We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, ME

Hotel deals
Hotel website
363 Maine Mall Road, South Portland, ME 04106
Special Offer
Book Now & Save Up to 20%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, ME
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, ME
Add Your Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    160
    91
    59
    21
See reviews for
115
140
22
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (475)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (149)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (154)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Augusta
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

2 fire alarms, 1 each day. 4pm (5 mins) and 7am (20 minutes). Room was good. Didn't care for the bar area, 20+ kids running around it was extremely loud, but looked "typical" when I mentioned it to the bartender. Liked my room and free wifi. Room service was very good and reasonable. Nice staff.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, ME, responded to this review

I wanted to offer my sincerest apologies for the alarm situation that happened over your recent visit. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback with me. I also wanted to let you know that I am sharing your feedback and the feedback of others to our alarm company. There is no way of knowing now exactly... More 

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here back when it was the old Wyndham in 2008. The rooms were great, it was centrally located, the bar was fun, and they didn't bug you in the morning like most hotels do when they want to clean your room. We have always had a great experience with all Wyndhams we have stayed at, and this was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, ME, responded to this review

I'd like to thank you for your continued loyalty to our property. I appreciate you taking the time to let me know what went well with your visit, and I'll be sure to pass along your feedback about the bar closing time with our Food and Beverage Manager! Thanks again for continuing to stay with our property. Please feel free... More 

Cohasset, MA, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I needed a night in Portland, decided to check out this round hotel. (OK, I was influenced by the prospect of a chocolate chip cookie. And it was good.) It's not in a premier location, but it's right off the highway and convenient. I find DoubleTree to be a reliable brand, and this one was reasonably good.... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, ME, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with me from your recent visit to our property. As we discussed in our previous communication, you were upgraded to one of our suites. This suite happens to be a room that is brand new from within the last year, so all new bedding and a new bed are in this room. You had... More 

St. Stephen, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is a bit outdated but staff were very friendly and helpful. They have a shuttle service however the "radius" is limited (ex. does not include the train station). The beds are comfy and the pool and work out facilities are nice. We ate breakfast there and the food was fine. The location is very central to the South... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, ME, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from your recent visit. I appreciate you the guest letting me know what went well, and more importantly what we can improve upon. To start I wanted to offer my sincere apologies for us not being able to pick you up at the train station. The difference between our property... More 

Boston
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this location recently, Breakfast was about a 5-6 on a scale of 1-10. Bar was about 7-8, pool 5. The whole eating area is kind of a mess as far as lay out. The parking lot is a haul from the front door. The rooms were either too hot or to cold, it didn't matter what you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, ME, responded to this review

I'd like to offer my sincere apologies to you about your experience at our property. I certainly will be sharing this feedback with our management team, and we always look to improve. I'd also like to clarify a few things: You rated different areas of the property, but you didn't explain what the issues were with this areas that made... More 

Colstrip, Montana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is very clean and nice. However it was missing a few things that I find critical. The lighting is terrible at best. Where there is a lamp, there is no chair, where there is a chair there is no lamp. The décor is in browns which makes it darker yet. The bathroom is very poorly lit and has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, ME, responded to this review

I'd like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent visit to our property. While I wanted to hear the stay was absolutely perfect, I do appreciate you letting us know our short comings and where we need to improve. To start I would like to mention that our décor is a light color... More 

Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
25 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is conveniently located across from the Maine Mall, Cracker Barrel and a short drive to Famous Dave's & Cabelas Sporting Goods. Staff were friendly and helpful with all aspects of our visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, ME, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent visit to our property. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I will be sure to pass along your kind feedback about our service to the team. Thank you again for staying with us and come visit us again someday soon! Warm Regards, Nick Shumate... More 

Vermont, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With all of the other choices in South Portland, I would avoid this hotel. The beds were poorly made up, the parking lots and sidewalks were not well kept from the weather, the bathroom fan was obnoxious.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, ME, responded to this review

First and foremost I wanted to thank you for choosing our property during your trip to Portland, Maine. As mentioned in our previous correspondence I have used your feedback regarding the tidiness of the room as a discussion topic with our housekeeping staff. This is certainly not something that our property normally hears for feedback, but something we will certainly... More 

Torrington, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I had to take a last minute overnight trip to Portland this weekend and booked at Doubletree as the highest price option in the area. We arrived around 10 p.m. to a packed parking lot for an event that was being held in West Tower, We checked in and found out our room was in West Tower,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, ME, responded to this review

I'd like to offer my sincerest apologies for the experience that you had at our property with the recent convention that we just had. While some of the attendees of this large group had an agenda and yes many of them smoked, this isn't a depiction of the hotel that we are or what we want to be. I truly... More 

Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Awful place and people. Will never stay at a Doubletree again. No parking had to walk by a huge row of people blowing their nasty smoke on us. Clearly drinking and reveling vulgarity being yelled out. Drunks on the elevator. Disgusting

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, ME, responded to this review

I'd like to offer my sincere apologies for the experience you had with our property over the weekend. Over this past weekend we did have a large group in house, and it sounds like this group disturbed you from having the great experience we expect all of our guests to have. With that said I have also reached out to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question