We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Portland B&Bs / inns

Inn at St. John

2.5 of 5 Inn   |   939 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04102
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Inn at St. John to your Saves list
Inn at St. John
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
81%
Ranked #8 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Ariel L West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    141
    35
    18
    15
See reviews for
35
165
51
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My room was cozy and very clean. The entire staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. The price for my room was a great bargain. The food at breakfast was fresh. The atmosphere was quiet and friendly.Overall, this Inn was and is a great find! When I am in the area again, this will be my place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Ariel L- Thank you for writing a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and delighted you will choose us again on your return visit to Portland. More

Hartford, Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed there two nights with two toddlers. All went well. The rooms were clean. We got a good recommendation for a local restaurant. Staff was friendly to the kids. Atmosphere was pleasant. We would happily stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Kevin C- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland Maine. Our staff takes tremendous pride in providing great service and recomending their favorite restaurants. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. More

Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed with a friend on our way up the Maine coast. The building was old but it was very well maintained and had a charming feel. Very well decorated... Affordable as well. Free breakfast in the morning was great. Like staying at grandmas house!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

JulieK1- Great to have you! Glad you felt we were "cozy and charming". And if you were as comfortable with us as you are with your grandmother that's a compliment I will take any day. Have a great day! More

Madawaska, Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Most important to me is cleanliness. I found the room and the bathroom to be clean. The rate is really reasonable. No other hotel will give you this value. The food offered in the continental breakfast was fresh. So many times at lower rate hotels there is mold or out of date products, this is not the case at Inn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Paul_Dumond- Thank you so much for the kind words. We absolutely agree cleanliness is the most important thing! The room could be made of solid gold but if its dirty then forget it. Thank you for letting us know about the water stains i'll see if our maintenance man can do something about that. So glad to hear you will... More

Bar Harbor, Maine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love this Inn and have stayed here many times, enjoying rooms from a king suite to my latest stay at a small double bed room with a bathroom down the hall. The prices can't be beat and the charm of the place has it all over the cookie cutter hotels. I can walk to the old port and many... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Woodswalker70- Every hotel manager strives to be his guests "go to place" . The fact that the Inn has succeeded in being yours is truly gratifying. Thank you for taking the time to review us it really does mean a lot. Oh and one more thing. We do have some gluten free breakfast items. Because of limited space though we... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here a few days ago for one night and cannot fault the hotel at all. Rooms were clean, staff were exceptionally friendly and we had breakfast included. For the price as well, i highly recommend it and would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay Steven P. People are often surprised at how great our inn is especially for the price. We have a great staff that takes pride in their work. A building is only as good as the people in it. It doesn't cost anything to be dedicated to your work but the payoff is huge. I... More

North Conway, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Inn at St. John is a wonderful place to stay when in Portland. It has a wonderful European ambience and is within reasonable walking distance to the Old Port ,the Portland Art Museum and many great restaurants. It's my favorite place to stay when in Portland and the Metro is very nearby if you wish to leave you car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Leslie D- On behalf of the Inn at St John I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We are fortunate to be close to the Museum of Art, the Seadogs ball park, and some of Portland's most wonderful restaurants. Thanks for making us your "go to" place in the city and look... More

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went for a night and loved the place. It feels like it is in between a B & B and hotel. Breakfast was solid. The service was great. It had snowed around 5 inches over night and the staff cleared our car and plowed us out. Con: lots of stairs, bit of a walk to harbor/downtown

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

KPetmezis- We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Inn. As a courtesy after snow storms, our staff makes sure guests start their day our right by cleaning snow off their vehicles. Hopefully you get a chance to visit Portland when the weather is warmer! Take Care~ More

Laconia, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

When searching for a place to stay in Portland, we were looking for a low price - Inn at St. John had the most impressive rate within walking distance to the concert venue that we were going to. The building is very unique and cozy, and the rooms are beautiful. We stayed on the first floor which had clearly been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

ryandickson- Thank you for writing a wonderful review about your stay at the Inn. We are delighted you found value in the rate the room to be cozy and beautiful. Being a small European Inn we specialize in providing one on one services assuring each guest has a great experience. Cheers~ More

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Updated Victoriana! The room we were in was apparently an add-on, with an exposed brick wall, modern (not chintzy) Victorian furniture (nice wardrobe), reasonable carpet, all very clean and with many little flourishes (fanned tissues, attractively arranged thick towels). The only off note was the dropped ceiling. Front desk staff were all very pleasant, breakfast was fresh, cookies and coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

nooooooooooooo- Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful to write a wonderful review about the Inn. It's always good to hear that our guests not only enjoyed their stay but liked the furnishings and atmosphere. We take tremendous pride in making every guest experience the best it can be and hope to see you again in the... More

Been to Inn at St. John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John

Also Known As:
Inn At St. John Hotel
Inn At St. John Hotel Portland
Inn At St John Portland
Inn At St. John Portland, Maine
Address: 939 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at St. John 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Inn at St. John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at St. John, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.