We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain A. V. Nickels Inn

Hotel website
127 East Main St., Searsport, ME 04974
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    48
    12
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
43
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sat on the ocean view deck on a sunny afternoon. Warmly greeted by, Joe, the left handed waiter. Fantastic service. Declicious tapas, duck tacos and crab cakes. YUM!!! Margaritas were very well made. Comfortable seating on deck, gas fueled fireplaces for chilly Maine nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dayton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I had to change our plans at the last minute and were able to get a room at the Captain AV Nickels Inn in Searsport, Maine. It is a very old sea captain's home right on the Penobscott Bay. It is a step back in time. Both the interior and exterior are lin need of some cosmetic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I booked the Captain A.V. Nickels on a whim. Something drew me to the tripadvisor listing. It was a wise decision. The Hotel itself is very nice, the staff was solid, and the food was fantastic. I particularly recommend that visitors enjoy the breakfast which was a delight. We had dinner at the hotel every night but one, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Eliot, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I saw this B&B and immediately booked it for my fiance's birthday. We are from southern Maine but were excited to get a change of scenery in this beautiful time of year (autumn). The inn blew us away! It was even better that I was actually able to keep this all a secret from him so it truly was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

At 8pm, we decided on a spur of the moment dinner out on a recent Friday. Although the staff was short, we had a superb meal, and attentive and knowledgable bartender made an outstanding cosmopolitan. To add to the evening, there was live music; a duo playing some bluegrass classics. We we so pleasantly surprised this gem of a place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere of our restaurant, The Port of Call and the Captain's Table. We think we've got one of the best chef's in Maine, Mark James! He is creative and very talented. As you probably noticed, everything is prepared fresh from here, most of it locally procured or grown in our... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This comment concerns the decor ONLY, not the service or food. I don’t know who came up with the idea to decorate rooms in styles reminiscent of Havana, Istanbul, etc., but it was a mistake. People visit the coast of Maine because they want to experience the coast of Maine, not London, Dublin, Paris, or wherever. If I had wanted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review

We were so disappointed that you did not like our choice of room names. We contemplated long and hard about what to name each room. Of course, we considered many names having to do with the Nickels family, sailing ships, other ships captains, places in Maine, etc. However, so many inns have already used those and we saw doing that... More 

Torino - Italia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Very good stay, the innkeepers were very responsive in helping us moving us away from the busy road to a quieter room. Wonderful breakfast (even too much if you're not used to it!) and a great position by the ocean. Restaurant open Thursday to Monday with a European flavour to it and a good selection of wines, would recommend it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We were so pleased to accomodate you for your need for quiet when you were here. Yes, we are located on US 1 and the traffic can be early and that is not good for our guests who like total quiet. Of course, our suites are at the back of the building... More 

Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here last August 2013. Just getting around to writing a review now. This inn was beautiful. Old fashioned elegance and filled with some of the most impressive antique furniture that I've ever seen. Some parts of the Inn were under construction but this didn't bother us at all. Still lots of places and nooks and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We hope you will be able to visit us again when you are traveling. You might be pleased to know that we've finished all our updates and renovations now. Would love to see you again. More 

Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The inn keepers Brenda and Mike were great and the Breakfasts just spectacular! Lots of antiques, land running right to oceans edge, great views. Good restaurant, even one night with entertainment. This is a real Sea Captains house that had many children, so interesting. Be careful however a couple of the rooms are small (Captain's children's rooms) but they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review

Yes, the house is in pretty original configuration, so as stated, some of the bedrooms are small. We did ensure that each has a private bath. That meant that some of the children's rooms were changed to be baths opening into another child's room for the bedroom. Captain Nickels and his wife, Elizabeth, had 8 children, so at least we... More 

Alphar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The breakfasts at the inn are wonderful, but the overall experience was very disappointing. We were not given the room I had requested three months earlier, and the one we were assigned had no closet, no room to unpack at all, one uncomfortable chair and one lamp with a low wattage lamp that was not good for reading. The bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that we did not meet expectations for your stay with us. I wish you had expressed concerns while you were here and we would have tried to accommodate making you more comfortable. BTW, all our bedrooms do have AC. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay