We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Manchester hotels

Axell's Scandinavian Inn

803 Western Ave, Manchester, ME 04351
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Axell's Scandinavian Inn to your Saves list
Axell's Scandinavian Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
91%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Manchester
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013
Fleagle Indiana
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    8
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
11
14
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was visiting Waterville, but all the motels in town were full. So I had to cast a wider net. Lucky for me, because it brought me to Axell's Scandinavian Inn. This is actually two separate motels, Axell's and the Fairway Inn, a mile or so west. both are strip motels on big horseshoe drive. I stayed at the Fairway.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sheilabobeila, Owner at Axell's Scandinavian Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We really appreciate it. Sorry you had to travel away from Waterville, but so happy you ended your journey with us! Thank you again, Sheila and Kent More

Katy, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Just four miles out of Augusta isa little gem of a place. Nice beds, floor space and a kitchenette for under 100. They even had extra pillows already on the bed. It's pet friendly, too. By Scandanavian, I think they mean IKEA. Love the blackout curtains.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sheilabobeila, Owner at Axell's Scandinavian Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We really appreciate it and it helps us out too! We hope you stay with us again if you ever return to the area. By the way, I do a lot of our shopping at Ikea! Haha. Love making good use of every inch! Thanks again, Sheila and Kent More

Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I really hate to write a negative review, but there are some changes that Axells Scandinavian Inn could make that would have made my stay there much more pleasant. I would stay there again and encourage others to also stay there as long as you have read this, and other reviews, and understand just what your are getting. To start... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My boyfriend booked this property as all the hotels closer to Rockport were booked for Lobster Festival. What a pleasant surprise. After a 10 hour drive, it was welcoming to be greeted warmly by the reception lady which we later learned was the owner. The property was well maintained. The room was clean and had a microwave and fridge. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sheilabobeila, Owner at Axell's Scandinavian Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We really appreciate your review and will heed your suggestion to find a more prominent spot for the hot water sign. Thank you again and hope you return sometime! More

Salem, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Whenever I am in the Augusta area, this is my first choice to stay.I will admit, I was nervous about staying at a roadside motel like this. However, after seeing my room, I was hooked! I usually stay over at the Fairway Motor Lodge (there other motel that's just down the road). Unlike other motels, each room is unique. If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marshall, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My daughter and I came to stay for 9 nights in Maine. First of all the photos of this inn are misleading. No pool, no nice rooms. When we first got here they didn't even have a room for us and I just wanted my money back and would stay someplace else. Well they said they'd fix it by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

"Inn" is a big misnomer. This is a side-of-the-highway 50s style motel and a most undistinguished one at that. Yes, it is clean and the plumbing and A/C work. But, ugh!!! Ugly, small rooms looking las if they were never nice, let alone after years of use. We stayed here because of the great reviews on TA. How misleading they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Piedmont, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were very impressed with the staff. They were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and clean. They had a full kitchen with stove, refrigerator and sink. My daughter loved the pool. Would stay in this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sheilabobeila, Owner at Axell's Scandinavian Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We really appreciate your positive review and hope to see you in the future. It was a pleasure serving you. More

Moncton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I took a Minnie vacation on our motor bike, saw this little motel ,looked good,but what a mistake!!! Did not have a good night sleep mattress was hard as a rock... But that wasn't the worst I went to take a shower NO WATER !!! And couldn't go to the front desk to report the problem because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sheilabobeila, Owner at Axell's Scandinavian Inn, responded to this review

Oh my goodness. I am so sorry you had trouble with the shower. There is plenty of water, both hot and cold. You must not have turned it on correctly. We have a doorbell at the office door which rings into my apartment for any after or before hours issues. I wish you had come to us and we would... More

Sioux City, IA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was so much more than I expected. Having traveled back and forth from the midwest for 10 years I have seen my share of good and bad. This motel was great. I was just there for one night. It's a strip motel so the room wasn't huge but big enough for a king size bed, dresser, desk, night table... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Axell's Scandinavian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axell's Scandinavian Inn

Also Known As:
Axells Scandinavian Hotel
Axells Scandinavian Motel
Axell's Scandinavian Inn Manchester, Maine
Address: 803 Western Ave, Manchester, ME 04351
Location: United States > Maine > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just west of the Augusta line, we are two, small, locally owned and operated motels with all the amenities of a large one. Innkeepers, Sheila and Kent, have worked tirelessly to make each and every guestroom unique, comfortable and full of amenities that they themselves would like to find while they are traveling. You won't find "cookie cutter" guestrooms here, all guestrooms are decorated differently, so if you don't like the style of one, we are sure we'll find one you love! When you visit, you must take a dip in the new inground, salt water, heated pool, located at the Fairway, just one mile from the Scandinavian Inn ! It is fabulous! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Axell's Scandinavian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Axell's Scandinavian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.