We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Twilite Motel

2.0 of 5 147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Twilite Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Twilite Motel
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    68
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
89
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (184)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (72)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I rated this place "average" because I can see how some people would find this little motel adequate. Plus, I didn't feel right rating it "poor" or "terrible". For me, this is about the minimum accommodation I can imagine staying in. Any less and I would feel better off sleeping in my car. What was good was that it appeared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
twilite, Owner at Twilite Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that the guest did not find his accommodation satisfactory. While décor is about personal taste we would like to comment on the ‘contract issue’. We are surprised that the guest that appears to be well traveled never came across the routine sign-in process into a motel/hotel. Any guest can exercise his right to just ‘walk... More 

Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We stayed here in October because we had enjoyed our stay two years ago. We really like the motel because it is quiet, comfortable, and in a good location. The owners are very nice. The blueberry muffins are delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
State College
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

The owners were lovely, and the room itself -- while a little unusual -- was very clean and cozy. Breakfast was simple but had a decent selection. Of course, pet friendly was a must for us, so that counts for a lot. Our only complaint was that the walls are rather thin, so we could hear a lot of banging... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vernon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

I have previously visited and reviewed this hotel a couple of years ago. To me, the gold question is "Would you stay there again"? In the case of the Twilite, the answer is a a resounding yes, and I did. Once again, very friendly and helpful people run it. They did remember me from last time, and gave me a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Value for price was very good. Our room was very clean, quaint and cozy for a motel. Excellent hot water for shower. I appreciated the night light in the bathroom, how often do you see that at a motel and I also thought the packaged essentials of sewing kit/Qtip/makeup remover was a nice touch. If you are a hiker/walker, you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chesterfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We love this place. It is super convenient on Route 1, pet friendly with large grassy areas, and the rooms are always very clean. The owner is really nice and the breakfast is good. It's a cute place. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harrison, Michigan
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
44 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The motel doesn't look like much from the outside, but the rooms are clean and a good value. The breakfast is continental with really good muffins. The owner is so very pleasant. He goes out of his way to take care of his guests. The rooms need renovating. I have a bad back and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pictou, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

We travel to the New England States every year in the fall to do some Christmas shopping and sightseeing. The owners are very friendly and they give you t that down home feeling. The continental breakfast is filling ,sitting and relaxing on the deck( that is heated ) while eating and chatting with other travelers starts your day off right.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

The motel is easy to find close to road but not noisy, the rooms are compact and comfortable,the owners were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good,and taken in pleasant area,I would recommend to other travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We stayed as a foursome with two rooms. The hotel staff were helpful, friendly. The kitchen, rooms and outside area were clean. The rates were good. The rooms were well light and the AC worked great. We stayed in August and have recommended to another group who stayed in September. We were all pleased. Hi! Chuck.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Address: 147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay