We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Lake Stream, ME 04637
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (30)
  • Photos (39)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Weatherby's
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake Stream
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
8
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My intentions when writing this review were to make a list of the positives and negatives, but honestly, I couldn’t come up with a negative. My husband and I were looking to have a romantic weekend away, learn to fly fishing and spend some quality time alone. We did all of that. The cabin we stayed in was adorable, rustic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been coming to Weatherby's for years. It great if you love to fish. Not much else to do in Grand Lake Stream! The accommodations and food are excellent. We always do the America plan and have never been disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belgrade
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We love to fish and fish we did:). Caught several nice Salmon and many beautiful Small Mouth Bass. Accommodations were superb. Comfortable beds and delicious food. We had the privilege of having the owner as our fishing guide. Delicious shore lunch and excellent fishing opportunities!!! Jeff... You're amazing. Your patience and humor made our experience one that we will remember... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Searsmont, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I was there as a companion to a fisherman. The fishing was delightful for my friend who caught a decent number of land locked salmon. Clearly this has been a grand place to stay in the past, a great history. I found the food and accommodation disappointing. We were greeted by a very friendly young Romanian who immediately offered us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jmcevoy, Owner at Weatherby's, responded to this review

We are glad to know your friend enjoyed fishing for land-locked salmon with one of our hardworking Maine fishing guides. We pride ourselves on providing memorable fishing trips to Grand Lake Stream. We are sorry to learn you were displeased with the meals and accommodations. We truly appreciate letting us know your specific concerns and will address them immediately. As... More

Crieff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Excellent fishing guide, could not fault his professionalism and ability to put you over fish. Food, sadly average to poor considering the price charged. Same comment could be made about the rooms as well. The staff were helpful, the owner could have been a little more welcoming. Location of course is stunning and the place is steeped in fishing and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jmcevoy, Owner at Weatherby's, responded to this review

We are glad to know you enjoyed your day on the water with one of our hardworking Maine fishing guides and please to know our staff was helpful. We pride ourselves on providing memorable fishing trips to Grand Lake Stream. We are sorry to learn you were displeased with the meals and accommodations. As an older facility, we face many... More

Bethel, Maine
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This traditional Maine sporting camp has something for everyone. Calling it a sporting camp isn't complete. You wouldn't be wrong if you called it a wilderness lodge for the whole family or a summer vacation place on the water. You don't need to hunt or fish to enjoy Weatherby's. If you are interested in a sporting camp Weatherby's certainly qualifies.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Palm Beach, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Fish in the stream or on the lakes during the day and relax with a fire in your cabin at night. Enjoy excellent meals with fellow fishermen. My son and I loved the Maine wilderness on our second trip together to Weatherby's. Looking forward to our next trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Red Bank, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My son Scott and I first came to Weaterby's Lodge when he was 8 years old. He is now 43 and we have been back every year since with just a couple of misses. First, the fishing is great! There are great guides, unforgettable campfire lunches, moose, bald headed eagles, occasional bear. The lakes are beautiful and most of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
League City, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Let me start by saying everything about Weatherby's is better than advertised and exceeded every expectation by a huge margin. My 12 yr old son and I do a father-son trip every year. We alternate educational and adventure trips. The previous summer we went to Washington DC, so this year we took our adventure trip and chose Weatherby's Lodge in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
College Station, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I drove to Grand Lake Stream from my summer home in Bar Harbor, ME for a day of fly fishing on Grand Lake Stream and the St Croix River with Rod. I have been on guided trips before in the Rockies and Ozarks, but I have never had as good a guide as Rod. He has a love for fishing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Weatherby's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Weatherby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weatherby's

Address: Grand Lake Stream, ME 04637
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Grand Lake Stream
Also Known As:
Weatherby`s Hotel Grand Lake Stream

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
4:45
Videos (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Amenities

Free Parking
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Weatherby's to your Saves list