We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Point Inn Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
510 Black Point Road, Scarborough, ME 04074
Special Price
25% off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Black Point Inn Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
225 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

Beautiful location, easy to get so some nice beach and cliff walks, well kept grounds, but really heavily overpriced for the rooms which are not all that nice (esp. bathrooms) and the food which we had in the "upscale" restaurant which is oddly placed at the left side of an otherwise big, empty room. Food was ok but not sophisticated.... More 

Helpful?
Thank HansM1959
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015 via mobile

Again, a wonderful experience with room, food and staff. Everyone is friendly and very accommodating. They are seasonal and we can't wait to return next May! The view of the ocean today was simply spectacular! Even until the very end, the service and food remained excellent. See you next year, Black Point!

Helpful?
Thank Goosebusters
Ocoee, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

Had a fantastic meal with family at the Inn. Everything was perfect from start to finish. Thanks for another great day and another great meal.........The food is always excellent and the service was perfect.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
LandacePorta, General Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hi Mike L, Thank you so much for sharing your kind words about you recent meal here! We're so pleased that you continue to enjoy the Inn and the dining experience. We'll continue to work hard to hold the standard you have enjoyed. More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

From the minute you drive down the dead end road to the hotel and see the hotel in front of you you know you are in for a treat. Enough parking for cars around the hotel and service that aims to make your stay special. The hotel is full of character and staff are there to attend to your every... More 

Helpful?
Thank ajplap
LandacePorta, General Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hello akplap, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Inn and the efforts of our staff. It is truly a special place and we are proud to welcome guests each season who continue to enjoy the historic character and stunning views. We do hope... More 

Pittstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

Wow, we live in the area and were given a gift certificate for a celebration. Having just moved here , we had this on our list and thought last Saturday would be perfect time to enjoy the rapid change of seasons , catch some local foliage changing and enjoy this pristine location without the crush of summer time tourists. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob S
LandacePorta, General Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hi Rob S, Thank you for your review. We're happy to know that you enjoyed the ambiance of the Inn, as we work hard to create a place of welcome and comfort. We also hope that you enjoyed the friendly and attentive service we aim to provide. We are however very displeased that you felt so disappointed in your dining... More 

Altamont, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015

This is a best kept secret.It's a beautiful Inn on a peninsula so the scenery is spectacular. We went for lunch, there was a bit of a wait so they told us about a cliff walk we could do. We didn't have time for all of it but it was gorgeous. The lunch was delicious and the atmosphere was wonderful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea K
LandacePorta, General Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hi Andrea K, Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you were able to take in the beautiful surroundings of the Inn and join us for a lunch. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere and your meal. We'll be glad to have you back again soon. More 

Ocoee, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile

We had lunch with family in the resturant. The first thing I noticed was the beauty of the inn, then the view. Gorgeous place for lunch! The roasted beet salad was fantastic, the tuna tacos were good (fish was on the overdone side). I had asked for a beer with my tacos, and it didn't come until I reminded the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caseyatthebat
LandacePorta, General Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hello Casey, Thank you so much for taking the time you share your perspective on our Inn. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the location and the food. Our apologies that your beverage was not delivered quickly, we certainly aim to avoid those types of mistakes. We hope that you will decide to visit us again. More 

New York
Level Contributor
284 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

The Black Point Inn's restaurants could (and should) be great. The Inn itself if beautiful and in a spectacular location, and we really enjoyed a past visit. In fact, I wrote a great review at that time. Sadly, our Chart Room experience came up empty this visit. The food wasn't anywhere as good as we remembered it, with the burger... More 

Helpful?
Thank skgbos
LandacePorta, General Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hello Skgbos, Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your experience. We use all feedback to better our efforts here at the Inn. We are certainly disappointed that your previous positive experience has been overshadowed by your recent visit. We aim for every experience to exceed expectations. We hope that you will come back again and... More 

Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

We were expecting a lot and were not disappointed. The staff greeted us with smiling faces and cheerful attitudes. Our room was bright, immaculate, and super comfortable. We were happy with the bay view and balcony to relax on. Our meals were delicious (highly recommend the beet salad) and breakfast was excellent (included with the room). There was a morning... More 

Helpful?
Thank 82charlottepotvin
LandacePorta, General Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hello 82Charlotte, Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent visit with us. We're so pleased that everything was as pleasant as you had imagined. We aim to exceed expectations with every guest, so it makes us very happy to know that the room, food, location and activities were all enjoyed. We look forward to having you... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

We stayed at the hotel for our friends' wedding so the hotel was very busy. The location of the hotel is amazing and we had a really nice room, especially really spacious and with a nice view on the pool and the sea. I also liked the various common rooms, with the lit fireplace, free coffee/tea and cookies. Yet, a... More 

Helpful?
Thank CeciliaGeneva
BPI-Guest-Services, Front Office Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hi Cecilia! Thank you for the review and for staying with us this past weekend. We're glad there were many aspects of your stay that you enjoyed! It was an amazingly gorgeous wedding and we're so glad we got to be a part of it. While we do not offer a traditional turn down service, if requested, anyone at the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

623 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (14)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (569)
Viewed
Admirals Chamber Room 211 (80)
Viewed
Admirals Chamber Room 217 (66)
Viewed
Admirals Chamber Room 219 (83)
Viewed
Captain's Chamber (80)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (37)
Viewed
Spinnaker Suite (89)
Viewed
The Hotel (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
8.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Press Hotel
The Press Hotel
#1 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
2.6 mi away
Higgins Beach Inn
Higgins Beach Inn
#9 of 13 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
6.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
8.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay