We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Portland B&Bs / inns

Inn at St. John

2.5 of 5 Inn   |   939 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04102
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Inn at St. John to your Saves list
Inn at St. John
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
82%
Ranked #9 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
sam j New York
  • Overview
  • Reviews (384)
  • Photos (81)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (84)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    155
    41
    18
    15
See reviews for
37
192
51
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place is nice enough, clean nice rooms, decent breakfast, free bottled water, but had I known what a sketchy part of town it was in, I would not have stayed here. We came to Portland from New York City to experience New England charm, but ended up in the Bronx. Fair enough, it was only 5 minute drive to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

sam j- Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Inn. Our Victorian era Inn offers warm comfortable charm in the middle of this beautiful coastal city. This ever evolving neighborhood is home to the Seadogs Baseball team, a 20 minute walk to the waterfront, and a 5 minute drive to the airport. We offer a variety... More

Princeton, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Several of us had gone water rafting in Maine one Sunday in June. We wanted to stay in Portland because it would have been a long drive home. We had made reservations online at the Inn at St. John, Portland. When we found the hotel we were a littleconcerned about the location. It was a grand looking building from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

elainebovaird5- Thank you for choosing the Inn on the way to your white water rafting excursion. We are glad our friendly staff was helpful and you found our Victorian Inn to be clean and well appointed. There are only 4 floors and due to the architecture of the building, elevators are not an option but our staff is always willing... More

Lowell, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for one night as a part of a large road trip through Maine, and it was a great place to kick off the road trip. The hotel is lovely, and the staff is so accommodating and friendly. They make you feel at home and are happy to talk about great places to visit in the area. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Mairin B- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John during your road trip. We are thrilled to know our friendly staff made you feel at home. Over the past several years the neighborhood association has, and continues to work hard making improvements as the city has become a more popular coastal destination. Thanks again for staying with us! More

Lancaster oOhio, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very happy with our choice for our stay here while passing through for the Down East coast. I'm surprised that some reviewers say the decor is outdated. I didn't think so at all. It IS in the Victorian style, hence the name. I found it charming and tastefully done. We enjoyed the added touches like robes and slippers,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

SummerLB- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John while traveling through the Down East Coast. Over the years we have spent a great deal of time updating the décor and adding amenities to ensure our guests have a pleasurable experience. We also try to be value friendly for budget conscience travelers. Thanks again for staying with us and... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight in Portland, and was thrilled to find reasonbly priced accomodations just off the main drag. Charming, historical decor and a continental breakfast diverse enough for all tastes. All the emenities one could ask for. Small touches like 24 hr access coffee, cookies, yogurt and bottled water in the lobby seating area just perfect for the weary travellor. Though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Elaina A- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland Maine. We are thrilled you enjoyed our Victorian style Inn. Top notch guest service is our number one priority and its nice to know you felt welcomed and comfortable. We wish you all the best in the future. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for two nights as part of our 'road trip honeymoon'. Immediately upon arrival, we were greeted by the friendly staff at the front desk. They made it clear that they were there to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Our room was on the third floor-- yes, it was a bit of a hike.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

WahooWa2011- We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us while on your road trip. Our friendly staffs goal is to be a helpful as possible and make everyone feel at home by offering a variety of amenities and snacks. Being an inner city Inn we try our best to provide as much off street parking as possible in... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A single night stay on a trip through New England. Other than a questionable stain on the sheets and some shower mold, the place was very clean. Curiously, a bottle of Windex was left in the bathroom (presumably an oversight by the maid). Free WiFi, continental breakfast, free off-street parking with overflow in a nearby neighboring lot. Friendly and accommodating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Ron C- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your trip through New England. Other than a few unintended oversights we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and all we have to offer. Unfortunately installing an elevator in this 118 year old Inn is architecturally challenging. Thanks again and hope to see you again in the future. More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place serves it's purpose and I mean that in the most non judgmental way possible. In Portland for the weekend and unfortunately our first choice(The West End Inn) was all booked up so we decided to stay here instead. It's a mix between a hotel and B&B. The rooms for the price leave a bit to be desired(read small)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Mark W- Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Inn. Every review is carefully examined as we continue to make every guest feel welcome and comfortable during their stay. We offer a variety of room style and sizes according to preference and availability when booking. Amenities include robes, slippers,... More

Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In Maine for our 30th anniversary - spend three nights at the Inn - too big to be a bed & breakfast, too small to be a hotel - but a great place to stay. Had a room with en suite bathroom, for approx 30 dollars more/night - private baths in the hall also available for some rooms. Room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Indnykim- We are delighted you chose the Inn at St John for your 30th Anniversary get-away. Folks travel form all over to experience Maine's beautiful coastline and enjoy our fresh local seafood. Thank you for making us a part of your celebration and hope to see you again in the future. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean appearance and smell. Cozy & Quiet room. Friendly staff. Nice assortment of breakfast foods. Good location. Definitely will stay here again, We really liked it! Charming older home converted to a B&B...much more cozy & quaint then any big hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Wendi S- We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Inn. Our European style Inn offers a friendly and comfortable environment with plenty of character. We appreciate taking time out of your busy day to write a wonderful review and hope to see you again in the future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Inn at St. John, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Inn at St. John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John

Address: 939 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at St. John 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Inn at St. John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John Hotel Portland
Inn At St. John Portland, Maine

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Portland with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
39

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Inn at St. John staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer