We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wilsons on Moosehead Lake

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
66 Wilsons Road, Moosehead - Big Moose Township, Greenville, ME 04442
Special Offer
New Addition!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wilsons on Moosehead Lake
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Freeport, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We live in Maine and wanted to find a weekend getaway close to our home in Freeport that would take us back in time and take our cares and worries away. Friends and Family introduced us to Wilson's and it is now on the top of our list for Maine destinations. Truly unspoiled . It is located in one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
WilsonsOnMoosehead, Owner at Wilsons on Moosehead Lake, responded to this review

So great to read reviews like this. Thank you for sharing your love of Moosehead with us and for taking the time to help spread the word! We appreciate it very much and look forward to seeing you real soon! More 

Brunswick, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place has it all! 4 Season adventures (fishing, hunting, boating, snowmobiling, hiking, 4-wheeling, photography...you get the idea!) RUSTIC fully furnished cabins (just bring your food!) Grounds and a dock with views that won't quit! The Snells are wonderful hosts and can point you to all the activities or inactivites you want. This is now our "Go to place" to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valerie M
WilsonsOnMoosehead, Owner at Wilsons on Moosehead Lake, responded to this review

We are so lucky to be able to share such great memories with great people like you! Thank you for your kind words and your help with all you do! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have spent many nights at various camps around Maine. None compare to the fantastic time we had at Wilson's! The fishing here is outstanding and Camp owner Scott Snell is a great guy. He pointed out the best places to ice fish and what we should use for bait and lures. The accommodations were top notch, clean and tidy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
WilsonsOnMoosehead, Owner at Wilsons on Moosehead Lake, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind comments and sharing with others your great experiences here at Wilsons! We appreciate you very much! More 

Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed early summer of 2015, sorry for the late review. The view is amazing, for sure. The cabin, we had chosen, did not have a television. For the upgraded room, was around $80 a night more. The shower was quite tight, so if you have issues with tight spaces, do not plan on showering. Our trip was based primarily... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank phil l
WilsonsOnMoosehead, Owner at Wilsons on Moosehead Lake, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with our cabins. They are rustic and older which is part of our charm, and definitely aren't for everyone. We do our best on our website to show pictures so there aren't any surprises when folks arrive. We definitely don't want unhappy guests. Our showers are standard sized; these are cabins not fancy... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Book this vacation last minute.Was planning on staying in hotel and doing waterparks and amusement parks.this added an extra 4 hours of drive time but was well worth it. The cabin was very good size with 2 bedrooms a living room kitchen and 2 bathrooms!! The owners Allison and Scott were super friendly and we were greeted by their dogs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scm71
WilsonsOnMoosehead, Owner at Wilsons on Moosehead Lake, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a nice write up and share your positive experience with others. We all love what we do working here, and we are blessed to have such amazing guests and a dedicated staff helping us make Wilsons an incredible destination! There are so many great things to do in... More 

Portland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been going to Wilsons on Moosehead lake for years and have always enjoyed every minute. Be warned, it is always tough leaving! Fishing, hunting, boating, snowmobiling and ATV'ing is all right there a short walk from your cabin. Great owners in Alison and Scott, plenty of friendly guests and the perfect location to relax and reload. Boat launch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tucker M
WilsonsOnMoosehead, Owner at Wilsons on Moosehead Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great write up and share your experience with others. We are blessed to have such amazing guests and a dedicated staff helping us make Wilsons What it is even after 150 years! We love hearing about your wonderful vacation time with us! More 

Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

We spend a our first week as a married couple at Wilsons on Moosehead Lake. It was just what we were looking for. We were located near the damn and loved the running water sounds. Our cabin was comfortable and clean.The furnishings were vintage but clean and in good working order. Furnishings were appropriate for our cabin. We loved everything... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Denise W
WilsonsOnMoosehead, Manager at Wilsons on Moosehead Lake, responded to this review

Congratulations on your marriage! We are so glad you chose to stay here at Wilsons for your first week together married. It is always great to hear our guest enjoy their stay, and find our cabins to be comfortable, and cozy. We hope to see you both back soon, to enjoy our piece of heaven on Moosehead Lake and all... More 

Dexter, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon, we plan on going back for our anniversary. The owners and help are great people. I would highly recommend this place! If your looking for a place on the lake to just relax or somewhere to have access to all the area offers.

Helpful?
2 Thank etrbw
WilsonsOnMoosehead, Manager at Wilsons on Moosehead Lake, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review and share your experience with others. We really appreciate our guests and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! Can't wait to see you again real soon. More 

Bernville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

Cabins are dilapidated hunting shacks. Road in had about 100 giant potholes. Make sure you have heavy duty suspension. Upon arriving you are greeted by 4 muddy dogs to a view of piles of junk all over. It was horrible. Buildings are described as RUSTIC. You better believe it. Cabin wasn't ready and she said come back at 3 and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mike R
WilsonsOnMoosehead, Manager at Wilsons on Moosehead Lake, responded to this review

My gut told me to not take this review personally or even respond, as this clearly wasn't the right place for you. However, in all I've learned over the many years here, it is important to state my side of our encounter and apologize for your experience. To start off, yes our road WAS in disrepair. We had scheduled maintenance... More 

Vinalhaven, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

The Staff is professional and friendly. We had a minor problem with the gas appliances in our cabin, once it was reported it was corrected in a very timely manner. The grounds were well maintained and cleaned of dog droppings daily by most dog owners and occasionally the staff had to pitch in. Our cabin was a short distance from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John M
WilsonsOnMoosehead, Manager at Wilsons on Moosehead Lake, responded to this review

It is great to hear that our staff was professional and friendly. We apologize for the minor problem you had with our cabin and are glad it was fixed quickly. We work hard to ensure our guests have the most of their stay and that all needs are met. Thank you for your positive review and hope you will chose... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
9.0 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#3 of 8 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
18.9 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
5.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
25.0 mi away
Bulldog Camps
Bulldog Camps
#2 of 11 in Jackman
5.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities