We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Kennebunk B&Bs / inns

Shorelands Guest Resort

2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Route 9, PO Box 769, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Shorelands Guest Resort to your Saves list
Shorelands Guest Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
56%
Ranked #9 of 15 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Nuno B Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Overview
  • Reviews (61)
  • Photos (7)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • More
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    6
    6
    16
See reviews for
16
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Was there for a long weekend and it was a overall good experience. The staff were nice and accommodating, and the rooms were very clean. They allowed us to use the facilities (except the room) even after we checked out, and there were bikes and other sports equipment available for use. Unfortunately the internet connection was not working at all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This will be our 14 th year vacationing at Shorelands with our group of six families. Shorelands is very laid-back and comfortable and Sonia is always very accommodating. The rooms are very clean, the pool is refreshing and the beach is beautiful. Can't wait to make more memories!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Breckenridge, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place was like staying in a camper. Our neighbor for two days said it was false advertising. They said two room if you count a old closet converted to a bathroom, a room. Tiny tables, funny kind of...not worth $100 per night for sure. The show a picture od a one door cabin and your cabin gets two doors.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Kennebunk hotels

Northborough, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We spent two days and nights at Shorelands Beach Cottages this summer with our grandchildren, ages ten and six. We all loved the pool, the gardens, the playground, and the congeniality of the multi-cultural staff and guests. The cottage was all we needed to make us feel as though we were back in time in Maine. Simplicity, charm and snug... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My extended family has been coming every year for 20 years and Sonja has always treated us well. It’s all about location. It’s a short walk down a quiet road to one of the best and least crowded beaches in Maine - Parsons beach. Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge is not far down route 9. The kids love the pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you So Much, David, for taking the time to give us your opinion. We do enjoy hosting your extended family here, and look forward to the 'next' 20 years!! More

Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

There is a review here by Elsa O. that is on the mark. It is not fair to label this resort in a negative light, I used Hotels.com and these people I am unhappy with. If a person uses an agency and something is wrong with a motel, we should be allowed to voice our concerned receive some compensation. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Denver, Iowa
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for a vacation at this resort with our small dog. The room was small and barely had room to walk around. The door was breaking so there was a draft. Electrical outlets shocked me when I tried to plug something into the wall. Refrigerator didn't even keep food cool. Nor did the freezer. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Shorelands, Owner at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

I am very concerned with Trip Advisor reviews. There is no filter to separate wheat from chaff. We are currently not open and were traveling and could not respond. So this review IN FEBRUARY for a last AUGUST visit puzzled me!! What took 6 mos to state their dissatisfaction? Can I object to this bad language as character assassination? First... More

Norwalk, CT
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you want to experience the Maine seashore in its natural state, this is the place for you. Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge property is right across the road, and the beach access is right through the marsh (on a paved road). Be aware that the private property owners who share the beach road are paranoid about enforcing the rules.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Utica, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Be carefull I knew going into the hotel that it was a non-smoking room! and two days later they charged my CC a $100 fee for the room smelling like smoke. I do in fact smoke but I smoked outside, and when my husband called he spoke with Sonja and she was very NASTY to him and hung the phone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

All of our units are Smoke Free. It states this on our web site, on our room keys, and on the Non Smoking Decal on each door. When a guest checks in, they are also informed of this on the registration card, and they sign their name under a note stating "$100 cleaning fee will be charged for smoke in... More

Guelph
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were placed into a shack with neighbors all around us and two on top, unlike the cottage we saw in the photos. The washroom had a light hanging by one screw with a fan rattling above. If the other screw was in there would be no venting. The air conditioner did not work and the room smelled like mold.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in reviewing us. We are sorry you did NOT voice your concerns to us while you were our guests. Possibly we could have helped, we most certainly would have tried to make your stay more comfortable. We are not in the city, so it is possible to encounter animals, since we are totally surrounded by... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Shorelands Guest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Shorelands Guest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorelands Guest Resort

Address: Route 9, PO Box 769, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shorelands Guest Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Shorelands Guest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorelands Guest Resort Kennebunk, Maine

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Kennebunk with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A typical southern Maine Cottage Complex, providing casual country comfort, close to a beautiful beach. We are upgrading several of our cottages each year, so please ask when making reservations. Our 'standard' cottage rooms come with double murphy beds. Queen and King beds in upgraded units. Newest units are cottage condos. Wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
32

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shorelands Guest Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer