We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 East Machias B&Bs / inns

Riverside Inn and Restaurant

Save
You added Riverside Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
U.S. Route #1, P.O. Box 373, East Machias, ME 04630
Hotel amenities
Riverside Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 East Machias B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Machias
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A colleague and I stayed at the Inn as we were in town on business. We were given two rooms in the detached building next to the Inn. Both were very comfortable. We had everything we needed. We both appreciated being able to come to a cozy inn after a day of traveling. The Wifi was easy to connect to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
26 hotel reviews
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

On our way to spend time in Eastport and Campobello Island, stayed one night here. Owner was nice and took our breakfast order. Our room was in a cottage overlooking the river...Beautiful views. Decor was tired, but beds were comfortable. The shower needed an overhaul...quite a squeeze and uncomfortable and difficult to control water temperature. It was a bit difficult... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auburn, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014 via mobile

I took my wife as a birthday present. We spent two nights in the lower coach as there is an additional bedroom our three year old daughter could set up camp in. We dined two nights. Beef Wellington for both the first night and spaghetti for our daughter. The second night fillet and a ribeye, our daughter dined on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed one night at the Riverside Inn. The owners, Rocky and Ellen, were welcoming and spent a lengthy time conversing with us on the outside patio behind the Inn, on the river. We saw 2 bald eagles flying up and down the tidal river as we drank a bottle of wine that we had brought from Canada. Nice beginning.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South Florida, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Booked a reservation for dinner at Riverside. Seatings and availability are limited so you must call in advance. We we greeted very warmly for our 6:15 seating. The meal and menu was delightful, the menu offered many choices w/wine list and bar options. My husband ordered scallops which were huge sweet and tender, my filet -cooked to perfection, the blue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beals
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Last evening was not the first time we have dined at Riverside Inn and Restaurant. The previous visits were very nice. Last evening we had a guest from MA and want to go to some place nice. The service was excellent, but the food was a disappointment. Two of us started with was was billed as large shrimp cocktails. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We went for the famous puffin tour in Cutler (which is fantastic), and this inn was recommended by the tour company due to it's close location. Upon booking over the phone, we were quoted a price and requested an email confirmation. However, the email did not include the discussed price, and when we arrived we were charged $20 more! He... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ellen m, Owner at Riverside Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review

If you were charged an additional 20.00 dollars at check in time, It is because you showed up with an extra person or used the second bedroom,Our policies stated on our online website.Or if we are informed when booking we will quote an additional charge. We do not lie. ellen More 

Baldwin, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I had dinner at the restaurant. The restaurant is small but nicely decorated with a view of the river. We were warmly greeted. Our first disappointment was that there were no lobster dishes on the menu. The rest of the menu looked quite appetizing, however. Two varieties of fresh baked herbed bread were placed on the table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Another couple we traveled with booked two rooms for my wife and I and themselves. After processing our credit cards we were shown he two rooms that shared one bathroom that required walking through the other couples bedroom to use the bathroom. We were never told this at reservation time. View of river very nice, with an eagle and harbor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We read the reviews of this Inn and upon those recommendations, decided to stay for one night. Although the views are stunning, that is about all that is worthy of a stay. Quite expensive for what is offered. We have paid less than that to stay in some outstanding Inns and B&B's. We felt cleanliness could have been much improved,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Riverside Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Inn and Restaurant

Address: U.S. Route #1, P.O. Box 373, East Machias, ME 04630
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > East Machias
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Riverside Inn And Restaurant East Machias, Maine

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay