We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverside Inn

U.S. Route #1, East Machias, ME 04630
Riverside Inn
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    8
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We traveled from Montreal to Machias to take a birding cruise in Cutler. The owners where very nice and pointed all the sites that could interest us, even providing us with maps. Breakfast was delicious. Beds very confortable. View on the river is very nice. We realy enjoyed our two nights stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

In the summer of 2014 I had family come to visit, many of my friends had said the Riverside Inn and Restaurant was a nice place and the food was great so I suggested my family stay there. When I went to meet them I was pulling into the parking area when I was met by Rocky the owner who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

A colleague and I stayed at the Inn as we were in town on business. We were given two rooms in the detached building next to the Inn. Both were very comfortable. We had everything we needed. We both appreciated being able to come to a cozy inn after a day of traveling. The Wifi was easy to connect to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
506 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

On our way to spend time in Eastport and Campobello Island, stayed one night here. Owner was nice and took our breakfast order. Our room was in a cottage overlooking the river...Beautiful views. Decor was tired, but beds were comfortable. The shower needed an overhaul...quite a squeeze and uncomfortable and difficult to control water temperature. It was a bit difficult... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auburn, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

I took my wife as a birthday present. We spent two nights in the lower coach as there is an additional bedroom our three year old daughter could set up camp in. We dined two nights. Beef Wellington for both the first night and spaghetti for our daughter. The second night fillet and a ribeye, our daughter dined on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed one night at the Riverside Inn. The owners, Rocky and Ellen, were welcoming and spent a lengthy time conversing with us on the outside patio behind the Inn, on the river. We saw 2 bald eagles flying up and down the tidal river as we drank a bottle of wine that we had brought from Canada. Nice beginning.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Booked a reservation for dinner at Riverside. Seatings and availability are limited so you must call in advance. We we greeted very warmly for our 6:15 seating. The meal and menu was delightful, the menu offered many choices w/wine list and bar options. My husband ordered scallops which were huge sweet and tender, my filet -cooked to perfection, the blue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beals
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Last evening was not the first time we have dined at Riverside Inn and Restaurant. The previous visits were very nice. Last evening we had a guest from MA and want to go to some place nice. The service was excellent, but the food was a disappointment. Two of us started with was was billed as large shrimp cocktails. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We went for the famous puffin tour in Cutler (which is fantastic), and this inn was recommended by the tour company due to it's close location. Upon booking over the phone, we were quoted a price and requested an email confirmation. However, the email did not include the discussed price, and when we arrived we were charged $20 more! He... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ellen m, Owner at Riverside Inn, responded to this review

If you were charged an additional 20.00 dollars at check in time, It is because you showed up with an extra person or used the second bedroom,Our policies stated on our online website.Or if we are informed when booking we will quote an additional charge. We do not lie. ellen More 

Baldwin, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I had dinner at the restaurant. The restaurant is small but nicely decorated with a view of the river. We were warmly greeted. Our first disappointment was that there were no lobster dishes on the menu. The rest of the menu looked quite appetizing, however. Two varieties of fresh baked herbed bread were placed on the table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ellen m, Manager at Riverside Inn, responded to this review

You are right. We should of let you know of the substitution before you ordered. Since that was not done, other than offering another entree or removing the charge, we did all we could do. ellen More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities