We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trade Winds Inn

2 Park Dr, Rockland, ME 04841
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Trade Winds Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    39
    44
    31
    44
See reviews for
30
63
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (175)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I always stay at Tradewinds in Rockland we go up every year-- it is older but kept clean pool is nice can sit outside the room and look at harbor/boats we always bring our bicycles and rollerblades to use while there!! It is located near everything ! Shops,restaurants, harbor, art galleries and Wyeth museum !! We never have to use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arundel, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very old run down hotel or at least the section we were put in. Carpet had very dark dirty trail down the middle, seems it has not been cleaned in a long time. Carpeted stairs very dirty. Floor in bathroom where it meets tub, filthy. Deck with ocean view was a view of parking lot that you could see pieces... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AimeeHunt, Front Office Manager at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconveniences you mentioned you encountered during your stay. We always strive to make each one of our guests stay a great one and we feel terrible that we missed that mark with your stay. I will be bringing these issues up with housekeeping and seeing what we can do to make some changes. Again, we apologize... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rockland hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Getting off the elevator was our first clue. Smelly. The carpet in the hallways was disgusting, dirty, stained and lumpy. The hallway was narrow so difficult to roll 2 suitcases. The hallways have not seen a paint job in YEARS. Once we found our room (like a maze) we were once again disappointed. The bathroom was so small we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the only place that RCI, now through Wyndham, had rooms in Maine at our vacation time, and not for a whole week. We got it, planned our trip around Rockland and Portland and Acadia. Our room was great, clean, new feeling, spacious. We are time share so I don't know about other room sizes in the hotel, it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AimeeHunt, Front Office Manager at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you had such a great stay and found our hotel and staff accommodating. Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we appreciate it. We look forward to your next stay here at Trade Winds On the Bay. More 

San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
140 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love the location. We also loved that the suite was recently remodeled. The location is perfect for Rockland, close to museums, galleries and restaurants. But the little things were agitating us all the time. The wifi is free but it regularly dropped us off. The dishes and silverware were not complete. How do two people eat with one fork.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rented a cheaper room simply because we planned to stay one night only. Room could use some updating but overall it was OK. TV remote didn't work, as well as the AC, room didn't have enough towels. I would imagine the more expensive view rooms are in better shape. I would stay here again and pay for the view rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AimeeHunt, Front Office Manager at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback, It helps us to fix areas that need work. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations and will look into these issues. We look forward to your next stay with us. More 

Boykins, VA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been staying at the Trade Winds Inn for over thirty years; it is an integral part of our Maine vacation, and I will always love it. But it is getting older, sadder, and saggier with little or no attention in recent years. We entered our "view-of-the-ocean, with-a-deck" room this year (about $140/night) and the first thing I noticed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed last weekend and loved the location and the size of the room was fine. The mattresses were awful and the first night I could hardly sleep and woke up sore all over. So tired slept better the next night. Please get new mattresses and this place will be great!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AimeeHunt, Front Office Manager at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ruth S, We apologize for falling short of your expectations on your stay, we are looking into these issues. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback as this is how we can better our property to serve our guests. We look forward to your next stay with us and hope that we meet your expectations. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrible! Bed extremely uncomfortable. Couldn't sleep; it was saggy and hard. Pillows smelled bad. I would have rather stayed in a cheap motel inland than this place. The light fixtures also didn't work and there were no special amenities. I would NOT recommend this hotel. Keep looking, not worth your money - torture to sleep in. Full of regrets. Seriously!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AimeeHunt, Front Office Manager at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience at Trade Winds Inn. I am disappointed to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. Our goal is to provide exceptional service and guest rooms and I apologize that we were unable to achieve that goal for you. More 

Franklin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

the Tradewinds Inn in Rockland Maine is what it is , a centrally located reasonably priced stop when exploring the Mid Maine coastline. If you are lucky enough to get a high floor balconey facing the Ocean it is has a pleasant view. While you are on that balcony try not to notice the mildew covering the wooden beams and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AimeeHunt, Front Office Manager at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent trip. Thanks for the acknowledgment of the friendly staff. We also appreciate your constructive criticism on our hotel and will look to see what kind of improvements we can make. Best regards, front desk More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.3 mi away
Navigator Motor Inn
Navigator Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Rockland
3.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
2.8 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#1 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.7 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#4 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
1.6 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay