We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 37 Ogunquit hotels

Marginal Way House and Motel

22 - 24 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Marginal Way House and Motel to your Saves list
Marginal Way House and Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
83%
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Betbo Vermont
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    23
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Last year, we walked all over Ogunquit looking for the best place to stay for this year. There was no question that the Marginal Way House was our top choice. We felt very lucky to get a room in the Dockside Motel. I called many times last September and booked it as soon as they knew it would be available.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boca
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
20 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Been coming here for four years now and a total of 45 to Ogunquit. It's a five star location with 2 star services. We are hoping that the new owners will upgrade the facility. I always tip the chambermaids generously. Not so this year ! I left half the amount as the floors were never vacuumed and the mirrors not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boxford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Marginal Way House is a great place to stay, near all activities and on the trolley line! We stayed in the main house, upstairs, with a breathtaking view of the ocean. The house is dated, but immaculately clean. Our bathroom door didn't shut tight, but it was just my husband and I, so that wasn't a huge problem. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoy travel planning as much as my actual planning. In thoroughly investigating Ogunquit, as it was a new destination for me, I poured over the many hotel options. Turns out my research paid off, The MWH is a very nice property and the location is second to none in OGT. My impression improved as my travel plans needed serious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife loves Ogunquit. I'm a fan and being from the North Shore of MA, it's got a small town Cape feel without the hassle of getting to the Cape. Unfortunately most places in Ogunquit now have the rates, minimum night stay requirements, and mediocre customer service you run into down there. This hotel is not only situated in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I have been staying at the Marginal Way house for 40 years. It is our summer vacation spot. The location is perfect-walking distance to beach, town, Perkins cove and many restaurants and shops. We have mostly stayed in the main house but there are several types of accommodation's on the property. The hotel was recently sold and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have been coming to the Marginal Way House for almost 20 years, and we look forward to next 20! Our kids have grown up there, and we have made some lifelong friends. We can't say enough about the location, the view, and the wonderful staff. We heard that new owners had taken over this year, and while some things... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ontario,canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We too had a case where the property would not even consider refunding an extra night's stay. !! We booked months ago, for 3 nights. ( Sun, mon, and tues night) . We enjoyed ourselves so much we asked if we could keep the room one more night.. It was available, so we paid the extra night. My wife is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MWHOgunquit, General Manager at Marginal Way House and Motel, responded to this review

For the decade and a half that I have worked at the Marginal Way House, our cancellation policy has always remained the same. 14 days notice in order to receive a refund of deposit less a minimal cancellation fee. Once a guest is inside the 14 day period, if a cancellation is received, the deposit is forfeited unless the room... More

Glens Falls, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I were planning a romantic trip to Maine for our thirtieth anniversary. Unfortunately my Step-Dad died; we called and cancelled our reservation TEN DAYS before our arrival date. We were refused a refund of our deposit because they had only rented our room for four of the five days we had reserved. Seriously I can't believe the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MWHOgunquit, General Manager at Marginal Way House and Motel, responded to this review

For the decade and a half that I have worked at the Marginal Way House, our cancellation policy has always remained the same. 14 days notice in order to receive a refund of deposit less a minimal cancellation fee. Once a guest is inside the 14 day period, if a cancellation is received, the deposit is forfeited unless the room... More

Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have been staying at the MWH for six years. We love it there and will be returning next year. Grounds are beautiful, the staff is awesome, and the accomodations are what we love. Not fancy but most comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Marginal Way House and Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Marginal Way House and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marginal Way House and Motel

Address: 22 - 24 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marginal Way House and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marginal Way House Hotel Ogunquit
Marginal Way Hotel
Marginal Way Motel
Marginal Way House And Motel Ogunquit, Maine

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ogunquit with
any amenities