We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Bridgton hotels

Highland Lake Resort

115 No. High St., Bridgton, ME 04009
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Highland Lake Resort to your Saves list
Highland Lake Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
84%
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Bridgton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
merrigk Palm Bay, Florida
  • Overview
  • Reviews (38)
  • Photos (16)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • More
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
10
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just spent two wonderful nights at the Highland Lake Resort in Bridgton, Maine. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, comfy room and of course the natural beauty of Highland Lake. We were in Maine on vacation and this place really checked all the boxes for us. The private beach, the beautiful views up the lake, and it's located in one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review

So happy your stay here was so memorable! I've actually been to Palm Bay in the winter, and I greatly appreciated the beauty of the area when I'd just come from the cold and snow! I'm also glad you got to explore the town of Bridgton as well. With the great places to shop, eat, and visit, it really is... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are a little small. If you are going there to stay mostly in the room, then dont. The tvs are so small that i need glasses to watch it. They are probs 15'' they should at least have 30 or 40 inches. Also the bathroom is small but the shower curtain was awful. However the amentites view and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review

I must agree with you on the room size. I, too, wouldn't want to stay in one of our least expensive rooms for a long time myself. Unfortunately, the rooms sizes are what they are, though other rooms are larger than the Regular Room with shower you were in. (The reason for the room sizes is stated in our response... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Highland Lake Resort was clean, comfortable, and beautiful. We really enjoyed the lake (via the canoes / kayaks) and the grounds are well-kept. The managers were very welcoming. Wish Maine wasn't so far from Michigan!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review

So glad you had a great time! When I was a kid, my family owned a small camp on a lake less than an hour from here. I, too, enjoy exploring the lakes from a canoe, and find them to be tranquil and relaxing. Sorry we're so far from Michigan. I'll have to see what we can do about that.... More

Emmaus, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly managers- Woody and Dee. We have be going to lakes region of Maine for 25 years and have always rented a camp for 2 weeks to a month. This time, we didn't have time, so thought we would stay at the Highland Lake Resort. This place has everything one should go to Maine for- beautiful property, excellent swimming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind sentiments! Yes, the rooms are a bit small, since the building was the first "motel" built in the area not too long after the end of World War II. Back then, people had gas and rubber for tires, and just wanted to drive! Small motels and motor inns popped up around America to let people... More

Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Somewhat reasonable but definitely over priced for the return of services and location to amenities in town. IE: No internet but it's getting fixed tomorrow! Would be ok if we were staying. Super Small TVs hanging on the wall, SMALL, Super Small!!!!!!! Blinds let the light in so scratch any sleeping in after the sun has arisen They still use... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that you found some problems with your stay here. Had you told us about them, we would have been sure to remedy any problems as soon as possible. Unfortunately, while OUR WiFi router was working properly, the internet connection from our provider was having problems after the recent hurricane that came up the east coast. We are,... More

Swiftwater, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Found my room clean and comfortable,very peaceful overlooking the lake. There was lots of things to entertain the family! A playground,a beach,docks,canoes,kayaks,even tennis courts! Close to town amenities but very private feeling! Looking forward to returning! Soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Returned here 7-8 years later and the lakefront was just as lovely. Warm waters, sandy beach, a floating platform to which we all swam out, and gorgeous shaded area with picnic tables provided something for everyone, even on a partly rainy weekend. We didn't use them this trip but the property also has a tennis court and free canoes, rowboat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review

HURRICANES MAKE FOR TOUGH WEEKENDS! I am so sorry about that weekend! It was a trying time for all of us, and I'm sorry that there were issues that we tried, unsuccessfully, to correct! We are a small, family-run resort, and don't have the resources and staff that other larger, more expensive properties have. The weekend in question was, if... More

Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We just stayed one night (repeat trip) - but we just love it here. The room is a basic room - we took an efficiency with a small fridge, stove, Keurig coffee maker. It had a queen and a double bed. There are tennis courts and a game room, but a large yard for Frisbee or yard games. We took... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We're truly glad you enjoyed your stay and got a chance to use many of our amenities. (FYI, there's no dock use charge for non-powered watercraft, and only a $10 per day charge for powered ones.) Hope you get a chance to visit again! --Woody More

Hampton, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We booked a room here for one night so we could enjoy 2 days of fishing. Our room was very clean, the staff was very friendly (and witty ;)), and the grounds were actually really beautiful. There were lots of chairs to sit by the lake... a good size fire pit... and a nice sand entry beach. Even though we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is really about what is outdoors. They offer kayaks, canoes, swimming dock and fire pit - all for free. Also avaialbe is a coin operated laundry and a game room. The lake was very nice. The rooms are basic, which didn't suprise for the price. The manager is friendly and gave us advice on where to dine (The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Highland Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Highland Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Resort

Address: 115 No. High St., Bridgton, ME 04009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bridgton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Highland Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Lake Hotel Bridgton
Highland Lake Resort Bridgton, Maine

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clean, Comfortable, Friendly, Affordable! Owned and operated by native Mainers, this family-run resort motel features modern amenities with a lakeside inn atmosphere. Only 50 minutes from Portland, 35 minutes from North Conway, NH, and 3 hours from Boston. Private sandy swimming beach, free use of boats, canoes, and kayaks, picnic area, tennis court, game room, fitness center, health spa. All rooms have a covered deck with lakeview, color TV, phone, radio, A/C, heat, in-room Keurig coffeemaker, and free WiFi. Kitchenettes, Executive Rooms, and Deluxe Suite with fireplace and Jacuzzi tub available. Only 7 minutes to ski slopes and golf, on snowmobile trail. Walk to downtown shopping and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
23

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Highland Lake Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer