We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trade Winds Inn

2 Park Dr, Rockland, ME 04841
Hotel amenities
Trade Winds Inn
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    37
    43
    28
    43
See reviews for
28
58
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (167)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Terrible! Bed extremely uncomfortable. Couldn't sleep; it was saggy and hard. Pillows smelled bad. I would have rather stayed in a cheap motel inland than this place. The light fixtures also didn't work and there were no special amenities. I would NOT recommend this hotel. Keep looking, not worth your money - torture to sleep in. Full of regrets. Seriously!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Franklin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the Tradewinds Inn in Rockland Maine is what it is , a centrally located reasonably priced stop when exploring the Mid Maine coastline. If you are lucky enough to get a high floor balconey facing the Ocean it is has a pleasant view. While you are on that balcony try not to notice the mildew covering the wooden beams and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Haven, ME
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Trade Winds Inn is a bit aged, but in Rockland's center with an decent view of the water. The front desk people were friendly and helpful, as I was staying on business. Following my meeting, I did mange to have a couple drinks at the dining room bar. The atmosphere was quiet, the bartender friendly and the crowd small.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was much better than the average "continental breakfast" as it featured boiled eggs and two or three varieties of quiche. The restaurant was lovely and served some of the best food we had in the area. The location was perfect, right in the middle of town, within very easy walking distance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Trade Winds is either hit or miss. We have stayed there at least a dozen times over the last 8 years, and sometimes we leave complaining and other times we are very pleased. We have had rude staff, but we've also had incredible staff. We've had awesome, clean rooms, but we have also had smelly rooms that look dirty. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were given an upgrade ..the room was nice..we just needed somewhere to sleep so it was fine. Room was clean..only problem we seen was construction in the hallways. .which was not a big deal for us. Excellent location and good price

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AimeeHunt, Front Office Manager at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback but do apologize for the construction in the hallways as we were improving our hotel. We are so pleased that you and your family found our accommodations comfortable and invite you to join us again in the future! More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015 via mobile

This is a place to avoid. Very seedy. Upon arrival a woman approached our car asking to help with luggage and she was not an employee! We were in the "non-smoking" section and the halls were filled with smoke. Floor seemed unstable on upper level. Doors were cheap and stuck and walls were thin. The bathroom flooring had mold damage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers are raving about these Rockland hotels

Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

We stayed in rooms 304 (lockout/no view) and 305 (view w/ balcony) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Modern kitchen, flat screen TVs in both bedrooms and living room, great wifi (I worked via internet 2x/day), prompt responses from housekeeping (needed veggie peeler & more dishwashing detergent) and front desk staff. I loved that we could walk out the door and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AimeeHunt, Front Office Manager at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted you were able to take advantage of all that Rockland has to offer and that you took the time to give us feedback. We look forward to your next visit at Trade Winds On The Bay! More 

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

I do not know who is making these reviews or if there are two parts of hotel and we have gotten the worst end. The biggest part I did not like, is right after I took a shower and lay in bed for second to relax before I get dressed, the door to room opens, nobody knocks it just opens.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maine
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 952 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

So we didn't get the Deal 'o the Day, no crime in that, and we slept well enough. The room was a bit odd in its configuration, with the bedroom first and the sitting room with balcony beyond it. The bedroom was therefore quite dark. There wasn't any information in the room about amenities, etc., which would have been helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.3 mi away
Navigator Motor Inn
Navigator Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Rockland
3.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
2.8 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#1 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
1.6 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
2.7 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#3 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay