We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn at St. John

2.5 of 5 939 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04102
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Inn at St. John
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Inn at St. John
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    159
    44
    18
    15
See reviews for
40
200
54
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (398)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (134)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband & I stayed here while driving along the coast of Maine, and it was one of the best hotels I've stayed at in many years. You notice the character in the beautiful lobby upon entry. Stayed in room 7A with an in-room bathroom. Clean, well-appointed large room with tall ceilings. Very comfortable bed. Large bathroom with great lighting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

jean970809- Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay with us while traveling up the coast of Maine. We are delighted you enjoyed your comfortable room and amenities. Our 118 year old Victorian Inn offers plenty of character for guests who prefer personalized service in a cozy relaxing atmosphere. Thanks again and we hope... More

Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are going to stay in an Inn that is 100 years old, it is most likely going to be in an older neighborhood with locally owned shops and diners. Because we like to get a sense of how the locals feel about their community, we typically gravitate toward places that are in the heart of the city. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

AmyLPotts- "Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay during the Maine Marathon. It's great to know our guests appreciate the character and charm of our 118 year old Victorian Inn. We also thank you for the positive feedback about your room and professional, friendly staff. Thanks again, and we hope to see you in the... More

Barrington, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed at St. John's Inn about 5 or 6 times in the past few years. We're going back in a couple of weeks for a venue at the Port City Music Hall. It is semi-close to downtown, but I'd take a taxi in bad weather or winter. It's about a 20 minute walk. Great pizza place open late across... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Tebbett- Thank you for being a valued return guest with us here at the Inn at St John. We hope you enjoyed the show at Port City Music Hall and appreciate the positive feedback about our clean rooms and friendly staff. Hope to see you again in the future! More

Olmsted Falls, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for a single night, and it was enough to have me planning a return visit that we might spend a few more in the future. We arrived in the early morning hours, and were treated with courtesy and professionalism. This applied to our every encounter; The staff was incredibly accommodating. Amenities were ample and inclusive, and we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay with us. Our staff takes tremendous pride in providing top notch guest services, clean and well appointed rooms, and a variety of amenities to make you feel at home. We are delighted you would like to stay with us again and look forward to seeing you... More

Nottingham
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we stayed here - for one night - after driving up the coast from Boston. The hotel is full of character, our room was huge and well appointed. We had a separate bathroom that was along the corridor (although they could have fitted a bathroom in the room) and we were on the third floor. The stairs are steep and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Exiled_Cumbrian- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John to stay on your drive from Boston. We are glad you found your room well appointed and large. It was unfortunate the city started road repair so early that morning. We reached out to them to complain and let them know they should be more understanding of small business like... More

Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Definitely recommend this place if you're looking to stay in portland for a few days. We were just passing thru. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There's some parking on site and more next door. The breakfast nook was a little small but the selection was good for continental and we appreciated the all day coffee option-- with funky... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

J L- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland Maine. Glad to hear our staff was helpful and you found plenty of parking in both of our lots. We also want to thank you for recommending us to others and wish you all the best in the future! More

Fergus, Ontario
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My mom and I stayed here for a night, and had a lot of luggage with us since it was a stop on our 2 week road trip. We were on the second floor and there are no elevators... stairs were steep. Luckily one of the staff hurriedly came to our assistance and helped us with our bags. Coming down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Cailin V- Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Due to the age of the building we do not have an elevator but we always ask, and are happy to help with luggage to and from your room. Sorry to hear the internet was not working properly. From the time of... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice old house which does mean room and bed was a bit small. However clean welcoming and comfortable. Off road parking. Was a bit of a walk to the town centre however im sure plenty of buses. We only there for one night so was fine. Continental Breakfast provided was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

penguin000- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland Maine. We offer a wide variety of room styles to match everyone's budget and plenty of amenities to make you feel at home. Hopefully you had a chance to experience what the great city of Portland has to offer in the short amount of time... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Inn at St. John completely exceeded our expectations when we visited Portland for the first time. The hotel is tucked away slightly off the beaten path of the main tourists area but it was nice to be away from all the hustle and bustle. We stayed on the main floor for three nights right outside the breakfast nook and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Cara C- We are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations! All of us at the Inn work hard to insure that every guest has a clean, comfortable, and friendly experience while visiting the great state of Maine. Thanks for making us your "go to" place to stay in Portland and wish you all the best! More

Washington State
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent 5 nights at the Inn at St John, visiting in Portland. I did not have a car, and the location was good. The bus to downtown stops at the corner in front of the hotel about every 25 minutes during the day and costs $1.50. You can walk to downtown in about half an hour; Old Port is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

musician3- Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We offer a wide variety of amenities and try our best to be as helpful as possible to insure every guest feels at home in a comfortable and enjoyable setting. Thanks again and hope to see you again in the future! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Inn at St. John?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Inn at St. John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John

Address: 939 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at St. John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn at St. John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John Hotel Portland
Inn At St. John Portland, Maine

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay