We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Mount Desert accommodations

Mount Desert Campground

Save
You added Mount Desert Campground to your Saves list
516 Sound Drive, Mount Desert, ME 04660
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NOW BOOKING FOR 2015!
Mount Desert Campground
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Desert
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Mount Desert Campground for 3 days. We were able to choose our campsite, before reserving it. I really like that option. We picked a waterfront view. A beautiful view! I have never set my tent up on a wooden platform before, so I wasn't sure how I would feel about it. I love it!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Swoyersville, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

This campground was a Very pleasant surprise. It has a lot of spots, though it can't take trailers over 20 ft. Not a good one for RVs. We stayed along the bay side with a beautiful water view. The spot was a walk in technically but it was far by any stretch. We did have neighbors the 1st couple of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NJ
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent six nights in our small tent on a wooden platform overlooking Somes Sound. Our site, although not far from others, felt secluded due to the borders of small spruce trees under tall white pines. At the site the picnic table, the tent platform, the ground and even the fire pit were all immaculate. Needless to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We were able to reserve a waterfront site for the sunday before labor day, I was glad to reserve because we would be driving over 12hrs to get there and arrive late in the evening. In fact the office was closed but they had left out a map and nails for us to set up on the platform. The site... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We have stayed with MDICG every year for the past twelve, or so, years. Every year we have a tent platform right along the ocean. The experience is wonderful/magical. The owners are very much hands on, there every day to greet you. Staff are wonderful. Folks who stay there are mostly long time campers. There are rarely any issues. In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

To say we were completely disappointed with our experience at Mount Desert Campground is an understatement. We just returned from our Labor Day camping trip as a group of three families (6 professional adults with a total of seven children). We were allowed to book three adjoining campsites, but as it was made abundantly clear when we arrived, it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owen C, Owner at Mount Desert Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. When we receive multiple complaints over two days from fellow campers, we have to act on those complaints. We regret that you were so unhappy with us. More 

Danvers
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I have stayed here at least 4 times in the last 12 years and something has changed. The staff is completely intolerant of families and has lost touch with what the camping experience is supposed to be. This most recent time we were traveling with 2 other families with kids ranging from 4 to 9 years of age and reserved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Great sites, many with AMAZING views! All with water and electric (for $2 more per day)!! Plus the campground is nicely located very centrally on Mount Desert Island... Hard to beat!! We can't wait to go back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

We booked in advance and requested a beach side plot, they advised us a few days before we arrived that they had a spot! We arrived and checked in, and the staff were very helpful and we were soon heading down to our spot! We had a 20ft RV and so the biggest they allow on site, and I can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dover, NH
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This was our first stay here, but have camped lots over the years (tent camping only). Even though the campground was full to capacity, I never felt crowded, it was never noisy - sure, the occasional kid crying or clanking of pots and pans, but no loud parties, music, etc. that we've experienced at other family campgrounds. It has a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owen C, Owner at Mount Desert Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous and detailed review of our campground! We'd like to comment on a couple of your observations: • The Quiet- we do walk around the campground in the evenings past 10pm when quiet hours begin. We have to occasionally remind folks to keep their voices down while sitting around the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mount Desert Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Desert Campground

Address: 516 Sound Drive, Mount Desert, ME 04660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert
Number of rooms: 163

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay