We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Presque Isle hotels

Budget Traveler Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Budget Traveler Inn & Suites to your Saves list
71 Main Street, Presque Isle, ME 04769
Budget Traveler Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Presque Isle
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Presque Isle
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
7
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Even though we have a non-smoking room, it reeks. On top of this the whole place has a funk than you cannot escape. My nose is notoriously insensitive but the stench of my bedding was so foul I could not get to sleep. Plus, the wifi signal is poor in our room. No internet. AVOID THIS DUMP.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gary L, Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

This review is completely untrue. You came here with 2 big dogs and complained about everything in the room from the minute you walked in. You stayed the night then complained again in the morning and talked down to my staff. There was no issue with your room. You were in a non-smoking room at the other end of the... More

Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I have had occasion to stay at the Budget Traveler Inn and Suites up in Presque Isle, Maine. Presque Isle (If you haven't been there, and it seems few have) is as peaceful and as quiet as it gets. It's all about the small town feel, and you get that in spades and some big surprises. Huge college right next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary L, Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. Most of my staff here is new to the hotel business, being courteous and friendly to the guest is a must. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Again thank you from the management and all the staff, hope to see you here again. More

Belfast, Maine
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I have been staying at this hotel for years and ever since new management it has gone to garbage - literally. The cleanliness, service and amenities have all severly decreased. We had the dirtiest hotel room I have ever stayed in, crushed chips, broken toothpicks and other trash all around the beds and on the bathroom floors.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Gary L, Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

If we are going to be honest give a honest review. The real reason you were upset was because I had the police take items out of your room that shouldn't have been in there because you left it out in the open. As part of the new Management, my goal is to keep the drugs out of this Hotel... More

Travelers are raving about these Presque Isle hotels

Rochester, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed one night at this Inn. Price was right and it was adequate for an overnight stay. Nothing fancy, just a smallish room, a place to lay your head, and a basic bathroom. I will admit that I heard another rooms television half the night which made sleeping pretty unattainable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gary L, Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I took over in November and working on updating the rooms and dinning area. I have since hired a Maintenance Man who has been doing a great job. I look forward to having you stay with us again and tell me how you like the changes. More

Rockport, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayed here a few times while visiting family in PI. Room was clean and comfortable. Desk help was friendly and helpful with knowledge of the area. Noticed that they have cut amenities when it came to breakfast. They used to have assorted fruit and fresh donuts. Now, one orange and no donuts. Dry cereal and bread for toast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shawn G, Front Office Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I'll start by thanking you for your review. We've since met your recommendation and moved the outdoor ash tray for all smoking patrons and staff to take advantage of in the efforts of providing a smoke free atmosphere in our lobby when guests enter or leave the building. You're memory serves you well, we did used to provide Dunkin' Donuts... More

Bath, Maine
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is terrible! It smells bad, there are holes in the screens, the ceiling has water stains, the walls are filthy, there is NO personality at the front desk, and it seems everything is broken from the printer for a receipt, the A/C, the ice machine ON and ON! Go a couple miles into P.I. and stay at The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Shawn G, Front Office Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I'm sorry you're stay was so uneventful. I'd like to take the time to address a few of your concerns. We've recently hired a new maintenance employee who's been painting the building, parking lot, replacing windows screens and tending to any other needs we see fit. I'm not entirely sure which front desk employee you dealt with but I can... More

Bangor, ME
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The lobby area does not present a very appealing first view. It had a stale odor and looked a little shabby. The desk staff was more "dressed down" than he should have been, even if it was a quiet afternoon in the middle of the week. We were not expecting very much for the room. Fortunately we were very surprised... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We needed a cheap place to stay and had been tenting, so reluctantly I agreed to try the budget inn. It looks pretty sketchy from the outside, and the lobby smelled like cigarette smoke, so I was regretting the decision before we even went to the room. We entered to find a very clean, pleasant smelling room with all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Centennial
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The good: The room was large and even had a full size couch, the bed was comfy, fridge with freezer and microwave in room, and a really bubbly, friendly front desk gal that was able to move things around to allow us to stay in our room for an unexpected additional night (our room was reserved by someone else for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bowdoinham, Maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had stayed here before and it was great. We had to go back up north for a family matter so made a reservation for two nights. I will start off with the postive. It is a nice clean big room and a good rate. Also they allow pets at no extra charge. Last stay was great, this one was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shawn G, Front Office Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I would like to take the time to address your complain with a proper response and let it be known you have my sincerest apologies. Unfortunately I'm afraid I'm unable to change your experience in retrospect and wish this would of come to my attention sooner. The employee you described had been issued several warnings about having personal guests loitering... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Budget Traveler Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Traveler Inn & Suites

Address: 71 Main Street, Presque Isle, ME 04769
Location: United States > Maine > Presque Isle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Budget Traveler Inn And Suites
Budget Traveler Hotel Presque Isle
Budget Traveler Inn & Suites Presque Isle, Maine

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay