We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Kennebunk B&Bs / inns

Shorelands Guest Resort

2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Route 9, PO Box 769, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Hotel amenities
Shorelands Guest Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!
55%
Ranked #9 of 16 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013
Elsa_O Norwalk, CT
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    6
    6
    15
See reviews for
14
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for a vacation at this resort with our small dog. The room was small and barely had room to walk around. The door was breaking so there was a draft. Electrical outlets shocked me when I tried to plug something into the wall. Refrigerator didn't even keep food cool. Nor did the freezer. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shorelands, Owner at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

I am very concerned with Trip Advisor reviews. There is no filter to separate wheat from chaff. We are currently not open and were traveling and could not respond. So this review IN FEBRUARY for a last AUGUST visit puzzled me!! What took 6 mos to state their dissatisfaction? Can I object to this bad language as character assassination? First... More

Norwalk, CT
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you want to experience the Maine seashore in its natural state, this is the place for you. Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge property is right across the road, and the beach access is right through the marsh (on a paved road). Be aware that the private property owners who share the beach road are paranoid about enforcing the rules.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Utica, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Be carefull I knew going into the hotel that it was a non-smoking room! and two days later they charged my CC a $100 fee for the room smelling like smoke. I do in fact smoke but I smoked outside, and when my husband called he spoke with Sonja and she was very NASTY to him and hung the phone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

All of our units are Smoke Free. It states this on our web site, on our room keys, and on the Non Smoking Decal on each door. When a guest checks in, they are also informed of this on the registration card, and they sign their name under a note stating "$100 cleaning fee will be charged for smoke in... More

Guelph
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were placed into a shack with neighbors all around us and two on top, unlike the cottage we saw in the photos. The washroom had a light hanging by one screw with a fan rattling above. If the other screw was in there would be no venting. The air conditioner did not work and the room smelled like mold.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in reviewing us. We are sorry you did NOT voice your concerns to us while you were our guests. Possibly we could have helped, we most certainly would have tried to make your stay more comfortable. We are not in the city, so it is possible to encounter animals, since we are totally surrounded by... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What you get: A reasonably priced no-frills one-room cottage with a stove and a refrigerator a 5-minute drive from Kennebunkport. There are approximately 15-20 of these cottages along in a semicircular driveway/parking lot. There’s an outdoor (unheated) pool and some bikes and other equipment you can borrow free of charge. What you don’t get: Anything more than the basics –... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us your time for these comments. we do appreciate this. I am a little confused about your comments regarding the walk to the beach. I am over twice your age and walk there regularly with my 9 & 10 year old grandchildren. It has never talken us more than 15 minutes, including visiting the horses along... More

Burlington, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is our third year now. First of all, the beds are more comfortable than the ones at home! The full-size fridge (a first for us this year) came in handy. The people who clean the rooms and tidy the grounds are very hard-working. We couldn't let them in to clean as much this year due to the fact we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shorelands, Owner at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for using some of your time to give us this review. We do appreciate it very much, and hope to have you as our guests again. More

Rosebud831
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel/ motel is a combination of owned condos and motel rooms. The best part of this place was the location. Walking distance to parson's beach, which is a beautiful quiet (away from the hustle and bussle of other kennebunkport eaches bc of limited parking) spot. We were in a double room which was teeny tiny. We really only slept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed staying here even though I was apprehensive (see below). The cabin we had was very bright and sunny, there was a mini fridge, microwave and hotplate, which was nice. We had no issues with the housekeeping and the staff seemed pleasant. It was hot and the AC worked just fine. The location is very good - just a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

To be honest, when we first pulled up to the cottages we were a bit concerned. They are older and do not come across well. However, the beds were very comfortable, the cabin was clean and it is nice and quiet. The location is convenient for going into town. We stayed in a two room cabin with a twin, double... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shorelands, Owner at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to provide us with your comments. We do hope to have you back another time. More

Johnson, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

These cabins are in a convenient location; we have been there three times over as many years. At first it was novel to be in what promised to be well managed property that carried lots of advertised amenities: Pool, coffee all day, walking distance to beach, frequent renovations, BBQ grills, kids play area. But it is a small area to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shorelands, Owner at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this trip to us. The weather did NOT cooperate with our plans to repair and seal the driveway. It had been scheduled for 3 weeks prior to your visit. However, each week we had rain early during the week, we certainly did not want to schedule it for... More

Been to Shorelands Guest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorelands Guest Resort

Also Known As:
Shorelands Guest Resort Kennebunk, Maine
Address: Route 9, PO Box 769, Kennebunk, Kennebunks, ME 04043
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shorelands Guest Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A typical southern Maine Cottage Complex, providing casual country comfort, close to a beautiful beach. We are upgrading several of our cottages each year, so please ask when making reservations. Our 'standard' cottage rooms come with double murphy beds. Queen and King beds in upgraded units. Newest units are cottage condos. Wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Shorelands Guest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shorelands Guest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shorelands Guest Resort to your Saves list