We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

995 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

VERY nice hotel with great service, comfortable rooms and a wonderful location. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable with a little sitting area. The location I is within walking distance to a number of great bars and restaurants. The hotel has a breakfast room and breakfast menu -- very good, quick and satisfying. The front desk staff, bellmen and... More 

Helpful?
Thank kaj2600
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you need help on a business matter- forget it. Minor inconvenience to Hilton; major need of guest- no go. To wit, borrowing a plug antiquated mouse when there are 2 lobby computers no one person used the entire weekend. Gave my room number- would have returned it pronto if needed or -really, they could have over charged me for... More 

Helpful?
Thank SFAnnieO
HiltonGardenInnKW, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

I am sorry you feel my team did not handle your request sufficiently. We actually had a mouse available from our back closet within minutes but you had left the lobby and we could not locate you because we did not have your name/room number. We would have really appreciated the opportunity to solve this problem for you. Please contact... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've stayed at this property several times a month for the past six months. In all those visits, I never had a negative experience, as the entire staff is wonderful. If I ran into any issues (not many!), they were dealt with quickly and never not to my satisfaction. Great beds/linens, large and comfortable rooms, everything spotless, including bar/restaurant and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank amyo312
HiltonGardenInnKW, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

Wow! What a great review for my entire team to see! Thanks so much for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts and experiences online. We appreciate your continued business and look forward to serving you again soon! - Kevin Walker, GM More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

So I'm back in Maine and once again Sloan is providing excellent service. She is attentive, prompt and friendly. I miss my family but Sloan makes it a little better when I'm away. If you find yourself in the area I highly recommend stoping in for a drink.

Helpful?
Thank Scott J
HiltonGardenInnKW, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words about Sloan. She is definitely a treasure to have on our staff! I will be sure to share your kind words with her. - Kevin Walker, GM More 

Syracuse, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wonderful accommodations. The hotel rooms are spacious and very comfortable and clean. My only complaint was that the fitness center was much too small - there were lines in the morning to workout! However, if you're not looking to use the fitness center during your stay, this hotel is ideal to stay at in terms of location.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Hayley K
HiltonGardenInnKW, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for rating us as a 5-star hotel. We are happy that we were able to provide you with accommodations that exceeded your expectations. I am sorry that you did not have positive experience in our fitness center. Normally there is ample space for 4-5 guests working out. - Kevin Walker, GM More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I made reservations about 2 or 3 weeks before my boyfriend and my check in date. Our reservations were set for Friday February 5th to Sunday February 7th. I chose this hotel because of price and because of its location - right downtown on the stop with a beautiful view of the harbor. Our quote for the 2 night stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cat D
HiltonGardenInnKW, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

We really appreciate your detailed review on trip advisor. This information gives us the opportunity to improve our operations. I am sorry to hear that you did not receive your desired room type. I can understand how that would be a very poor way to start your experience with us. I am glad to hear that Deshawn tried to remedy... More 

Augusta, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently spent a winter weekend at this location in the Old Port section of Portland. The location was wonderful (didn't need our car all weekend!), the service impeccable (from checkin to checkout), the suite perfect!! We highly recommend this property.

Helpful?
Thank Mainer23
HiltonGardenInnKW, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your endorsement and kind words. It is really exciting to hear that you enjoyed our location and the service from our staff. Your high recommendation means the world to us. - Kevin Walker, GM More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for two nights on business recently and was very pleased with the accommodations and with the service I received while there. My flight got in early and after killing some time in Freeport, I just couldn't take any more LLBean / outlet shopping so I drove back to Portland to see if the HGI would let me... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wustl93
HiltonGardenInnKW, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks so much for feedback. I really appreciate the kind words and endorsement you gave us. I will be sure to share your comments with the whole staff. - Kevin Walker, GM More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel staff was friendly, fun little bar area for a nightcap. Did not like that we had no choice but to valet park and they charge $18 for it on check out. Maybe I missed that detail when reserving? Hotel is older- needs some updating. Was clean, bed was soft but the blanket was awful. Most hotels have upgraded to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
HiltonGardenInnKW, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post a review. Your feedback is very important to me, as the General Manager, to make improvements in our operations. I am sorry to hear that there were a few aspects about your stay that did not sit well with you. Our parking charge is posted on our website... More 

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just stayed here for 3 nights as visiting my sister, great friendly and helpful staff in the whole hotel, starting with our greeting from reception staff to the lady serving in the bar and the morning breakfast staff, every staff member said hello and was friendly, our room was a king suite with a water view, loved the big room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma D
HiltonGardenInnKW, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks Emma for taking the time to write out a detailed review of our property. Our staff is the best I have ever had the privilege to work with in my 14 years of management experience. Please let us know what we can do next time to get to a 5-star ranking! - Kevin Walker, GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel
The Press Hotel
#1 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay