We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2 Ashley Drive, Scarborough, ME 04074
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012
aggada
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    16
    11
    20
See reviews for
29
30
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Scarborough, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

With the exception of the outside photos all the others are not of this hotel. Never, and I mean never go above the first floor!!! The carpets are stained with barf, beer stains, pet stains and from trash bags being left in the hallway. The same applies to the rooms. It is a pet friendly hotel so they need to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are committed to providing every guest with outstanding accommodations, so I was pleased to read your first review of our hotel back in March of this year. Of course, I was disheartened in reading this review to learn that your long term stay wasn't 100%... More 

Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were disappointed by this old property. Not the same caliber as a Fairfield Inn. Needs updating. Does not offer breakfast. Does not have a pool. Priced a little high for the dearth of amenities. The hotel was booked solid (so was all of Portland). We would not return to this property even though the location is fine. Near the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with our property. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was sad to see that your stay was not enjoyable. We are constantly striving to ensure each guest can enjoy the "home away from home" experience here at our hotel. Please accept my apologies that we were... More 

Muskegon, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Where to start? Upon check-in I made sure that we were being put into a non-smoking room and we were told yes...not the case! The room reeked of cigarette smoke!! The carpet was filthy, bed was barely made and had hairs in it, and the bathroom was full of dark hairs (I am a blonde). The hairs were all over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. Considering our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay was unsatisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am. We know that our guests have many lodging options, which is why it is so important to us that we provide... More 

Lubec, Maine, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

For the price of this hotel, I suppose you get what you pay for. Took a family vacation, wanted something cheap since we would only be there long enough to sleep. The bed was very hard. I specifically asked for non-smoking when I booked online; asked when I arrived TWICE if it was a non-smoking since it was on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We are constantly striving to provide our guests with a "home away from home" experience by providing clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Please accept our apologies that you found there to be a strong smell in your non-smoking room and for us... More 

Edmundston, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I booked this hotel online using Hotwire and didn't know what I was booking. Although it was clean and the location wasn't bad, we didn't enjoy our stay there and will not return. The bed was quite hard and the pillows not comfortable at all. Small old style tv set. No ice machine in the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. I want you to know that we value your comments and I will be using them to coach my staff on how we can serve our guests better in the future. I apologize that your stay was not the "home away from home" experience that... More 

Casco, Maine
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

So we booked this place for the weekend of a HUGE concert and Maine's largest race...which means the hotel upped the price big time. We paid $160.00. Even though the room was nice, clean, and the service was nice it's more like a $90 room. It does have a little kitchen. But the nicely dressed bed was uncomfortable especially with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. I appreciate your comments and want you to know that I have shared them with the staff to help improve the service that we offer. I have also sent your comments about the hotel pricing to our Coporate Office who manages the rates which we offer... More 

Portland, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Folks, if you are absolutely desperate...underline desperate, then stay here. Otherwise, the name above the entryway says it all "Office". Not lobby, not entrance but office. This has such a public housing feel to it. The piled high laundry behind the front desk, cheap furnishings+fixtures.....uuughhhhh! No kidding, a CRT 15" TV just like at grandma's house. AVOID, AVOID, AVOID------Get the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We value your comments so we can continue to improve the service we offer. Please know that we do not consider ourselves to be Public Housing, but rather a hotel. We are patronized by both short-term and long-term guests; however, we provide the... More 

Somerset, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel staff were very nice. The hallways were very dirty, the carpets need a good cleaning. The bed was the hardest I ever tried to sleep on. I would not recommend this place. The amount of money they charge is a joke. This place needs a major overhaul.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. While I am very happy to hear that the staff was a bright spot in your stay, I am very sorry that we fell short on the overall experience. I have shared your comments with my staff to ensure that we do our very best... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Dirty bed is uncomfortable. Overpriced just disgusting

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Extended Stay America in Scarborough, ME. I would like to apologize for the housekeeping issue that you mentioned. Your comments here will be shared with our staff to ensure that every one of our team members is aware of how we can improve our services going... More 

Belchertown, MA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The first room we were given was not that nice. When I turned the sheets down, there was a hair and dirt. I called the front desk and she came up to inspect the sheets. Then we were given another room. Much cleaner. The window was not. But after closing the curtains, it didn't matter. Front desk staff was nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee225, Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Given our company's commitment to superior guest service, it was great to read about your positive experience with our staff. Of course, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. You certainly have my sincerest apologies. We know that you have several lodging options, which is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question