We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Mount Desert accommodations

Mount Desert Campground

Save Saved
You added Mount Desert Campground to your Saves list
516 Sound Drive, Mount Desert, ME 04660
Hotel amenities
Mount Desert Campground
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Desert
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were able to reserve a waterfront site for the sunday before labor day, I was glad to reserve because we would be driving over 12hrs to get there and arrive late in the evening. In fact the office was closed but they had left out a map and nails for us to set up on the platform. The site... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed with MDICG every year for the past twelve, or so, years. Every year we have a tent platform right along the ocean. The experience is wonderful/magical. The owners are very much hands on, there every day to greet you. Staff are wonderful. Folks who stay there are mostly long time campers. There are rarely any issues. In... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To say we were completely disappointed with our experience at Mount Desert Campground is an understatement. We just returned from our Labor Day camping trip as a group of three families (6 professional adults with a total of seven children). We were allowed to book three adjoining campsites, but as it was made abundantly clear when we arrived, it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owen C, Owner at Mount Desert Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. When we receive multiple complaints over two days from fellow campers, we have to act on those complaints. We regret that you were so unhappy with us. More

Danvers
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here at least 4 times in the last 12 years and something has changed. The staff is completely intolerant of families and has lost touch with what the camping experience is supposed to be. This most recent time we were traveling with 2 other families with kids ranging from 4 to 9 years of age and reserved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great sites, many with AMAZING views! All with water and electric (for $2 more per day)!! Plus the campground is nicely located very centrally on Mount Desert Island... Hard to beat!! We can't wait to go back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked in advance and requested a beach side plot, they advised us a few days before we arrived that they had a spot! We arrived and checked in, and the staff were very helpful and we were soon heading down to our spot! We had a 20ft RV and so the biggest they allow on site, and I can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dover, NH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first stay here, but have camped lots over the years (tent camping only). Even though the campground was full to capacity, I never felt crowded, it was never noisy - sure, the occasional kid crying or clanking of pots and pans, but no loud parties, music, etc. that we've experienced at other family campgrounds. It has a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owen C, Owner at Mount Desert Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous and detailed review of our campground! We'd like to comment on a couple of your observations: • The Quiet- we do walk around the campground in the evenings past 10pm when quiet hours begin. We have to occasionally remind folks to keep their voices down while sitting around the... More

St-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice quiet place, clean bathrooms, kayak and canoe rental. We loved the place, kids loved to catch crabs. we where in from of the bathroom and still, it was quiet. Acadia Park... WOW!!! The only thing's missing: playground for kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yarmouth, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first visit to Mt. Desert Campground and we look forward to becoming regulars. We are a family of 4- 2 kids- and hands down, the kids said it was the "best camping trip ever!" The campground is beautiful, very family friendly, and safe. Definitely bring the bikes! Our kids rode around plenty for fun, but also to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our third trip to the campground. It is truly a unique place, Bathrooms are clean.The atmosphere is peaceful and relaxing. What i love about this place is that it is unique in the world. Most of the sites are tents only. I never worry about my children riding their bikes around. We tried the stand up paddle boards... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mount Desert Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mount Desert Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Desert Campground

Address: 516 Sound Drive, Mount Desert, ME 04660
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)