inn was way too short, but sweet. For starters, we were upgraded to a great room looking over the bay. The manager, Nicole, and Vicky were very helpful when we had a personal business crisis and had to scan/print/fax documents right there. Perhaps the icing was the staff sharing great hikes - usually only known... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to help connect the dots for both business & pleasure. Hope you have the opportunity to return and relax even longer. Happy vacationing to you! More

Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We only spent one day/night at the Moorings Inn with weather that was rainy and dismal, which was unfortunate as the location and view would have been perfect for our final night in beautiful Maine. We had the Red Jacket room which was comfortable with a nice screened porch attached. The staff at the desk both in the evening and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Red Jacket guest, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Moorings Inn. We do our best to serve and meet the needs of our guests. We want all to relax and enjoy their stay. On a more picturesque day our ocean view lawn with lounging furniture does serve as our dining room. On the other weather... More

Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I had a great time at Moorings Inn while traveling for work. The manager is super sweet, and the rooms are great (and affordable!). It is not far from many of the popular trails in Acadia, and much more inexpensive than staying in Bar Harbor. and there are some very good restaurants nearby. I definitely plan to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

We would love to have you back. Thank you for being our guests, and embracing the treasures of the Quietside. Yes, plenty of Acadia in any direction from here. We are lucky to have such a wide variety of restaurants in this little local area. As our cottages are available all year round I've been organizing the restaurant lists for... More

Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

For an 18th century Captain's Home, I think this is doing pretty well. We stayed in Spindrift, and we had a lovely picture window to welcome the day each morning, and watch the sunset each night. The only thing I didn't really like about the room was that the bathroom was not private (no door). Next year, we're shooting for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

We enjoyed being your hosts. Your appreciation of our relaxed yet comfortable setting is what we stride for. Thank you for your thoughts. Yes, Spindrift suite does have a unique layout. There is a door from the bedroom to enter the bathroom/sitting room, which provides privacy. This sitting room is also the travel way to enter your private deck. We... More

York, Maine
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights on our honeymoon, Sep 29-Oct 1. After a leisurely ride up the Maine coast we were very excited when we reached the Moorings Inn. After alot of time researching Mt. Desert Island, I decided on the Pilot Cottage and couldn't have been more happy. I talked to the manager, Nichole, on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

Congratulations to you both! We could not be more touched that your momentous celebration was so fulfilling. Love your photos; especially the sunrises, and the one with the crows on the arbor. What a lovely "Mainer" eye you have. We look forward to being a retreat/anniversary home away from home for you. Best to you both. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Moorings Inn Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Moorings Inn Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Inn Waterfront

Address: 133 Shore Rd., Route 102-102A, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Southwest Harbor
Also Known As:
The Moorings Inn Waterfront Hotel Manset
The Moorings Inn Waterfront Maine/Southwest Harbor

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Number of rooms
24

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added The Moorings Inn Waterfront to your Saves list
    ;