We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Homeport Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
121 E. Main St., P.O. Box 647, Searsport, ME 04974
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Homeport Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Homeport Inn
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Searsport, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We stayed one night while traveling through New England. Anita & her staff were very accommodating. The room was clean and well decorated. We also enjoyed a great meal at the Mermaids restaurant located in the Inn. We will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Caribou
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

My son and his wife was married a the Homeport Inn last Saturday 9-27-14. They were married on their front lawn under gorgeous trees. The reception to follow was held here as well. The food was excellent, well prepared, presented and on time. We would recommend eating at The Mermaid Restaurant and Pub at the Homeport Inn; you will not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Very nicely done mansion that was right near the ocean. The room was private and very spacious with a king bed that I didn't want to get out of. Large spaces to explore inside and nice gardens outside with a large patio and waterfall. The owners were excellent in setting us up in our room and breakfast was delicious. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Hampshire
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay here as we were attending a wedding that was held nearby at French's Point. We were met by Ed who was very friendly welcoming and helped us to our room, which was spacious, clean & well equipped. In the room there was a coffee machine, with a plentiful supply of freshly ground coffee and cream jiggers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The house is very nice, the breakfast is very good. In July we stayed here for 1 night, booked by Booking.com. We were the only guests that night. Our room was very small, the bed also, wifi in the room didn't work too good. When we looked at the site from the B&B we noticed that the room was less... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcia C, Owner at Homeport Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Homeport Historic Inn and providing feedback. Please do feel free to ask for an upgrade if you are not satisfied upon seeing your room at checkin. We have many different room layouts up to 400 sq ft at varying price points. I'm not sure that we had any nights with just (1) room rented... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The home is grand and more like a B and B since a great breakfast was provided! The Mermaid restaurant has an awesome Lobster egg benadict if you want to dine there. It was so nice to have a good draft beer right in the lounge or take it out and sit in a beautiful patio area. We walked a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marcia C, Owner at Homeport Inn, responded to this review

We very much appreciate your stay at the Homeport Historic Inn and your feedback. I do hope we see you again soon! We have spent many hours repairing and restoring this grand old lady - (23) different spaces in our property and we have had a great time doing so. Please do stop in and see us next time you... More 

New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Before I moved away from New York City, my wife and I wanted one last weekend out of the city in the beautiful Northeast. After looking at the trip advisor reviews, I figured heading to Maine and staying at the Homeport Inn was a good idea. It was a wonderful time! The rooms were nice, the food was excellent, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Marcia C, Owner at Homeport Inn, responded to this review

We very much appreciated your visit! We wish you the best on your move and hope that you come back to visit us. You visited some fantastic places while you were here but there is so much more to see. I hope you include in your travel plans in the future. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had booked to stay at the Homeport Historic Inn Searsport through Booking.com. Unfortunately our guaranteed reservation was cancelled by either the hotel of booking.com on account of overbooking. Wherever the fault lies, the offer of a 10% discount on a meal at the Inn should we pass by with a verbal apology, or the offer to pay the rate difference... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcia C, Owner at Homeport Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry about the overbooking of your room. I believe you had planned on (2) rooms with us. There was a technical issue (operating system related) that we had to clear up with Booking.com and we were so disappointed that we could not accomodate your stay. I'm pleased that you could be accomodated elsewhere a short distance from... More 

Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I chose this Inn because of the great reviews on TripAdvisor, but wouldn't stay again. The Inn has a great presence and appearance when entering and I thought the room was very nice when I walked into it. When I pulled back the blankets, I found a yellow stain in the center of my bottom sheet! The owner was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcia C, Owner at Homeport Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Homeport Historic Inn and providing feedback. We are very disappointed in your experience and have worked very hard to correct any issues. The room that you stayed in is approximately 400 sq. ft and has sliders going out on to a deck and continuing to our patio. Dusting & windows are a daily task... More 

North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed one weekend night here, and had a lovely time. Restaurant on the premises was quite good. Dinner was fun with in-house live music and attentive server. Great breakfast included in the price of the room. Lots of public spaces on the first floor of this historic building, and the upstairs bedroom was clean and comfortable. Shared bathroom concerned me,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcia C, Owner at Homeport Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your kind words on your experience at the Homeport Historic Inn and Mermaid Restaurance & Pub. Your stay would have been in either our Queen or King room that share a bath. I'm happy that worked out well. These rooms are on the second floor and we like that they are very spacious... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question