We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Southwest Harbor B&Bs / inns

The Moorings Inn Waterfront

Save Saved
You added The Moorings Inn Waterfront to your Saves list
133 Shore Rd., Route 102-102A, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (83)
  • Photos (45)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
The Moorings Inn Waterfront
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    11
    6
    12
See reviews for
11
54
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay, got great restaurant advice (Thurston's Lobster rolls are amazing), and watched the sunrise and sunset from our balcony. Breakfast was fresh and fine. Between a B&B and Inn...privacy and helpful staff, but larger.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Astoria, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing location, water views! The rooms are just okay...We stayed in the Monarch, where there was a bed, chair, closet and a bathroom. The bathroom is tiny, but for a night or two will be okay. The breakfast consisted of a very decent coffee, muffins, cheese, salami, mini bagels and watermelon. It held us over until lunchtime, where we stuffed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BEVERLY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We happened upon this wonderful B&B by accident while driving through Arcadia National Park. We got the last available room and it was magnificent! A picture window with the harbor was the view from our comfortable king-sized bed. We also had a sitting room/dressingroom and bath and our own private balcony with Victorian table and chairs. There is a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

It is our pleasure that you had such a wonderful stay. And, yes all accommodations have their own private full bath. We hope your travels bring you back this way too. More

Hershey, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Be prepared to lose your deposit if you have to cancel. I had read the refund policy - no refunds unless the accommodation was rented to others - and was bothered by it, but we booked anyway as we loved the location. We had booked an apartment for a week in September 2013 but my wife was diagnosed with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

We wish the best to you and your wife on her health recovery. Anytime a room does not re-rent we are able to offer a credit for a future stay. With no deadline to that credit. As long as there is enough of a heads up, as I believe to be the case with your reservation. Please reach out to... More

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Have you ever had a complaint/concern about a hotel and requested a call back from the manager? Did the manager ever bypass returning your call and instead call your boyfriend to tell him that you're banned from coming to the hotel? Sound weird? Keep reading... This place demands payment in full upfront and only gives refunds if they can rebook... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MooringsInn, Owner at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

We are upfront about our cancellation policy, and are happy to talk through any questions that our guests may have. The policy is unique from those of chain owned hotels. However, quite comparable to those of other independently owned Inns and B&Bs. We are continuously doing renovations so that the Inn steadily strives, while still maintaining the integrity of its... More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Moorings Inn location is perfect - on the quiet side, right on the water, excellent views. Very picturesque. It is easy to get to Northeast and Bar Harbor and the many park entrances. From the time I called through our visit, the hosts were very accommodating and provided great restaurant and attraction suggestions for our short visit. I agree... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

We pride ourselves that the Inn met or surpassed your expectations. We honor the integrity of this nautical historical family owned Inn while still listening to our guests and making those improvements where possible. Our vision for the Moorings Inn is to continue to be a summer vacation home for even more generations to come. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the moorings in June. Great room, watching the boats in the harbor, incredible sunsets , friendly staff. Here's the but...no breakfast except supermarket donuts (individually wrapped, right from the package!)! Or some boxed cereal. And no dining area anyway. We ended up buying fresh scones from the local bakery (How hard would that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

Our continental breakfast is designed for our Inn guests. As half of the accommodations on the property have their own kitchen or kitchenette. In an effort to provide lower rates up until June 15th we do not offer a continental breakfast until that time. For our off season travelers that may not be traveling with any food we provide donuts,... More

Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Yes, some of the decor is dated/like what you'd see at your Grandma's, but that's not why you'd come here. You come for the view: right on the water, with a bunch of boats moored nearby. Very picturesque Maine. We stayed in Lookout Front which had water views from several windows, as well as a screened in porch. This room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

Our preferred payment by check supports sustaining a small family business, while maintaining an affordable rate for our guests. The pre-payment by check is a reflection of our locally generational family owned business. The Moorings Inn has been owned by the King family for over 50 years. Unfortunately in today's structure credit cards can really affect the bottom line of... More

Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our visit to The Moorings Inn was way too short, but sweet. For starters, we were upgraded to a great room looking over the bay. The manager, Nicole, and Vicky were very helpful when we had a personal business crisis and had to scan/print/fax documents right there. Perhaps the icing was the staff sharing great hikes - usually only known... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to help connect the dots for both business & pleasure. Hope you have the opportunity to return and relax even longer. Happy vacationing to you! More

Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We only spent one day/night at the Moorings Inn with weather that was rainy and dismal, which was unfortunate as the location and view would have been perfect for our final night in beautiful Maine. We had the Red Jacket room which was comfortable with a nice screened porch attached. The staff at the desk both in the evening and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Red Jacket guest, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Moorings Inn. We do our best to serve and meet the needs of our guests. We want all to relax and enjoy their stay. On a more picturesque day our ocean view lawn with lounging furniture does serve as our dining room. On the other weather... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Moorings Inn Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Moorings Inn Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Inn Waterfront

Address: 133 Shore Rd., Route 102-102A, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Southwest Harbor
Also Known As:
The Moorings Inn Waterfront Hotel Manset
The Moorings Inn Waterfront Maine/Southwest Harbor

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Southwest Harbor with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Number of rooms
24

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Moorings Inn Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer