We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Lincolnville B&Bs / inns

Black Horse Inn

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2254 Atlantic Highway, Lincolnville, ME 04849
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Black Horse Inn to your Saves list
Black Horse Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
76%
Ranked #7 of 7 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
gfrank1946 Urbandale, Iowa
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    8
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Upside = nice rooms, quiet, convenient to our travels and very pleasant staff! Downside = Room 22 wifi was nearly unusable (very low or no signal) - was told the repeater was blocked by the fireplace - cable company installer must have never installed one before. Also breakfast had no hot items.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

never stayed. never will. booking.com refunded my money, because they couldn't believe what happened! never stayed. never will. booking.com refunded my money, because they couldn't believe what happened!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I were looking for a place to stay after an impromptu visit to Camden, Maine. We drove up and down Rt. 1 looking for a suitable place for a family of four. It was the last week in August so there were plenty of no vacancy signs out. Because of the Black Horse's immaculate grounds and stately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raymond, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were out for a long weekend getaway with no real plans for where our night stops would be, and was MORE then happy we stopped at the Black Horse Inn. The girls in the front were all very friendly. and the rooms were big and very clean, the bed was better then ours back home. We did not have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Black Horse Inn for two nights recently while driving down the coast of Maine to Portland. First, I would like to say that the staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. Our room was on the second floor (no elevator, so beware if you have a problem with stairs), had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our group of 6 (3 rooms) stayed at the BHI for two nights and had a good time there. Bad reviews happen and when they ramble on and are so negative it is the clear the writer should have stayed at a 5 star diamond resort. The BHI is a quaint country inn that has many nice features. Where can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adams, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed at this inn with myself and girlfriend and had an amazing time. Right from the time we walked through the front door we were greeted with enthusiasm and care. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff was great and the manager was exceptional which tells me there was more behind the recent negative reviews of others. Someone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at this lovely inn on our motorbike trip through eastern Canada and US, the rooms were specious, clean and nicely decorated. Owner was friendly and staff were great. Although the breakfast hour started at 7.00 AM but when they found out we should leave early they made sure we had breakfast once we got up. Well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I know this hotel re-opened recently as I used to live in Maine. I just called to make a reservation and the person who answered the phone was extremely rude and obnoxious. I decided to take my business elsewhere, even if the rates are the lowest during this time of the year. Very sad for a business that is trying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Frances G, Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

We were sorry you experienced such a bad customer service before you even arrived. The desk worker remembers your called and she was only trying to help you with your accommodations.You had too many people and they could not fit in one room.. She advised you to take more rooms and you did not like her advise.She tried to help... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I recently stayed at the inn with my fiance and his family as we were partaking in the blues festival. When we got to the inn after a fun day filled with amazing music we were tired and ready to relax but had a hard time finding our room as there was no rhyme or reason to the numbering of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Black Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 2254 Atlantic Highway, Lincolnville, ME 04849
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Horse Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Inn Maine/Lincolnville

14 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Lincolnville with
any amenities