We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Barn Inn

Certificate of Excellence
37 Beach Avenue, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Barn Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    132
    44
    27
    15
    14
See reviews for
14
162
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (232)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Vail, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have never written a review before but the white barn inn was so incredibly disappointing that i could not refrain. our room was the size of a closet and not inexpensive, the internet wasn't working and when i asked to be switched to a room where there might be service i was told that was not a possibility. on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Corinne F, General Manager at White Barn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Karen R: The White Barn Inn & Spa, along with our Restaurant, prides itself on providing personal attention and knowledgeable service for all our guests; and we are very sorry that technical problems with our internet service interfered with your being able to enjoy a more memorable guest experience. Had the inn not already been fully committed for the... More 

North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An attractive property, rooms painfully small and no elevator. Clean and quaint, but not what I would consider Relais & Chateau quality. Food was good, but expensive and some charges were outrageous ($75/bottle corkage fee and we had 4 bottles). The Prix Fixe dinner was unusual, but $200/person when it was all said and done and not really worth it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Corinne F, General Manager at White Barn Inn, responded to this review

Dear ClintW, We sincerely appreciate your comments on Trip Advisor. Due to the historic nature of our 1860s main inn building, the rooms in the main inn are smaller and cozier than those in our Garden Building or May's Annex Building, both of which were constructed in the 20th century. To preserve the historic nature of our main inn buidling,... More 

Edgecomb, Maine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here as a stop over on our way north. Service was good. Grounds are small but well kept. Our room (in the inn) was well appointed. Bathroom was large and recently remodeled. Other reviewers obviously don't understand the charm of staying in an older property. Unfortunately we were unable to eat in the formal dining room and instead... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Corinne F, General Manager at White Barn Inn, responded to this review

Dear dakotamia, We sincerely appreciate your kind words about our hotel, the spa and your restaurant experience. We truly hope that you can join us in our fine dinning restaurant next time you are in the area. Please allow me to encourage you to contact me personally for your next reservation. Kind regards, Corinne Finn-Heyl General Manager More 

Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We looked forward to staying at this place because we saw that it is a Relais et Chateaux property and we read that the chef was highly rated. We stayed in the loft suite, which was beautifully appointed and spacious. The bed was comfortable. However, the wifi was unreliable, there was a noisy fan that ran almost constantly, and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corinne F, General Manager at White Barn Inn, responded to this review

Dear HaymarketCat, Thank you for taking the time to review the White Barn Inn and Spa on Tripadvisor, as well as for your letter --expressing similar disappointments--to which we responded at the time. We truly regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay as we do sincerely strive to meet and exceed every guest's expectations. Your helpful... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the White Barn Inn last week and were disappointed on all fronts. We had heard good things about the inn and restaurant from friends and that is why we chose to stay and dine. We were disappointed on all fronts. The room we stayed in was fine- nothing special. We also had dinner on Sunday night and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corinne F, General Manager at White Barn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kristen H, We very much appreciate you sharing your feedback, though are obviously disappointed to hear that your dining experience was not as it should have been. We pride ourselves on our restaurant and have many guests who return time and again, which makes it all the more disheartening that you left feeling unsatisfied. I will take these comments... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've waited to hear back from both the GM of the property and Relais & Chateaux and without a response in over a week, I'm going ahead with this review. I've stayed at many higher end properties and this is not one of them. Physically, maybe but service wise, there is A LOTthat needs to be done before it can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Corinne F, General Manager at White Barn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Takashi O, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I apologize for the lack of response to your letter/email, which in all honesty seems to have gone astray. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner in the restaurant, though obviously saddened to learn that your experience with regards to housekeeping and... More 

Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

My wife and I spent the last two nights in Room 8 a "Junior Suite" in the Main Inn. The shower in this room simply does not work. After two visits by different maintenance people the shower ultimately produced random cold, lukewarm and scalding hot water. It is painfully obvious that the Inn knows that the shower in Room 8... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Corinne F, General Manager at White Barn Inn, responded to this review

Dear tlf1006, We were very sorry to read about your experience at the White Barn Inn. I am personally very disappointed that we were not able to fix the shower in a timely way. For your convenience, we would always try to resolve the issue before asking you if would like to change rooms, and on this occasion it is... More 

Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

We've been guests at the White Barn Inn many times, and have always greatly enjoyed our stay. This visit was more of same....warm hospitality, great rooms, fabulous food at all times of day. We enjoy travel all over the world. For that we are grateful and blessed. We're also fortunate to visit the White Barn every year, as it really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

My wife and I have been wanting to visit the White Barn Inn for several years. We had heard so many great things, so our expectations were high when we had the opportunity to finally stay and dine there. Happily, all were exceeded! The room, complete with fireplace next to the jacuzzi tub (!) was perfect, with bottles of water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

My husband and I came for our mini-moon and the staff is very warm, helpful and friendly. There is valet parking, complimentary wine at check-in and they turn down every room in the evening! The premium room we stayed in was beautiful, elegant and clean. The pool and cabana space is well organized and welcoming. The Inn is a short... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

315 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Junior Suite (41)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Queen Deluxe (40)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (32)
Viewed
Superior Queen (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
4.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay